We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good restaurant experience”
Review of Hotel Dos Mundos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Dos Mundos
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Panajachel
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Our group of 19 was well served and promptly. Good food. Restaurant decorated in tropical jungle style we experienced first in Chiapas, much appreciated. Did not stay at this hotel, but pool area looked great.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank SaraF742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Dos Mundos
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2013

Short distance from the shore, in the middle of the actions, yet back far enough from the street to keep the noise down. The garden is attractive, with a small pool. The restaurant is set back in the garden, and gives a nice atmosphere. Breakfast was decent, with typical egg, bean, toast, and fruit. And was included. Pleasant clean place to stay. We had 3 double bed, but used only 2. Could have slept 6.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fisherdvm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

The hotel has large airy rooms some of which look out onto a cold water swimming pool. Very few people swam because of the coldness of the water. The gardens are a peaceful sanctuary in the midst of Panajachel.

The hotel website does not mention their rates but we were quoted $340 US for 4 nights. We were a bit surprised that the desk demanded payment in US dollars cash when we arrived despite a Visa and Mastercard sticker on the reception window. Fortunately we did have some dollars on us. When we decided to stay an extra night a different member of staff charged us just 400 Quetzales and allowed us to pay by Visa Card. Q400 Converted as $51US which is a lot cheaper than the $85 charged originally. I wonder if the difference was pocketed.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bob_Croxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Hotel Dos Mundos is located in the heart of Panachel- offers spacious rooms, sparkling clean, and very accommodating staff. It's a perfect jumping off spot for exploring the extraordinary charms of the Lake Atitlan region which is among the most beautiful and interesting area we have had the pleasure of visiting. Pease ignore my rating of the fitness center and spa. There are none and I couldn't get the program to uncheck these items.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Summer.Rain.Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

Hotel is situated on one of the main streets - Santander - and is just a two-minute walk from Lake Atitlan. It couldn't be more convenient. However, it is set back from the street, so no noise. Lovely grounds with pool, wifi. I was on my own and felt very safe. The staff was very helpful and courteous. Other reviews comment on the Guatemalan textiles and "atmosphere" in the rooms which is very attractive. There are rocking chairs outside the rooms for those who like to sit on the veranda and relax. A very good find.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Shannon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

Walk off the busy main street in Panajachel to discover the tranquility of beautiful Hotel Dos Mundos. Rooms are attractively decorated in Guatemalan textiles and look out over the lovely pool and gardens; lots of hot water and free wifi add to the pleasure. It's a short walk to the waterfront and the lanchas waiting to take you off to explore the pueblos around Lago Atitlan.
The week before we went, we met a woman in a coffee shop in Antigua who had explored several Panajachel hotels and gave this one a thumbs up. She was right!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank svMadcap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Stepping off of Panajachel's main road, Calle Santander, and onto the property of Hotel Dos Mundos, you enter into a tropical and peaceful sanctuary. Talk about ambiance! The architecture, gardens, pool and decor are gorgeous and a perfect parallel to the beauty of Guatemala's Highlands. Rooms are very clean and cozy. Food is fantastic. I highly recommend dinner at their restaurant La Lanterna - great Italian food as well as wine selection. And most importantly, the staff was incredibly kind and professional and saw that my every need was taken care of...all of this nestled in the heart of Panajachel and steps away from Lake Atitlan.

Hotel Dos Mundos is truly a hidden treasure and piece of paradise in Panajachel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank camilleashby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panajachel hotels
0.2 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#4 of 29 in Panajachel
470 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Hotel Regis Panajachel
#5 of 29 in Panajachel
252 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel San Buenaventura de Atitlan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 29 in Panajachel
795 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jardines del Lago
Jardines del Lago
#6 of 29 in Panajachel
217 reviews
0.1 mi away
Posada de los Volcanes
Posada de los Volcanes
#3 of 29 in Panajachel
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dos Mundos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dos Mundos

Address: Calle Santander, Panajachel 07010, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Panajachel
Price Range: £53 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Dos Mundos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dos Mundos Hotel
Dos Mundos Panajachel
Hotel Dos Mundos Panajachel, Lake Atitlan, Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing