We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staff made the stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Panajachel
Certificate of Excellence
Georgia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Staff made the stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

We spent three nights here. The grounds are lovely with awesome views. Our room was not ready so they sent us the terrace for drinks which was perfect. Came and got us and had bag in room. French doors opened to lake view. The staff was wonderful. Tolerated my horrible Spanish with a smile and gave us hugs everyday. Easy and safe to walk at night and they will get you a Tuk Tuk if needed. Into the recycling big time and refilled your water bottles at front desk.

Room Tip: Ask for lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank advisegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PosadaDeDonRodrigo, Manager at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to write this review... we are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff´s service is one of the biggest strenghts of the hotel, and it is always nice to hear our clients comments and suggestions.
Thank you once again, and we hope to serve you again in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    125
    50
    17
    6
See reviews for
79
102
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Unfortunately, I was really disappointed with our room here. It was extremely dark due to the only window opening on to the corridor, which meant also no privacy if we wanted any light.

The room had uncomfortable beds and was generally unappealing and the bathroom equally bland and with ants running around. It felt more like a hostel than a hotel.

On the plus side, it is very central and on the edge of the lake, the staff are friendly but to conclude I would not stay here again in such a depressing room. Looking forward to moving on to next destination.

Room Tip: If you choose to stay here, make sure you get lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 666Rachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PosadaDeDonRodrigo, Manager at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you so much for your review!
We are very sorry to hear you had an unpleasant stay with us. We will definetely take all of your comments into consideration to improve our hotel.
We hope you can change your mind, and give us another opportunity to make things better.
Thank you again for taking the time to write this and hope to see you again!
Kind Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

We had a lake view room that looks out towards the three volcanoes on the other end of the lake. The room and bathroom was a little on the smaller side for the price but we weren't here to spend time in the room. The restaurant serves very good food. The staff were very courteous and friendly. The lack of safety box in the room was the only drawback.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PosadaDeDonRodrigo, Manager at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you so much for your review!
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the food... and we would like to thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review.
Having a safetybox in the rooms is something that we will definetely take into consideration for the future.
Thank you again, and hope to serve you again!
Kind Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan, KS
Level Contributor
380 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

The friendliest stuff ever and great food at reasonable prices. Amazing view. We went there first for breakfast and then for deserts in late afternoon. We were really impressed with the service, quality, and prices.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Witoldzio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PosadaDeDonRodrigo, Manager at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review!
We are very happy to hear all of your comments while eating at our restaurant. We hope to serve you again in the near future.
Kind Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

I was in Pana for 3 nights and stayed elsewhere but did go twice to the restaurant here to eat. Had dinner one night - a seafood with pasta dish that was really very flavorful and it was so good we went back later for breakfast. Friendly and efficient waitresses, women outside are making the blue corn tortillas, it is clean and with my North American stomach I am super careful where I eat. The grounds are beautiful and of course you have the wonderful lake view. Still, there are LOTS of restaurants in Pana with great views but here you get great food as well. Was happy with my hotel so probably wouldn't stay here but would go back to eat the next time I am there.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bedlammanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PosadaDeDonRodrigo, Manager at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for your review!
We are very happy to hear you enjoyed our food... We pride ourselves in having great quality of food and attentive personnel as well, and we are honored to hear your great review!
We hope to serve you again in the near future not only at the restaurant but with your stay as well.
Kind Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
243 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

I feel in love with this place. A simple but lovely place. Breakfast with view of the lake and nicely decorated rooms. Very worthy for the price. It's located at the end of the main street where you can find all kinds of handicrafts, bars and restaurants. On block from where all boats leave with tours around the lake. It also has a massage service at a fair price.

Room Tip: Don't worry if you don't get a room with lake view, you will have the option to admire the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viajero2203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PosadaDeDonRodrigo, Manager at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you for your review!
It´s always very refreshing to hear such wonderful comments from our guests. We appreciate you taking the time to write this and we definetely hope to serve you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

A great place to stay on your travels. The rooms were good, comfortable and clean. We had B & B and the fruit followed by an omelette was fantastic. There's an upper terrace with terrific views across Lake Atitlan and we caught a glorious sunset behind the volcanos the other side. It is in a good position on the edge of the lake and yet a short walk up a busy street to the town centre with many bars and restaurants. Strange to see guards outside the banks with shotguns but no hint of trouble anywhere in Guatemala.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NAIRDA55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PosadaDeDonRodrigo, Manager at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you for your review!
We appreciate you taking the time to write this review... We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel as well as the food and views.
We hope to serve you in the near future again!

Kind Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panajachel hotels
0.1 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#4 of 29 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 29 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Hotel Regis Panajachel
#5 of 29 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Jardines del Lago
Jardines del Lago
#6 of 29 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.1 mi away
Posada de los Volcanes
Posada de los Volcanes
#3 of 29 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel San Buenaventura de Atitlan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel

Property: Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel
Address: Final Calle Santander, Panajachel 07010, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Panajachel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful, quiet, relaxing and unforgetable, these may be the best words to describe your stay at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel. Located one hour and 45 minutes from La Antigua Guatemala and to where we have taken a little piece of La Antigua. Your will sense the change of landscape, but the same atmosphere of cordiality and service that you experienced in La Antigua. With 28 standard rooms and 11 lake view rooms each with breathtaking views, unique and distinct details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Posada De Don Rodrigo Panajachel Lake Atitlan, Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing