We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning, uplifting location”
Review of Hotel Atitlan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Atitlan
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Panajachel
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Stunning, uplifting location”
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Extraordinary location and views, truly uplifting for the soul to sit and watch the dawn over the lake and see two volcanos emerge and silhouette across the emerald green/blue lake.

Hotel is nice also, very authentic and rustic rooms, no air con though.

Restaurant and service lets it down somewhat but not enough to complain.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Wilbo62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    406
    227
    70
    26
    36
See reviews for
184
300
36
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

The experience of our stay in the hotel was ruined because the service was poor.
The lines at the breafast were long. Could not get a refill for the coffee glass. Room sevice was not available. There is no coffee maker or kettle in the room so it is practically impossible to get hot water without visiting the restaurant which opens only at seven a.m.
The hotel is far from town.
We also had a security problem - The balcony door could not be locked. When we indicated this to the reception they promised to fix it which they did not.

The Hotel is located in a beautiful lake shore in the midth of an exquisit garden. But because the service is poor I do not recommend this hotel.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank benzvi_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stone Mountain, Georgia
Level Contributor
188 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel is on the shore of beautiful Lake Atitlan and surrounded by luxurious gardens which are very well maintained. I understand that all rooms overlook the lake but the view may be partially obscured by the equally attractive gardens. My room had a very comfortable king sized bed with a spacious bathroom including a shower with plenty of space. At the back of my room in the garden there was a man made babbling stream which was an ideal accompaniment for going to sleep. The restaurant which has both inside and outside areas offers a buffet with a wide choice of offerings of good quality. I stayed two nights and was very comfortable.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Tony1784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I stayed for one night last week and really enjoyed my stay. I had lunch with friends at the pool upon arrival. The food is good - nothing spectacular - but good. The pool area is beautiful so we used the pool at hot tub for a few hours before dinner. The room was clean and comfortable. The front desk staff was helpful and multilingual. Beautiful view of the lake and gardens. My only complaint was the peacock making noise at 4:00am. I would visit again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJDittes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

A lovely character hotel, reflecting Guatemala in it's colourful decor, but.... No tea/coffee making in room, No iron or board/trouser press (asked for iron at desk and got one that reminded me of the 60's - no board), No air-con or fan! No water!. Have to pay for everything. Oh, and no ice!! Did ask nice man at bar one night and got cup full to take to my room. Clean room. Hard beds which many older visitors complained about to each other. Pool not cleaned - lots of debris floating about. Nice hot pool, but both closed from 6pm, when guests actually wanted to use them!
Breakfast really not worth the Q110 (about £8.50). And charged this if only had toast! Drinks at bar expensive.Staff not overly helpful or friendly. There is a basic gym (didn't use).
We stayed for 3 nights for a wedding, and was a lovely venue for the event as the gardens are beautiful and there are views over the lake.Birds are kept largely caged in the grounds for all to see (Peacocks, Toucans, Parrots and Love birds).There is a jetty so that you can have a boat pull up to the grounds of the Hotel (as we did one night for a boat party, and had a sight-seeing boat dock there one day). So, lovely outside, but 5 stars it isn't!! Wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank footdoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guatemala Department, Guatemala
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Hotel with great view of the lake and wonderful gardens but with a terrible service... Rooms are small and beds uncomfortable... The service staff is not friendly and overall way over priced... There are much better options around the lake..

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jwever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Recommended in 100% for a wonderful time to spend in Atitlan lake. the garden with thousands of rare plants and flowers, parrots and tukans, peacocks and ducks... every thing by the amazing lake and the 3 volcanoes. it's must to stay in this hotel

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karmi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Panajachel
0.8 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#4 of 29 in Panajachel
443 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jardines del Lago
Jardines del Lago
#6 of 29 in Panajachel
213 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Hotel Regis Panajachel
#5 of 29 in Panajachel
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Riviera de Atitlan
Hotel La Riviera de Atitlan
#11 of 29 in Panajachel
143 reviews
3.5 mi away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
650 reviews
2.2 mi away
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature...
#3 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atitlan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atitlan

Property: Hotel Atitlan
Address: Finca San Buenaventura | Solola Lago de Atitlan, Panajachel 07010, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Panajachel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Atitlan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nominated by Travel + Leisure; "World's Best Awards 2011".This charming hacienda-style hotel is a formerworking coffee farm situated on the shores of Lake Atitlan, with a picture perfect view of volcanoes San Pedro, Toliman and Atitlan. Highlighting numerous unique Guatemalan traditions with its colorful and vibrant interior, each room is individually decorated with hand-woven fabrics and carpets, handcrafted furniture, paintings and tile floors. All rooms have private balconies and breathtaking views of the lake. The swimming pool and Jacuzzi overlook the entire lake and the hotel's magnificent wedding, tropical and rose gardens. The Botanical Gardens of Hotel Atitlan are a true garden lover's paradise. Bird-watching is a popular pastime within its botanical gardens. Enjoy a cocktail or a refreshing tea from the selection of tea infusions by the fire in the hotel's bar, and dine in an elegant setting where you will savor regional and international cuisine. You can't miss this beautiful Hotel!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Atitlan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atitlan Hotel Panajachel
Hotel Atitlan Panajachel, Lake Atitlan, Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing