We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Overnight”
Review of Hotel Atitlan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Atitlan
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Panajachel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2007

Spent a glorious overnight here and would definitely recommend it. The hotel is lovely; the grounds are spectacular. Beautiful, well-maintained gardens surround you, complete with toucans, mourning doves, parrots and hummingbirds. The pool area is peaceful and comfortable and the view--simply outstanding! Service was lackluster, but not bad. Dining was fine, but not memorable. The outdoor dining area made breakfast a panoramic feast for the eyes! Definitely make a point of taking the launch to the village of Santiago across the Lake and save time for simply enjoying the hotel grounds.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (795)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Atitlan
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

540 - 546 of 795 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2007

I don't see how anyone could find Hotel Atitlan anything but supremely beautiful and relaxing. You really miss out if you don't get up early (6:30) just to enjoy seeing the birds and gardens come awake. That's also the time to watch the Mayan fishermen in the one-man canoes serenely and carefully pulling in the nets with their day's catch.

Our buffet breakfasts were included, and it was beautiful dining on the patio gazing on the lake. The evening sunsets at dinner were even more lovely. I know we could have dined for less in Pana, but the dinner we had was good and the view unsurpassed.

We found the service excellent, unlike some others. Every care was taken to guide us to nice places in Pana, and the dinner recommendation we received was very good. It was great taking a boat from the hotel dock out to the villages around Lake Atitlan.

Two grandparents, 3 daughters & sons-in-law, and 2 grandchildren would have stayed forever if it had been possible.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sablatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2007

No horror stories, but overpriced for what is offered, not terribly attractive or helpful. I wouldn't go back or recommend.

Here's where I agree with all these positive reviews: very lovely grounds; relaxing pool and jacuzzi area with comfortable chairs (though it is NOT very big, as one review suggested); gorgeous views;
rooms are very clean; comfortable beds (hard) and large bathrooms; waiters and waitresses try hard to please; cute bar area.

Here's where I disagree:
-- The rooms and common areas are of a good standard, but I would not say they are beautiful. Rooms had nice Guatemalan bedspreads, and everything else very average hotel chain-style. Common areas were
tacky, other than pool and gardens.
-- Rooms did not have safes, refrigerators or clocks, all of which were included in my lesser priced room in Antigua and should be available at this standard.
-- Services that should be made easily available at these prices were
all ridiculously overpriced. Wireless internet service (also free at hotel in Antigua): $US10/day. Rides into town (just 2 km away): $6 for 4. Internet: forget, but a charge. Breakfast: a whopping $12 or something for pancakes. Airport transfers: far, far beyond rates in Pana for private van.
-- No map available of region to help you plan your own trip.
-- Dining room is very frumpy and over-lit, very glad we did not eat there (entrees around $US20 or more).
-- "Lite music" piped in all over all day long, can't escape it even in the room.
-- Had no hot water all afternoon.

This place seems best suited for large tour groups or people willing to pay just to insulate themselves from Guatemala. It is way over-priced for what it offers otherwise, and I mean by comparison to other nice places in Guatemala.

Stayed: April 2007
8  Thank NataliaRos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2007

My husband and I stayed at this resort for a friend's wedding that took place there. The grounds and gardens were amazing, with humming birds all over the place. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The wedding was beautiful (I have yet to see a more lovely wedding). The rooms were not very large, but fine for the two of us. I found the beds to be very firm almost uncomfortable. The Hotel's restaurant was delicious and the food at the wedding (catered by the hotel) was even better. Overall it was a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cricket422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2007

Aaprt from being located at the most beautiful lake of the world, this hotel has all it needs to have a relaxed couple of days. Only the parrots or peacocks may wake you up, but who would not enjoy such morning call?
Make sure to have a room in the middle of the hotel in order to enjoy a view on all of the 4 or 5 volcanoes from your balcony!
The garden is a pleasure and meticulously kept. The food is tending to being American, although the straightforward Maya frijoles and tamales are certainly not kept hidden.
The only disadvantage of the hotel is that it may cater to too many guests.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank PieterdeN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2007

Stayed two days and nights in mid February at the Hotel Atitlan in Panajachel on Lake Atitlan. We stayed in the third floor junior suite with a private balcony that provided spectacular views of the lake and the volcanoes around the lake. The room was well appointed with a comfortable king size bed, pleasant sitting area around the wood burning fireplace, and a large bathroom with beautiful tile. The location of the hotel (about a mile outside of Panajachel) was very tranquil and getting into town on a tuk tuk cost only 15 to 20 quetzales and took but a few minutes. The only real negative about this hotel is the service. The front desk was understaffed (only one employee), at best marginally helpful, and often seemed annoyed to help the guests with even the most modest of requests. A hotel of this caliber that commands $189 per night (quite expensive for Lake Atitlan) should have a concierge or at least more staff to assist their guests. We did not have dinner at the restaurant, but the menu was nice, albeit a bit expensive. Breakfast was not included but there was a breakfast buffet which was quite popular amongst the other guests. Very nice outdoor dining area near the pool with great view of the lake. Service issues aside, this is a truly wonderful, immacutely maintained hotel that should not be missed if staying in Panajachel. Make a point to have dinner at Chez Alex on Calle Santander. Outstanding French and Guatemalan food with great service and very nice ambiance.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank jsakron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2007

We just returned this week from a 3-night stay at the Hotel Atitlan. It was everything the prior reviews had indicated: gorgeous grounds, spectacular views, romantic ambiance, wonderful food. The infinity Jacuzzi overlooking the lake and surrounding volcanoes was a particular high point, as were drinks and dinner on the terrace. Our room (309) was large and well-maintained, with a great balcony and view. While the hotel and food were a bit pricey by Guatemalan standards, the special ambiance of the Hotel Atitlan was worth every quetzal, and I would highly recommend this hotel.

Our only disappointment was the front desk--it was a bit difficult doing basic things like reconfirming airline reservations, getting sightseeing suggestions, arranging special transportation, etc...they were not very helpful with anything beyond the basic room and food needs. Given the clientele, the Hotel Atitlan could really benefit from a concierge or, at the very least, printed information on sightseeing and transportation options. There are wonderful things around (like the Nature Reserve and the public boat to Santiago) that we stumbled into.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Dhuds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panajachel hotels
0.8 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#4 of 29 in Panajachel
470 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jardines del Lago
Jardines del Lago
#6 of 29 in Panajachel
217 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Hotel Regis Panajachel
#5 of 29 in Panajachel
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Riviera de Atitlan
Hotel La Riviera de Atitlan
#10 of 29 in Panajachel
155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Buenaventura de Atitlan
0.7 mi away
Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atitlan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atitlan

Address: Finca San Buenaventura | Solola Lago de Atitlan, Panajachel 07010, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Panajachel
Price Range: £88 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Atitlan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nominated by Travel + Leisure; "World's Best Awards 2011".This charming hacienda-style hotel is a formerworking coffee farm situated on the shores of Lake Atitlan, with a picture perfect view of volcanoes San Pedro, Toliman and Atitlan. Highlighting numerous unique Guatemalan traditions with its colorful and vibrant interior, each room is individually decorated with hand-woven fabrics and carpets, handcrafted furniture, paintings and tile floors. All rooms have private balconies and breathtaking views of the lake. The swimming pool and Jacuzzi overlook the entire lake and the hotel's magnificent wedding, tropical and rose gardens. The Botanical Gardens of Hotel Atitlan are a true garden lover's paradise. Bird-watching is a popular pastime within its botanical gardens. Enjoy a cocktail or a refreshing tea from the selection of tea infusions by the fire in the hotel's bar, and dine in an elegant setting where you will savor regional and international cuisine. You can't miss this beautiful Hotel!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Atitlan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atitlan Hotel Panajachel
Hotel Atitlan Panajachel, Lake Atitlan, Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing