We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely stay at Posada de Don Rodrigo in November 2011”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Panajachel
Ocean Pines, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“A lovely stay at Posada de Don Rodrigo in November 2011”
Reviewed 9 November 2011

This hotel is located lakeside on Lake Atitlan in Panajachel, Guatemala. We did not have a lakeview room but were pleased with the size of the room, furnishings and nice bath. I had looked at the reviews and was pleasantly surprised by the services at the hotel. The staff were very attentive. While there was not individual soap and shampoo provided, there were dispensing containers in the room. A hairdryer was available at the front desk as were services of a hotel safe.
The grounds were just lovely with many tropical plants, hammocks and chairs. We did not use the pool but it was available with a slide. There were many lake views at the hotel--from the garden, pool, and a terrace on the second floor above the restaurant.

One morning we had breakfast in the lovely Deli Jasmine, around the corner from the hotel. The gardens were delightful and the food was very reasonably prices. The second morning we had breakfast in the hotel restaurant. While more expensive than at the deli, the early morning lake views were gorgeous.

There is internet provided in the public areas for free but the only places we could easily pick it up were in the restaurant and in the pool area in front of the restaurant. There were lots of restaurants and shops within a few blocks of the hotel

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SilverSpringer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    129
    52
    18
    6
See reviews for
84
106
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
1,819 reviews
252 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 928 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Stopped by here for lunch on a day trip from Antigua to Chichicastenango and Lake (guide's choice).

We were in a small group of five and we didn't feel right breaking off for lunch elsewhere, so we stayed together.

The menu is wide and varied, featuring many traditional and seafood dishes. The views of the lake and volcanoes from the restaurant's terrace are beautiful, but probably not worth the price of the entrees ($14-$20).

The menus were only in Spanish and we got surprised when our entree came featuring mostly beets. Our Spanish is pretty good, but the beets were a surprise!

There are many other smaller mom and pop places to eat along the waterfront for much less money. The prices here were more than we paid for entrees at Kakao in Guatemala City!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fair Oaks Ranch, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We read reviews of where to stay on tripadvisor and decided NOT to listen, we knew better. So we chose Hotel Atitlan... well we stayed there ONLY ONE night. The staff was rude as was the owner and you guessed it, she is an American. I remembered reading good things about Posada de Don Rodrigo, so we checked it out. Man were we pleased with our move. The staff was oh so accommodating, especially with our food requirements (recently discovered one of us is Gluten intolerant). We HIGHLY recommend this beautiful setting, good food, but especially because of how we were treated!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travler_1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

Great staff. Friendly place. Go to panajachel in the dry season though...not the rainy season like I did.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandonmarcus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2011

We just returned from a 3-day stay at Posada de Don Rodrigo in Panajachel with our three children (2 teens and a pre-teen) and thoroughly enjoyed our time there. The service is 5-star at all times and is what makes this hotel so special. The staff goes out of their way to learn your names and make your visit as pleasant and memorable as possible. Every morning, afternoon, evening, etc. the same staff greeted us by name, asked how we were doing, etc. When our daughter did not feel well one evening, they recommended an herbal Mayan tea (Tea Pericon), which actually made her feel better, and then continued to ask how she was feeling. The restaurant and grounds - as well as the rooms - are kept very clean. We had a lake view room and it was worth the extra $20 or so for the view. We arrived at 9:30 AM and the staff put us in a temporary room until our lake view room was ready so we also had an opportunity to see the non-lake view rooms, which were just as spacious and well-kept but without the view. Come here with the right attitude. Remember that you're in a third world country so no, the rooms don't automatically come with hair dryers, soap, shampoo, lotion, shower caps, etc. but you can certainly ask for these items if you need them and the reception desk will give them to you. The price for breakfast is comparable to what you will pay at a reliable restaurant in town, and is far more pleasant: a stunning view, no stray dogs, not one fly, and no vendors approaching you while you eat. The dinner prices may be comparable to the pricier restaurants in town, but the food is excellent and again, the food is clean, safe and the surroundings are quiet and beautiful. We loved Panajachel and ate several breakfasts and dinners in town, but sometimes it was nice to take a break at the hotel. We highly recommend this hotel in Pana.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AB333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
330 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2011

A pleasant hotel with interesting some architectural features. The food in the restaurant was pretty good - better than we found in the town. Only negative - the water could, at best, be described as warm rather than hot.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phebert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2010

I've stayed twice at Posada de Don Rodrigo in Panajachel. Once in June of 2006 and again in August of 2010. Its definitely one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in. The food is amazing. You can get authentic or not. Delicious coffee. Marimba music. Wonderful view of the water. I recommend trying to get one of the more expensive rooms that are located right by the water near the patio. Its worth the extra cost to wake up in the morning to a view of the volcanoes. Definitely one of the best parts about going to Panajachel is the amazing service you'll get at Posada de Don Rodrigo.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank khomuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panajachel hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 29 in Panajachel
772 reviews
0.1 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#4 of 29 in Panajachel
451 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jardines del Lago
Jardines del Lago
#6 of 29 in Panajachel
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Hotel Regis Panajachel
#5 of 29 in Panajachel
244 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Riviera de Atitlan
Hotel La Riviera de Atitlan
#11 of 29 in Panajachel
149 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel San Buenaventura de Atitlan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel

Property: Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel
Address: Final Calle Santander, Panajachel 07010, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Panajachel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful, quiet, relaxing and unforgetable, these may be the best words to describe your stay at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel. Located one hour and 45 minutes from La Antigua Guatemala and to where we have taken a little piece of La Antigua. Your will sense the change of landscape, but the same atmosphere of cordiality and service that you experienced in La Antigua. With 28 standard rooms and 11 lake view rooms each with breathtaking views, unique and distinct details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Posada De Don Rodrigo Panajachel Lake Atitlan, Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing