We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Posada de los Volcanes
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Panajachel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2012 via mobile

This is a great place to stay!!!
The place is beautiful, clean, very comfortable bed, the best shower we had in this trip!! And the staff are soooo nice!!!
They really helped us a lot with every little question, definitely one of the best places we stayed in.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liran_el_sc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (288)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 288 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and were impressed with the hotel's service. Francisco is always helpful whether it's making shuttle reservations or providing information about Panajachel. He recommended The Deli down the street for breakfast which was excellent. At $40/night for a double (low season), it may not be the best bargain in town but definitely worth the money. The hotel is well maintained and staff are constantly working to keep it tidy.

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor which was noce. No view but listening to the birds in the trees was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BakeryBeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Be sure you ask for a room on the top floor. This hotel on the main road in "Pana" is just steps from Lago Atitlan and many suitable restaurants. It's safe and quiet (except for the ubiquitous roosters) and has free internet at the computer in the lobby.

It costs a bit more than others, but is truly clean and comfortable by U.S. standards, in addition to the great view.

We'd definitely return.

Room Tip: Top floors have views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MACventurous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Have just had a night here in April & really enjoyed this hotel.
I booked online with the hotel & the process was very easy. We also booked our transfers with the hotel - from Antigua to Panajachel & Panajachel to Antigua via Chichicastenango.
The rooms were great (very good value for money) & the staff were wonderful & helpful. The location is excellent - easy walking distance to everywhere & lots of restaurants & shopping right at the front door.
I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NettsG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

The only regret we had is that we didn't have more time to stay here. Julio was helpful and greeted us as if we were family! We had to change plans last minute due to holiday transport difficulties and things were rearranged for us with ease. I was also pleased that things were set up easily online before our trip--replies were prompt and clear. The place is very clean, well cared for, and had internet access for us free of charge. The coffee in the lobby was incredibly delicious as well. :) We had a room on the top floor which allowed us to sit out on the tables and enjoy the partial view of the lake and volcanoes. I loved being here and would like to return someday soon!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

The hotel is reasonably priced. It is located smack in the middle of the tourist district, 5 minute walk from the lake. It has internet in the lobby (which is not something to be taken for granted in Guatemala) and free secure parking a short walk away. The desk clerk that we dealt with most of the time spoke good English and was very helpful in pointing out restaurants, activities and other points of interests.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GalShadeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Posada de los Volcanes is very good overall:
- Super clean rooms
- Very helpful, English-speaking staff
- Great location, a few minutes walk from the lake, close to good restaurants and shopping
- Quick replies to my emails; thank-you, Julio!
- Very comfortable van if you book transportation through the hotel

The negatives are minor:
- Rooms are a bit small
- No elevator, so might have to walk up to your room (3 floors of rooms)
- No restaurant at the hotel, so no breakfast is included in the room rate; reasonable restaurants are a 1-minute walk away
- Fair price, but not outstanding value ($40-50/room/night); other hotels in Panajachel might be better value

Still, I would return to Posada de los Volcanes on my next trip to Lake Atitlan.

Room Tip: Ask for the ground floor if you don't walk to walk upstairs to your room (no elevator). The sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mebiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panajachel hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Hotel Regis Panajachel
#5 of 29 in Panajachel
258 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 29 in Panajachel
811 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jardines del Lago
Jardines del Lago
#6 of 29 in Panajachel
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Utz Jay
Hotel Utz Jay
#9 of 29 in Panajachel
251 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel San Buenaventura de Atitlan
0.2 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#3 of 29 in Panajachel
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada de los Volcanes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada de los Volcanes

Address: Calle Santander 5-51 | Zona 2, Panajachel 07010, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Panajachel
Price Range: £53 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small hotel with 12 luxurious rooms. and the rooms at the top you can see the Volcanoes and a few of the lake. The Posada de los Volcanes is a hotel and tour operator with transportation to all the turistic places It is a charming, quiet little motel just a block from the lake. The manager and staff are very customer oriented and make every effort to accommodate. A special addition is the motel taxi service to Chichicastenango, Antigua and Guatemala City. (Patt Hofmaster) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Posada de los Volcanes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada De Los Volcanes Panajachel, Lake Atitlan, Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing