We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible customer service, especially for a large group”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Panajachel
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Worst experience I've ever had at a hotel in Panajachel. Our organization routinely brings large groups to the area and we were willing to try the Don Rodrigo. However, we will not be using the hotel again. The staff told us that the rooms would be ready at 3pm, but by 4:15pm our group was still waiting, unable to get in the rooms. Furthermore, when we asked if they could help rectify the situation by offering a discount, they replied that the prices they had quoted us in making the reservations were already discounted at 30% - not true, and not consistent with what they list as their public prices. The staff proceeded to argue with us over what constitutes a "price," adding up percentages on the calculator to include the taxes associated with the rate to prove that they had given us a discount when they had not. They were not willing to offer anything for the inconvenience of having our group of 13 people wait over an hour to get into the rooms. Not recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Service
1  Thank Joonboom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PosadaDeDonRodrigo, Manager at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Thank you for your review!
We are very sorry to hear your dissapointment. We will definetely work with our staff to improve the time with the rooms to deliver them at the right time.
In regards to the prices of the rooms, there is a % fee which is legally required by our government. 12% tax fee, and 10% INGUAT fee (Instituto Guatemalteco de Turismo). These fees are not listed on our prices, but we always let our clients know beforehand of this charge.
However our staff could have handled it better, by explaining it you... Please accept our apology and we hope to have a second chance to amend things.
Again thank you for taking the time to write this review...
Kind Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (334)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 334 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2014

Through an error by a booking agent who verbally assured us that our reservation was in Panajachel and not in Antigua as the confirmation showed, we arrived after a long ride on a crowded van to find that indeed we did not have a reservation in Pananjachel and, worse, the hotel was completely booked for the night on a very popular Valentine's Day weekend. Formula for disaster... However, Blanca went to work with Jose to try to save the day, got us into a very acceptable hotel only a few blocks away for that one night with someone to lug our bags down the street, and insisted we have breakfast at The Posada the next morning on them. Throughout our stay the next two nights at Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel, "Fernando" checked on us often to assure things were up to expectations. Great staff that knows how to handle a problem like this when it arises, kudos to all, we will stay here again next time!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PosadaDeDonRodrigo, Manager at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this review!
We are very happy to hear that our staff handled the inconveniente very well... it´s very nice when clients acknowledge our hard work, we will let everyone in the hotel know your appreciation.
We hope to serve you again in the near future...
Kind Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

Location: ideal
Service: no complaints, very helpful

Rooms: eh

Fairly limited options in the area unless you are looking for a $20/night type of place. Have a feeling that the area is a day trip kind of town. Those staying overnight typically have a backpack and need a shave if you know what I mean. So for the extra $ (relative to the area) maybe I had unreasonable expectations.

If you've read my other reviews you know that I'm an activity kind of guy...so look forward to a comfy bed upon my return. It's a hotel right...without a comfortable bed what is it?

With that said, this was my number one complaint. The mattress HAD to be 20+ years old...hard as a board, and not due to being the "firm" variety. Rooms are definitely showing their age, but again...this could be overlooked with a comfortable night's sleep.

Guessing for the area it may be one of the better selections, but still.

The location's convenience likely draws a higher occupancy rate than I would have expected. Grounds are well kept, and security was above par.

If you are bringing kids and expect much from the game area...don't. Again very old and in poor condition. The pool and water slide looked nice although I didn't partake. For was okay and reasonably priced.

In short, it is what it is....

If you don't need to be in Panajachel due to location convenience I would consider one of the boutique like places around the lake.

In and out for the night...think you are okay. There for an extended stay...not so much.

I know, less than a glowing review, but for those from the facility reading this review I want to reiterate that the staff was friendly and treated me well. Just suggest you may want to update the bedding and some of the more noticeable facilities.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PosadaDeDonRodrigo, Manager at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review!
We apologize you felt our hotel wasn´t to your standards, however we appreciate all of your suggestions and will take them into consideration to improve our facilities. Your observations and suggestions are always welcome!
Thank you once again for your time, and hope to have the chance to serve you again!
Kind Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed here for several nights in January. We were a little worried it was too far from the action in town, but it is ideally located...you can easily walk all over town from here. And, being situated right on the lake, it had breath-taking views of the volcanoes.

The price of the rooms are a bit higher than we usually found in Guatemala, but it was still a good value. The rooms are good sized and are very clean with comfortable beds. The hot water is a little spotty, but if you wait for a bit it warms up. The hotel staff are very attentive and kind. Breakfasts are included and they were excellent with lots of choices...from omelets, to yogurt to french toast to traditional Guatemalan fare. We did not eat other meals here as we wanted to sample some of the places around town.

Unfortunately, my friend got sick while we were here--not from their food. The staff could not have been more helpful and considerate. Late one night they made her dry toast and tea and continually asked about her.

This is a great place and we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the deluxe rooms which have views of the lake and the volcanoes. Even though it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schleuder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PosadaDeDonRodrigo, Manager at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your experience while staying with us! It is such a pleasure to hear all of the details of your stay, and know that you enjoyed it...
Our customer satisfaction is our number one goal, and we feel honored to have such great reviews from you.
Hope to serve again in the near future!
Kind Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Four of us were early in arriving and our rooms were not ready but the front desk staff were very good about storing our bags while we walked into Panajachel for some lunch and shopping. When we returned to walk down to our rooms with our backpacks we suddenly had 3 porters to assist us, all looking for tips.

One room did not have any glasses. A trip to the front desk to request 2 glasses did not result in any glasses being delivered.

Neither of the rooms had any face cloths but we later found that this is the norm in Guatemala.

Morning showers were tepid at best and you had to wait a long time for them to warm to tepid.

This hotel has a wonderful view and great front office staff but for the cost of the rooms here we were disappointed in the poor room service and lack of attention to detail.

Room Tip: Upper rooms may have a better view and have less ambient conversations from the people on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DIVERSTWO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PosadaDeDonRodrigo, Manager at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Thank you for your review!
We are terribly sorry for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay. We will take all of your comments into consideration to improve everything in the hotel. Again please accept our apology and note that we will take immediate action into our hands.
Thank you for taking the time to write this review!
Kind Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Excellent value. Clean. Service was excellent! Great location. Good food. Staff extremely helpful in all ways. Definitely would come back here. Recommend the top floor for best views. Breakfast was great.

Room Tip: Fourth floor. Fantastic service
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurabsachs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PosadaDeDonRodrigo, Manager at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Thank you for all your kind words, and for taking the time to write this review! We hope to serve you again in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We stayed in this hotel for two night in mid Jan 2014. As you can see by the map view, the hotel is in an excellent location with beautiful views of the lake. Our room was in the 300s which has french doors that open onto a grassy/garden area with beautiful lake and volcano views! The doors themselves were not very secure and though they had a lock, if someone wanted to get in, they easily could. They really need the metal bars that can be pushed into the floor/ceiling for more security. The garden is by no means open to the public, but it would have been nice for that added security measure.
There's no safe in the room so you have to go to the front desk and put your things in an envelope and get a receipt.
The restaurant staff were lovely and we greatly enjoyed breakfast and a coffee in the afternoon on the terrace.
The only very disappointing part of our stay was the lack of hot water in the shower. Little did we know that even though Guatemala is south of Mexico, it has high elevations which brings the temps down to almost 40F at night in the dry season. The room had a heater/AC unit on the wall but warm air would not come out of it! The shower was warm, but certainly not hot and with the chilly room temperatures, did not make for a pleasant shower experience. i'm sure this is fine when it's warmer outside but not in January! Unfortunately this lack of hot water seemed to be a theme throughout our stay which is why I gave 4 stars (and not 3) because if most hotels don't have hot water, it sounds like it's something we just have to know about and deal with unfortunately.
Aside from the water issue, the room was large and always clean, as was the rest of the property.

Room Tip: Get a room with a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liv D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PosadaDeDonRodrigo, Manager at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this review!
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed staying with us, regarding the hot water in your room,
it´s a problem that Panajachel has for quite some time, however there is no excuse for this inconvenience. I will personally make sure this problem gets fixed.
Thank you again, and we hope to serve you again!
Kind Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panajachel hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 29 in Panajachel
800 reviews
0.1 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#4 of 29 in Panajachel
480 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Hotel Regis Panajachel
#5 of 29 in Panajachel
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Jardines del Lago
Jardines del Lago
#6 of 29 in Panajachel
217 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel San Buenaventura de Atitlan
0.1 mi away
Posada de los Volcanes
Posada de los Volcanes
#3 of 29 in Panajachel
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel

Address: Final Calle Santander, Panajachel 07010, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Panajachel
Price Range: £91 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful, quiet, relaxing and unforgetable, these may be the best words to describe your stay at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel. Located one hour and 45 minutes from La Antigua Guatemala and to where we have taken a little piece of La Antigua. Your will sense the change of landscape, but the same atmosphere of cordiality and service that you experienced in La Antigua. With 28 standard rooms and 11 lake view rooms each with breathtaking views, unique and distinct details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Posada De Don Rodrigo Panajachel Lake Atitlan, Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing