We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No hot water and no discount for this.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Rancho Grande Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rancho Grande Inn
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in Panajachel
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“No hot water and no discount for this.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2010

My husband, myself, and our 3 school-aged children had traveled to Panajachel in order to visit a non-profit which supports Mayan girls' schooling. We'd collected a suitcase of needed school supplies to bring this organization based in Panajachel. Our stay at the Rancho Grande Inn came at the end of our Guatemala trip.
Prior to this, we had lived for 3 weeks with a Guatemalan family in Antigua and attended Spanish Language school each day. This was both a wonderful and challenging experience. Our homestay did not have consistent hot water and the food we ate with our host family was the local fare. Basically after 3 weeks of sleeping fairly poorly in one room and having to walk outside for our showers, we were sorely in need of a nice place to wash up and rest for two nights.
Rancho Grande Inn's description and price tag suggested it would fit our needs. We reserved their casita for our family of 5. We arrived after dinner and everyone was dying for a warm shower. Unfortunately the water was only cold. We informed the management about the problem. They worked on it for a while and declared it fixed. We tried again, the shower was still cold. They offered us another empty room to shower in. That water was cold too.
At this point, I went to the office and told the hotel owner that $130 was a lot of money to pay for a room without hot water and I was requesting some sort of discount. The owner, who was bilingual in English and Spanish, told me she never gives discounts and that she found it hard to believe that the water was still cold. Then she said, "I mean, did you really come here for the hot water?" After the experience we'd had at our 3 week homestay, I felt like yelling, Yes!
The next day the owner said to my husband that they realized that I wasn't making the water story up, that something was wrong and they'd work on fixing it. They did have someone come out that day, but after this, we only had hot water for our first child's shower.
Beside the hot water issue, this hotel was comfortable, though fairly dark. The sheets and pillows were nice. The breakfasts (included in the hotel price) were delicious. However, it was hard to be treated so rudely by the owner, still not have hot water, and have to pay an expensive price in the end.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bicyclefamily52010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    30
    10
    5
    2
See reviews for
18
22
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2010

This was the second time I stayed here. My friend goes to Guatemala several times a year and she always stays here. I can see why: the rooms are large and cozy with carved wooden furniture. The bathroom was good-sized too - enough for three women to share without getting on each others' nerves.

The rooms are set back from the street with a pretty lawn and there is even a pool set in a garden/orchard (actual fruit trees). The hotel isn't on the main strips of Pana which keeps it quiet but it's an easy walk (albeit on cobblestone streets) to all the shopping, restaurants, nightlife.

Breakfast included with room is the typical cuisine (eggs, refried black beans, white cheese) with a twist - a giant thick german style pancake.

This time they even had wireless internet.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank buzzinaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guatemala
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2010

When we stayed at Rancho Grande, I honestly thought that the owner must have simply used The Golden Rule as her guide for running this finely tuned oasis. From the absolutely spotless room and bath to the split wood for the fireplace, to the manicured gardens, the scrumptious & unique breakfast, the sparkling pool and a layed back owner with personality galore, I have to give it a big TEN.
Six or seven years ago, I had found this spot by chance when travelling through Guatemala. I had driven from the Toronto Canada area all the way through the United States and Mexico at the time and always remembered it as one of the highlights. At the time, my destination was Belize and Merida Mexico and back home. That's a lot of motels and hotels there and back. After all those years, I still remembered approximately where it was located. Need I say more?

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DundasOntarioFrankie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level Contributor
65 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2009

After much difficulty finding other accommodation off tripadvisor, we went past Rancho Grande. What a find. Wonderful helpful staff. The owner is a treasure. They put us in the honeymoon suite which was a lovely villa across the road from the Reception. Secure parking for the motorbike. Awesome pancakes for breakfast are a must. Easy walk into the village. The rain here is amazing and it was just great to stay at this place for 3 nights. Highly recommend and it was good value at US$45 per night.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TedandBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2009

I am fortunate to travel a great deal...world-wide...so I am always intrigued by finding and staying at hidden gems in far-away places like Panajachel. Last night and this morning we were fortunate to spend time at Matilda's immaculate Rancho Grande Inn on Rancho Grande Calle in Panajachel...sometimes referred to as Lake Atitlan.

We called from Chichi on Su to confirm availability; they did confirm, and upon arrival we were upgraded into adjoining rooms in a lovely, clean cottage with excellent WiFi, TV, comfy bed and clean bathrooms with sanitary drinking water. Need I say more, global travelers??

Give it a 5 ***** star for uniqueness, cleanliness, value and location in a part of the world that may not always understand the comforts that a weary traveler values. I especially liked the fireplace...there is something primal and comforting about a roaring fire in my bedroom after a long day's travel.

Their service is intentional...focused, on time, with a wonderful breakfast meal for those of us who eat breakfast.

Enjoy..and do visit them. You'll dig it!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LFSolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2009

Lovely room, good breakfast (especially the pancakes) and the pool was a real treat after a tough day of sightseeing. The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mibo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2009

We had a very comfortable one-night stay at the Rancho Grande, located on the street behind the ever-so-busy main street. Our spacious room (and equally spacious bathroom) were in the older part of the hotel, not in a bungalow. We had no fireplace, but did have a comfortable seating area in a glassed-in verandah just outside our room. The grounds are beautifully maintained. The pool looked very inviting, though it was too cold to swim while we were there. We agree with other reviewers that the breakfast pancakes (actually more like fritters) were excellent. The staff were friendly and helpful. For dinner, we followed Lonely Planet's advice and ate at a restaurant called Chez Alec. Don't! Although the restaurant looks very appealing, the meal was downright bad (our fish was positively raw). Although the hotel was pleasant enough, we didn't particularly like Panajachel, and much preferred our Lake Atritlan stays in Sandiago (at the Posada), in San Marcos (at Aaculaax), and at the Casa del Mundo (close to Santa Cruz).

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judyno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panajachel hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Dos Mundos
Hotel Dos Mundos
#12 of 29 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.4 mi away
Posada de los Volcanes
Posada de los Volcanes
#3 of 29 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Hotel Regis Panajachel
#5 of 29 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#4 of 29 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel San Buenaventura de Atitlan
0.5 mi away
Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho Grande Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Grande Inn

Property: Rancho Grande Inn
Address: Calle Rancho Grande, Panajachel 07010, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in Panajachel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rancho Grande Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho Grande Hotel
Rancho Grande Inn Panajachel, Lake Atitlan, Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing