We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay at Lake Atitlan”
Review of Hotel Atitlan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Atitlan
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Panajachel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2007

Stayed two days and nights in mid February at the Hotel Atitlan in Panajachel on Lake Atitlan. We stayed in the third floor junior suite with a private balcony that provided spectacular views of the lake and the volcanoes around the lake. The room was well appointed with a comfortable king size bed, pleasant sitting area around the wood burning fireplace, and a large bathroom with beautiful tile. The location of the hotel (about a mile outside of Panajachel) was very tranquil and getting into town on a tuk tuk cost only 15 to 20 quetzales and took but a few minutes. The only real negative about this hotel is the service. The front desk was understaffed (only one employee), at best marginally helpful, and often seemed annoyed to help the guests with even the most modest of requests. A hotel of this caliber that commands $189 per night (quite expensive for Lake Atitlan) should have a concierge or at least more staff to assist their guests. We did not have dinner at the restaurant, but the menu was nice, albeit a bit expensive. Breakfast was not included but there was a breakfast buffet which was quite popular amongst the other guests. Very nice outdoor dining area near the pool with great view of the lake. Service issues aside, this is a truly wonderful, immacutely maintained hotel that should not be missed if staying in Panajachel. Make a point to have dinner at Chez Alex on Calle Santander. Outstanding French and Guatemalan food with great service and very nice ambiance.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank jsakron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (812)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

554 - 560 of 812 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2007

We just returned this week from a 3-night stay at the Hotel Atitlan. It was everything the prior reviews had indicated: gorgeous grounds, spectacular views, romantic ambiance, wonderful food. The infinity Jacuzzi overlooking the lake and surrounding volcanoes was a particular high point, as were drinks and dinner on the terrace. Our room (309) was large and well-maintained, with a great balcony and view. While the hotel and food were a bit pricey by Guatemalan standards, the special ambiance of the Hotel Atitlan was worth every quetzal, and I would highly recommend this hotel.

Our only disappointment was the front desk--it was a bit difficult doing basic things like reconfirming airline reservations, getting sightseeing suggestions, arranging special transportation, etc...they were not very helpful with anything beyond the basic room and food needs. Given the clientele, the Hotel Atitlan could really benefit from a concierge or, at the very least, printed information on sightseeing and transportation options. There are wonderful things around (like the Nature Reserve and the public boat to Santiago) that we stumbled into.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Dhuds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2007

Hotel Atitlan is pretty expensive, but you'll get something in return. Like a beautiful view over the lake and the vulcanoes, a quiet atmosphere just far enough from the crowds of Pana, great food and a nice room. Make sure you'll ask for a nice room with a nice view. We first got a very small room, almost without a balcony, but we were able to change it to one with probably the best view of the hotel...
No baths, just a shower. Nice bed. Great food in the beautiful restaurant. Parrots in the gardens.
Only minus: you have to take a taxi to Pana (and they'll make you pay...).
The boatsmen in Pana try to have you overpay for the trip to the other side of the lake, but it's still cheap compared to the prices of the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M&CUtrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2007

From the moment that we stepped into Hotel Atitlan we knew it was a special place. There were candles lit and beautiful Christmas decorations in the lobby. We could not wait until sunrise to look at the gardens and the lake. The food was a bit pricey for Guatemala but very good and we had excellent service from our waiter. We took the hotel's boat trip for $15 over to Santiago Atitlan- the $15 includes the boat trip r/t and they allow you two hours to walk around the town. Don't miss the nearby Nature reserve - it is an easy hike from the hotel to a platform for viewing the monkeys and a nearby waterfall. We also had a massage for $35 an hour- the setting for the massage was nothing special but it was a good massage. There are some beautiful items in the gift shop and they are reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank smgapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2006

Just returned from two nights at the Hotel Atitlan. We were in the king suite, number 314, with jaw-dropping views out to the lake and over the hotel's gardens. The room itself was large and comfortable, with a working fireplace and large balcony. The grounds of the hotel, including the bar and pool area, were incredibly well kept and absolutely gorgeous. The only minor negatives we had were that we found the bed too firm for our tastes, and the front desk staff sometimes less than helpful. Otherwise, everything about our stay was utterly relaxing and entirely too short--we can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frednzeke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2006

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank kmdeleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2006

  • Stayed: January 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Valerie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panajachel hotels
0.8 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#3 of 29 in Panajachel
493 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jardines del Lago
Jardines del Lago
#6 of 29 in Panajachel
223 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Hotel Regis Panajachel
#5 of 29 in Panajachel
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Buenaventura de Atitlan
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Riviera de Atitlan
Hotel La Riviera de Atitlan
#9 of 29 in Panajachel
164 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atitlan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atitlan

Address: Finca San Buenaventura | Solola Lago de Atitlan, Panajachel 07010, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Panajachel
Price Range: £133 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Atitlan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nominated by Travel + Leisure; "World's Best Awards 2011".This charming hacienda-style hotel is a formerworking coffee farm situated on the shores of Lake Atitlan, with a picture perfect view of volcanoes San Pedro, Toliman and Atitlan. Highlighting numerous unique Guatemalan traditions with its colorful and vibrant interior, each room is individually decorated with hand-woven fabrics and carpets, handcrafted furniture, paintings and tile floors. All rooms have private balconies and breathtaking views of the lake. The swimming pool and Jacuzzi overlook the entire lake and the hotel's magnificent wedding, tropical and rose gardens. The Botanical Gardens of Hotel Atitlan are a true garden lover's paradise. Bird-watching is a popular pastime within its botanical gardens. Enjoy a cocktail or a refreshing tea from the selection of tea infusions by the fire in the hotel's bar, and dine in an elegant setting where you will savor regional and international cuisine. You can't miss this beautiful Hotel!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Atitlan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atitlan Hotel Panajachel
Hotel Atitlan Panajachel, Lake Atitlan, Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing