We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Panajachel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I made the reservation trough expedia, i made a special request and everything was the way i requested. The staff is super friendly and nice, the hotel lobby and rooms are a bit dated, but in general ia a great place to be in. The location is excellent, the views are incredible, everything was great.

Room Tip: The top floors are the best, but if you have toddlers or small kids, there is a room in the first fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rambirulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (510)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

174 - 180 of 510 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2013

Panajachel and Lake Atitlan are among the loveliest spots in Central America. The hotel is delightful. Located near the lake and the town it is a short walk from both and from the many restaurants in town. You can take a tuk-tuk into town, but we preferred the 15 minute walk. The morning we left we met a young man in the lobby selling traditional men’s shirts. The two we bought were the nicest we had seen and at a price better than any we had found. They are a favorite reminder of one of our favorite places.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobinathens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnaMariaH561, Gerente at Porta Hotel Del Lago, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013

Dear Bobinathens.

Thank so much for your review. It pleases us that you had such an experience while visiting Panajachel and Lake Atitlan. We hope to welcome you in the near future

All the best,

Ana Maria Herbruger
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

An average hotel in a central location. The rooms are adequate. Staff at front desk and restaurant are the weaknesses. Hotel advertises a lot of amenities but not as they appear in print.
However, I'm not sure that this may be one of the best hotels available in this area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pat c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

I dined at the hotel restaurant while visiting the lovely town of Panajachel on Lake Atitlan. The selection of food was fantastic, ranging from soups and salads to vegetables, meats and rice. The freshly made tortillas were excellent, chicken was flavorful and tender, and the service was friendly and prompt. I would certainly return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edam4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

There are some minor things about this hotel that were slightly annoying (such as rusty water coming out of the bathtub, our pull out sofa was broken & construction noise on our floor), however; the staff and their attention to detail more than made up for it. The staff, the staff, the staff... AMAZING. Every single person was so kind, so helpful, so accommodating. The hotel itself is slightly dated, but the location and grounds are superb. The restaurant is excellent; we ate onsite several times for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. The food was always very tasty and served with grace. The hotel is very clean. The pool is family friendly with a volleyball net, swim toys, and a shallow kids end on one side, however; it is "solar" heated so the only drawback was that it was a bit cold for us if the sun hadn't been shining to warm it up. They have a kids playroom, and large chess boards outside which were a lot of fun for our family. This hotel is an excellent choice if you have children. It is spacious, clean, and the staff was very accommodating to the needs of a family. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: DEFINITELY upgrade to the suite. It is well worth the money...the balconies on the suites allow for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MountainFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

I happened to get a really awful throat and nose infection last time I was in Guatemala. I'm very thankful it happened while staying at the Porta Hotel in Panajachel. Those beds are really, truly fantastic. I don't think I've slept so soundly since!

The hotel is a modern design that is neither an eyesore or an architectural marvel. It has its variety of swimming pools and luxury trimmings that I did not visit. The showers in the room are marvelous but the water is a bit murky to the fact that Panajachel is still a tiny lakeside town in the middle of a bunch of volcanoes! The beds, oi, the beds. I don't ever take things from hotel rooms but I wish I could've taken those beds.

Room service was fast and the food was good. Overall a great and comfortable stay. The hotel location is really choice, so there's no reason not to visit!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roguephysicist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

The hotel is under-going renovations in the rooms right now, which they do not disclose when you book. The noise starts about 7:30 a.m. and can go as late as 5:30 p.m. I called the front desk one night to ask them to please stop and they did, but for $118 usd/night, they should only work on the rooms from maybe 10-3p.m. so guests' stays aren't so inconvenienced.

The hotel is dated but comfortable. Our room was large and had a nice view. The pool was huge, but the two jacuzzis are not kept hot, which was unfortunate since the weather was cold while we were there and that would have been nice.

Sometimes the wait staff was attentive, other times you couldn't find them or get their attention at all.

We loved the location of the hotel - right on the lake, close to town, with a pool, but wished we'd stayed another time because perhaps then we would have enjoyed our stay more.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WealthShips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panajachel hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 29 in Panajachel
823 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jardines del Lago
Jardines del Lago
#6 of 29 in Panajachel
225 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Posada de Don Rodrigo Panajachel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel San Buenaventura de Atitlan
0.3 mi away
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Hotel Regis Panajachel
#5 of 29 in Panajachel
271 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel La Riviera de Atitlan
Hotel La Riviera de Atitlan
#10 of 29 in Panajachel
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porta Hotel Del Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porta Hotel Del Lago

Address: 2 Avenida 6-17, Panajachel 07010, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Region: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Panajachel
Price Range: £72 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Porta Hotel Del Lago 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Porta Hotel Del Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porta Hotel Panajachel
Porta Hotel Del Lago Panajachel, Lake Atitlan, Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing