We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel
Nearby Hotels
Porta Hotel Del Lago(Panajachel)
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Regis Panajachel(Panajachel)(Great Value!)
US$76
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$65
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villas Balam Ya(Panajachel)
US$142
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jardines del Lago(Panajachel)
US$91
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Atitlan(Panajachel)
US$186
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Posada de los Volcanes(Panajachel)(Great Value!)
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Utz Jay(Panajachel)(Great Value!)
US$48
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$44
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Colonial & Pana Surf(Panajachel)(Great Value!)
US$43
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$40
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Dos Mundos(Panajachel)
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (359)
Filter reviews
359 results
Traveller rating
127
143
62
19
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
127
143
62
19
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall museuma lake view roomlake atitlanupper terracehotel amenitieshotel safethe air conditioningsoap dispenserping pongrestaurant terraceroom was spaciousvery nice hotelamazing locationspent two nightssister hotelcalle santanderhotel is located
Filter
Updating list...
100 - 105 of 359 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Stayed here 1 night with my wife, brother and his girlfriend at the end of October. We had booked with Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel as we had stayed at their other property in Antigua Guatemala and would receive a hotel discount if we stayed at both locations. We had previously been to this property to have dinner, but never had stayed here. We decided to stay here as it is centrally located, right off of Calle Santander. Check in was fast and simple. Our initial reservations were for non lakeview rooms. We decided to upgrade for $10 USD more per room to have a lakeview room. We were placed in rooms 301 and 302. These rooms have a shared lawn patio with great views of the lake and volcanoes. Breakfast was included with our
room. Breakfast was very good. We also had dinner at the hotel restaurant. They do have good food. There was free wifi, but we could not get it to work in our rooms. The wifi did work at the hotel restaurant. Would definitely stay here when in Panajachel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JR_in_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PosadaDeDonRodrigo, Manager at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Thank you again for your review!
It´s very nice when our clients choose to stay at both hotels, same service and quality but completely different atmosphere...
We also appreciate you taking the time to write 2 reviews, we feel honored. We hope to serve your again in the near future.
Thank you once again!
Kind Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

A van from Antigua dropped us at the door of this beautiful, expensive hotel ($190 with taxes)
Romantic rooms with skiding doors opening on plush zoyzia grass lawn, hairdryer but only a soap dispenser in bathroom and shower. Be careful with the shower curtain and the direction of the shower head as I inadvertently flooded the bathroom. View of volcanoes and lake as promised. But no wifi in our rooms although I asked twice if there was wifi in the rooms. There is no wifi in the downstairs rooms even outside on the lawn. Got to go on the terrace upstairs for that. Bulb was missing in one of the bathroom light, and side bed light a bit shabby but it did not bother us much .Staff is very friendly and professional. Hotel is environmentally aware.
No comments on food since we went out for both dinner and breakfast. Reservations a must if during the week end as it is a popular stay with Gualtematecos from the big city. The hotel has a pool with a long slide that looks like fun for kids and adults but it was too cold for us to enjoy it .
Sent from my iPod

Room Tip: No room with a view ( all the ones downstairs) if you also want wifi
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ondine21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PosadaDeDonRodrigo, Manager at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this review!
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, the breathtaking view of the lake with the volcanoes surrounding it is worth the whole stay.
We appreciate all of your kind words, and hope to have the honor of serving you again in the near future.
Kinds Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Worst experience I've ever had at a hotel in Panajachel. Our organization routinely brings large groups to the area and we were willing to try the Don Rodrigo. However, we will not be using the hotel again. The staff told us that the rooms would be ready at 3pm, but by 4:15pm our group was still waiting, unable to get in the rooms. Furthermore, when we asked if they could help rectify the situation by offering a discount, they replied that the prices they had quoted us in making the reservations were already discounted at 30% - not true, and not consistent with what they list as their public prices. The staff proceeded to argue with us over what constitutes a "price," adding up percentages on the calculator to include the taxes associated with the rate to prove that they had given us a discount when they had not. They were not willing to offer anything for the inconvenience of having our group of 13 people wait over an hour to get into the rooms. Not recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Service
1  Thank Joonboom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PosadaDeDonRodrigo, Manager at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Thank you for your review!
We are very sorry to hear your dissapointment. We will definetely work with our staff to improve the time with the rooms to deliver them at the right time.
In regards to the prices of the rooms, there is a % fee which is legally required by our government. 12% tax fee, and 10% INGUAT fee (Instituto Guatemalteco de Turismo). These fees are not listed on our prices, but we always let our clients know beforehand of this charge.
However our staff could have handled it better, by explaining it you... Please accept our apology and we hope to have a second chance to amend things.
Again thank you for taking the time to write this review...
Kind Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Through an error by a booking agent who verbally assured us that our reservation was in Panajachel and not in Antigua as the confirmation showed, we arrived after a long ride on a crowded van to find that indeed we did not have a reservation in Pananjachel and, worse, the hotel was completely booked for the night on a very popular Valentine's Day weekend. Formula for disaster... However, Blanca went to work with Jose to try to save the day, got us into a very acceptable hotel only a few blocks away for that one night with someone to lug our bags down the street, and insisted we have breakfast at The Posada the next morning on them. Throughout our stay the next two nights at Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel, "Fernando" checked on us often to assure things were up to expectations. Great staff that knows how to handle a problem like this when it arises, kudos to all, we will stay here again next time!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PosadaDeDonRodrigo, Manager at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this review!
We are very happy to hear that our staff handled the inconveniente very well... it´s very nice when clients acknowledge our hard work, we will let everyone in the hotel know your appreciation.
We hope to serve you again in the near future...
Kind Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

Location: ideal
Service: no complaints, very helpful

Rooms: eh

Fairly limited options in the area unless you are looking for a $20/night type of place. Have a feeling that the area is a day trip kind of town. Those staying overnight typically have a backpack and need a shave if you know what I mean. So for the extra $ (relative to the area) maybe I had unreasonable expectations.

If you've read my other reviews you know that I'm an activity kind of guy...so look forward to a comfy bed upon my return. It's a hotel right...without a comfortable bed what is it?

With that said, this was my number one complaint. The mattress HAD to be 20+ years old...hard as a board, and not due to being the "firm" variety. Rooms are definitely showing their age, but again...this could be overlooked with a comfortable night's sleep.

Guessing for the area it may be one of the better selections, but still.

The location's convenience likely draws a higher occupancy rate than I would have expected. Grounds are well kept, and security was above par.

If you are bringing kids and expect much from the game area...don't. Again very old and in poor condition. The pool and water slide looked nice although I didn't partake. For was okay and reasonably priced.

In short, it is what it is....

If you don't need to be in Panajachel due to location convenience I would consider one of the boutique like places around the lake.

In and out for the night...think you are okay. There for an extended stay...not so much.

I know, less than a glowing review, but for those from the facility reading this review I want to reiterate that the staff was friendly and treated me well. Just suggest you may want to update the bedding and some of the more noticeable facilities.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PosadaDeDonRodrigo, Manager at Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review!
We apologize you felt our hotel wasn´t to your standards, however we appreciate all of your suggestions and will take them into consideration to improve our facilities. Your observations and suggestions are always welcome!
Thank you once again for your time, and hope to have the chance to serve you again!
Kind Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews