We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel Great People”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Primavera

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Panajachel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Primavera
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Panajachel
california
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Hotel Great People”
Reviewed 6 September 2007

My wife and I just spent three nights at this small well appointed hotel and we enjoyed our stay immensely. The staff could not have been kinder and helpful Special kudos to Carmen, Marta, Enrique and Orlando. My wife had a bad accident in Chi Chi and we were whisked away to a hospital in Solala and cared for like we were old friends. The hotel could not be more convenient to everything. It is right on the main drag next door to restaurants ,bars, internet cafes ,and is a people watching pleasure. Room was large clean, hot water all you want. I would return there anytime and send all my friends and fellow trip advisor members.

  • Liked — location cleanliness friendliness price
  • Disliked — does not take credit cards
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank poppyseed11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    27
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
6
24
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Panajachel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2007

After many trips to Guatemala and specifically to Panajachel, I have to say the Hotel Primavera is quite simply the best value for money hotel for anyone. It is wonderfully located, perfectly clean, the beds totally comfortale, the help able and willing. The owner is German and it shows in all the details!! I heartily recommend this very pleasant, clean, safe and romantic hotel.... to anyone!!!!

  • Liked — The bed!!!!!!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank PanaItalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2007

This hotel is right on the main street and most of the rooms face that street. Weekend traffic is constant, loud, and full of diesel and gas fumes. If you stay on a weekend, be certain you have one of the few rooms in the back, or better yet, stay at a more secluded place off the main street.

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SanFranciscoBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles Ca
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2007

Primavera Hotel, though simple and spare, is very comfortable, clean and centraly located in Panajachel. The rooms facing the street can be a little noisy at night, but the inner rooms are quiet. The bathrooms are small, but clean and functional with hot and cold water. The rooms have TV with a host of satelite stations. The staff is very nice and helpful. All in all a very nice, low key hotel and a good place to stay for a day or a week.

  • Stayed May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank anrubins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2006

I booked this hotel from Xela and asked them to pick me up when I got off the bus in Panahachel. They came in less than 3 minutes. The hotel is on the main street, not far from the bus stop. Very naturally decorated. The room is new and clean, good size bed and bathroom with sky window. If you like people watching, the room facing the street has veranda and you can sit there and enjoy the view.

There is a small courtyard in the back, some customers like to sit there and hang out or have meals. The restaurant is in the front and you can have meals there too. The service is excellent, they also have laundry service.

The hotel is closer to a couple of internet cafes and clubs than to the lake side. I stayed there twice during my trip in Guatemala. With a price tag of $40, it's a steal! Much better than the more expensive ones near the lake.

Highly recommend it.

  • Liked — balcony facing the street
  • Tips/Secrets — they may give you a discount if you ask.
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank bijin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2006

Stayed at the Hotel Primavera in Panajachel in July and had a beautiful room. The staff will also do your laundry (wash, dry, and fold). It cost around $4 for one load. The rooms were large, very nice and very clean but ask for a room at the back as the main drag gets really noisy at night. Great water pressure in the shower. If you get a room in the front bring ear plugs. The advantage of a room at the front is that it is great for people watching if you have a few moments to spare. Lovely little cafe just a few doors down (towards the lake) called Chinitas. The food is great and very reasonable. Highly recommend it. Take the boat tour but be warned that if you buy anything in Santiago de Atitlan you will be swarmed. I bought some material and we were followed back to the boat by about 8 women selling huipiles. I finally bought one and then turned my back and tried to ignore them, my friend got the best deal though. They kept lowering the price and she bought one for $5. Some people get all the luck. They still didn't leave until the boat took off.

Helpful?
5 Thank MJS/CHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2006

Have just spent 3 nights here. A great little oasis, with a nice inner courtyard amongst the tourist shops of Panajachel. I paid US$30/night for a single and had a wonderful room. Clean, quiet, great bathroom, comfortable bed and cable TV. The only downside was that it didn't accept credit cards. Recommended.

2 doors away is Pana Pan, a great place to stop for pastries (muffins, croissants, bread) for breakfast.

Helpful?
14 Thank uajamesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panajachel hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Hotel Regis Panajachel
#5 of 29 in Panajachel
232 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Utz Jay
Hotel Utz Jay
#9 of 29 in Panajachel
238 reviews
0.3 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#4 of 29 in Panajachel
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Posada de los Volcanes
Posada de los Volcanes
#3 of 29 in Panajachel
271 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 29 in Panajachel
741 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Colonial & Pana Surf
Casa Colonial & Pana Surf
#10 of 29 in Panajachel
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Primavera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Primavera

Property: Hotel Primavera
Address: Calle Santander, Panajachel, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Panajachel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Primavera Hotel Panajachel
Hotel Primavera Panajachel, Lake Atitlan, Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing