We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Place for First Visit to Pana”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Posada de los Volcanes
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Panajachel
Certificate of Excellence
Timonium, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Place for First Visit to Pana”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Posada offers a good location and great value, close enough to catch a boat on the lake, with some views from the upper room balconies. The area of town where it is located might strike you as noisy and commercialized at first, but the overall warmth and hospitality of the staff and quality of service more than off-set this. The rooms are small, but the balcony chairs and tables offer a nice porch-like expansion. The breakfasts are superb. The staff are very knowledgeable and helpful in arranging tours and transportation to suit your needs.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms are worth the stairs, with their better views towards the countryside. You might h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    95
    23
    2
    2
See reviews for
42
95
29
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We spent 3 nights here and used Pana as a base to travel to Chichi and the lake Atalin tour. Fun and friendly staff, with excellent breakfast. High speed wifi in all areas and room.

Would stay here again any time.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gwynth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

This hotel was in an excellent location to enjoy all the sights and sounds of Panajachel. The staff were very helpful and the rooms were clean and comfortable. Breakfast was a wonderful surprise each morning as it had a fresh and varied menu. Thank you to the staff for their warm welcome.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank LeslieJT55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

The lobby area is charming, and the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. The breakfast, which was included, was very good. The rooms are ordinary, and we didn't always have hot water but they were clean and suited our needs.

Room Tip: If you have heavy luggage choose a room on a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shelley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of a tour. This is a small family run hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. Rooms were basic but clean and we had a lake view from our top storey room. Breakfast was huge, fresh and tasty. We had dinner there one night and the owner-chef went to great trouble to ensure our vegetarian diet was catered for. (This proved more difficult at other places in Guatemala). Recommended.

Room Tip: Room 402 for a window view of the lake but beware there is no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coldwater, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Very homey. The staff and owners treat you like a member of the family. Paco the parrot is a wonderful asset to the hotel. The rooms are spotless, the breakfasts are delicious. A lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linfitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leucadia, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

stayed here 4 nights with friends. We booked 5 rooms. All of us agreed it was great value for the money. Rooms are basic, but not sure there are any upscale hotels in Pana anyway. Breakfast was great. We loved the tropical choice...a huge bowl of fruit with youghurt and granola. Very filling and tasty. The staff, especially Julio, were very accommodating and friendly. We hired Julio to take us to Chichi for the sunday market. He stayed with us to see the church and guided us thru the maze to get to the indoor market. The hotel is on the main street and was a bit noisy, but I discovered after spending another 10 days in other parts of Guatemala, that you can't avoid the roosters crowing at 4am or the motorcycles revving their engines at 6am or the fireworks that go off whenever they want. comes with the territory.

Room Tip: they told us ask for rooms in the back, but it really doesn't matter. Bring ear plugs. Best tip...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MayanNawa13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panajachel hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Hotel Regis Panajachel
#4 of 29 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.2 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#5 of 29 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 29 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Jardines del Lago
Jardines del Lago
#6 of 29 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Colonial & Pana Surf
Casa Colonial & Pana Surf
#10 of 29 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Utz Jay
Hotel Utz Jay
#9 of 29 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada de los Volcanes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada de los Volcanes

Property: Posada de los Volcanes
Address: Calle Santander 5-51 | Zona 2, Panajachel 07010, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Region: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Panajachel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small hotel with 12 luxurious rooms. and the rooms at the top you can see the Volcanoes and a few of the lake. The Posada de los Volcanes is a hotel and tour operator with transportation to all the turistic places It is a charming, quiet little motel just a block from the lake. The manager and staff are very customer oriented and make every effort to accommodate. A special addition is the motel taxi service to Chichicastenango, Antigua and Guatemala City. (Patt Hofmaster) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Posada de los Volcanes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada De Los Volcanes Panajachel, Lake Atitlan, Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing