We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favorite places in Panajachel”
Review of Casa Cakchiquel

Casa Cakchiquel
Panajachel, Guatemala
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“One of my favorite places in Panajachel”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

This newly renovated Cultural Center in Panajachel has a long and fascinating history, as the former house of a Swiss Countess, where many famous people of the day stayed, and then abandoned until it was revived with new life by it's current owner. We finally have a true "Cultural Center" in Panajachel, along with a fascination museum collection of early postcards and photographs of what Lake Atitlan area looked like up to a hundred years ago.

The building houses many excellent groups, non-profits, media, radio and more, along with native handicrafts, an excellent restaurant and information for the entire community.

Be sure to stop by whenever you are in Panajachel. You won't be disappointed!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank catherine t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    5
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, BC Canada
Level Contributor
225 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Great photos of old days”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We happened upon this gem as we checked out the woman's cooperative in the same building. Owned by a very personable Swiss man he showed us around and told us about the history. This is a must do on your visit to Panajachel.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ljlp55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Like a Phoenix from the ashes, Casa Cakchiquel is emerging as the center for culture and art in Panajachel...we loved i”
Reviewed 7 December 2012

OK...we might have missed this place if it had not been for another TA reviewer that had recommended it. In fact we passed it twice and didn't even notice it. Its right next to a store that specializes in selling native crafts and art made by some of the many women's coops in the area. Its all fair trade.

The Casa was built in 1948 and was one of the first hotels on the lake and according to legend, Ernesto "Che" Guevara, Ingrid Bergman and other intellectuals, artists, painters, and writers enjoyed the house at its best. Now it has been lovingly restored and features a museum & gallery that contain Guatemala's first vintage photo and postcard collections.

A brief tour (english or spanish) come with the small admission and truly bring the house to life. Our guide was Pedro and he was perfect for the job...you can tell he loves the place as much as its owner. The Swiss owner Roberto has turned the Casa into a place for dance classes, movies at night, music, readings, art exhibitions. Roberto also displays his fantastic collection of pictures of early Panajachel. He happened to be in town while we were there so we took the chance to snap a pic of him. What an honor for us.

We are so happy we stopped here and took in some of the history of the place. We highly recommend!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panajachel, Guatemala
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Do not Miss it! in panajachel”
Reviewed 6 June 2012

You must have to visit, the first hotel all around the lake atitlan, the history started here, visit the museum of old picture, in fact its a cultural center, did you known that here spend the nigh el che gue vara, learn about the local history, tradition, art, culture among many other cultural activity.
for a short visit contac me for free!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank AdventureTourAtitlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casa Cakchiquel also viewed

Panajachel, Lake Atitlan
Panajachel, Lake Atitlan
 
Panajachel, Lake Atitlan
Panajachel, Lake Atitlan
 

Been to Casa Cakchiquel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing