We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice little hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Posada de los Volcanes
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Panajachel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 February 2013

I stayed here two nights in December '12. The hotel is very nice and clean. The front staff is very helpful. The only complaint I have with this hotel is that the walls are very thin, and the showers are only seperated by a thin wall that is not even ceiling high. Its not terrible but anything done in the bathroom will be heard by someon in the other rooms bathroom. Great landing spot before experiencing places on the lake.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank estudiantedomundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (287)
There are newer reviews for Posada de los Volcanes
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 287 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights at this posada. The service was excellent. The hotel is located on the main street, but the rooms are not affected by the street noise at night. The receptionist was very helpful. In addition, a long- term guest from Canada helped us with our luggage and provided recommendations for restaurants and places to visit. This is a small gem in a pleasant town by lake Atitlan,.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lgaustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Stayed here a couple of nights.

The hotel itself is pretty - has an elegant style, there's a small well-kept garden, and a good view. The rooms are quite spacious and have clean and well furnished bathrooms.

Highlights for me were: 1) the guy on reception (Fransisco, I think) was very friendly and knowledgeable, he gave us advice on how to get to places and put up with me quizzing him relentlessly on his life in Guatemala, 2) the parrot at reception, Paco, who is a delight.

The tours/shuttles that you could organise from the hotel were reasonably priced at the going rate (think they were ATI TRANS).

The location is convenient for the boats (lanchas) and is right next to where my shuttle from Antigua arrived. On the other hand, its maybe a 10-15 minute walk from the busier part of Pana town (which seemed to us to be away from the waterfront). That didn't bother us.
Its a good hotel, and you pay a premium for the service and luxury. If I was staying in Pana again, I'd stay there again.

Room Tip: Top floor probably has the best view, but there's no lift. All rooms are away from the street.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rukhru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012 via mobile

The owner is extremely nice and accommodating. The location is really nice, only a couple blocks from the lake. The rooms are cozy but really small, for the money it was perfect. Would stay here again. The only complaint I have was that in paying for the shuttle service they get over on the exchange rate so you end up paying a little more than other places. Finding private transportation in guatemala is so easy you need not use the shuttle at the hotel. But overall I was highly satisfied and truly enjoyed this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KLK241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012

This place is really pretty, and the staff are very polite and helpful. They speak good English and can set you up with pretty much anything you want to do in the area - from paragliding to trips to other cities. The location is great, as it's right on the "main" street and an easy walk to shops, restaurants, lanchas, etc. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brandon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

This is the perfect home base for exploring Panajachel and the surrounding villages. excellent breakfast and access to everything. Fracisco and Julio will take very good care of you. great wifi and excellent value. we would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

Roooms are small ,but with seating on the balcony outside it becomes a spacious place.The top floor is the best with a wonderful view on the vulcanos and glimpses of the lake through the trees.Located in the town, restaurants and shops all around. Breakfast is extra, but a choice of sevral dishes and the guatemala breakfast was great.
The staff is helpful and everything is sparkling clean. julio, the owner, became a friend!

Room Tip: Top floor has the best view
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 293982Barho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panajachel hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Hotel Regis Panajachel
#5 of 29 in Panajachel
253 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 29 in Panajachel
796 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jardines del Lago
Jardines del Lago
#6 of 29 in Panajachel
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#4 of 29 in Panajachel
470 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel San Buenaventura de Atitlan
0.1 mi away
Hotel Utz Jay
Hotel Utz Jay
#10 of 29 in Panajachel
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada de los Volcanes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada de los Volcanes

Address: Calle Santander 5-51 | Zona 2, Panajachel 07010, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Panajachel
Price Range: £38 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small hotel with 12 luxurious rooms. and the rooms at the top you can see the Volcanoes and a few of the lake. The Posada de los Volcanes is a hotel and tour operator with transportation to all the turistic places It is a charming, quiet little motel just a block from the lake. The manager and staff are very customer oriented and make every effort to accommodate. A special addition is the motel taxi service to Chichicastenango, Antigua and Guatemala City. (Patt Hofmaster) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Posada de los Volcanes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada De Los Volcanes Panajachel, Lake Atitlan, Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing