We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Regis Panajachel(Panajachel)(Great Value!)
US$65
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$79
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Playa Linda(Panajachel)
US$42
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jardines del Lago(Panajachel)
US$92
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$128
US$92
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Atitlan(Panajachel)
US$188
US$157
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Rancho Grande Inn(Panajachel)
US$115
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villas Balam Ya(Panajachel)
US$241
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Paradise Inn(Panajachel)
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Hotel Dos Mundos(Panajachel)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (534)
Filter reviews
534 results
Traveller rating
170
214
104
25
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
170
214
104
25
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake atitlanall inclusive packagebig poolcorner suitebreakfast buffetlarge hotelelectrical outletsno air conditioningpool areabit datedrooms face the lakestayed here for two nightsshort walklocation is excellentwould stay here againfiltered watersurrounding volcanoes
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
184 - 189 of 534 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

Very nice room with balcony and great view of the lake. Fine restaurant with even more view. The lobby has no seating but, just behind the tour desks is a "sort of lobby". Good room tv reception in our room but only iffy wi-fi. This should be improved easily by adding a booster to the roof of the center restaurant building. All the rooms are on multiple floors curved area around this building. Many foreign travelers keep touch with home by email using wi-fi on portable devices.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Casertast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnaMariaH561, Gerente at Porta Hotel Del Lago, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Dear Casertast
Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us, comments like yours are a valuable tool for our continued pursuit of excellence. We will follow up your internet service comment.
Regards
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We came to Porta Hotel while spending time on the lake for breakfast. We were staying at a villa with no breakfast included and very few activities for kids. Visiting Porta Hotel in Antigua numerous times before we kind of had an idea of what to expect. And we love the Antigua resort. So we decided to visit the one on the lake, hoping it would be just as good and full of activities for our kids.

We were surprised. It was better and had more games, bigger pool and the views were simply to die for.

Another big difference was that the breakfast was a la carte, unlike Antigua's buffet breakfast. And honestly, it was way better. Huge, homemade portions.

After we ate, we hung out for 2 hours enjoying the views of the lake while our kids burned their energy and played in the pool.

You can see better pictures of what to do and also the breakfasts served on my blog Travel Experta.

Even if you're staying in another hotel, this is a great place to kick back, eat well and have your kids totally enjoy themselves.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Travel_Experta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We were there the end of September which we learned is the start of the off season. For us it was perfect as we were looking for a relaxing trip to visit with our daughter and her friend. We arrived around dinner time and had a delicious dinner and walked around the hotel compound then called it an early night due to the long travel day. The rooms were nice and comfortable. We had a corner suite which was huge, The sliding doors to the balcony and wrap around windows surrounding it made for a breathtaking view each morning. A very nice way to wake up. The other room was a standard room but still very nice. We ate at the breakfast buffet which was delicious and complimentary. We did enjoy drinks, appetizers and dinners during our stay and all very good. My 2 complaints were: the coffee package included 2 sugars but no powdered cream. The coffee was good black but I do enjoy a dairy product also. The second complaint was there was nothing to do after dinner as far as entertainment. After walking around all day shopping, which was enjoyable, we were hoping to play bingo or some other entertainment, after dinner, to fill up the nighttime void. My daughter and her friend had played it the last time they stayed and they had a fun time. We ended up sitting near the bar area watching television for an hour before retiring early.

Room Tip: If a suite is within your budget, go for it.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbT_Phila_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnaMariaH561, Gerente at Porta Hotel Del Lago, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear BarbT_Phila_PA

We thank you for sharing your comments and observations on your experience at Porta Hotel del Lago.
We apologize for not meeting your expectations for the coffee kit in your room, we are aware that each of the comments made were taken to improve our service.

Regards
Ana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

The Porta hotel was very nice with lots of things for our energetic 7 year old boy to do, including swimming, pingpong, chess and basketball and Wii (in the kids club) All of the rooms face the lake, with beautiful views of the volcanos across the lake. The room was quiet and the beds were comfortable. The location was very good...quick walk to restaurants and shops. My only complaint is that they did not have a coffeemaker in the room. I would have given my review an additional point if they did. It would also have been nice if they had in-room safes instead of having to use a safe at the reception area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank krazyfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I made the reservation trough expedia, i made a special request and everything was the way i requested. The staff is super friendly and nice, the hotel lobby and rooms are a bit dated, but in general ia a great place to be in. The location is excellent, the views are incredible, everything was great.

Room Tip: The top floors are the best, but if you have toddlers or small kids, there is a room in the first floor right next to the kids play area.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rambirulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews