We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Posada de los Volcanes
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Panajachel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 January 2014

This was a nice little hotel on the main street in Panajachel. The staff was warm, friendly, and accommodating. Breakfast (included in the rate) was excellent. The staff arranges all tours and was so helpful. Only complaint was that the night club nearby was a bit noisy. If you're staying in Pana this is a great place.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JordanWard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 290 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014

It's been over four years since I stayed at this "Inn" and was very happy to return. In these days when things get more and more expensive, at the Posasa de los volcanes, while the price did increase slightly, their services did as well. Now, they've added a breakfast room and breakfast in included at no extra charge. I was welcomed by Francisco, the desk clerk, who remembered me by name. Later, the owner greeted me as well, and welcomed me back. With this friendly service how could you not feel at home? I have a meeting to attend in Antiqua, but decided to return here for another 4 nights after the meeting. Convenient to everything, reasonable prices, and great service makes this a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Some views of the lake from the 2nd and third floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SoyAmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

First, my advice is to try to limit your stay in Panajachel to a minimum. The place truly is a backpacker hell, only comparable to Khao San in Bangkok and Thamel in Kathmandu.

The hotel is right at the heart of this hell, on incredibly busy and noisy Santander street. As a result, the rooms are also noisy, especially during the daytime. During the nights, fortunately, it is quite calm.

Looks like the decent hotel options are limited in this town, so this hotel is a fine choice. I paid $70 for my tiny single room (a bit on expensive side?). The best thing about this hotel - and probably the reason it is so highly ranked in Tripadvisor - is that the service is so efficient and superfriendly. Not many guests have heart to leave anything than positive feedback...

Try to get a room on the top floor, they have some views.

But, most importantly, try to get out of town as fast as possible, to the smallest possible villages around the lakes.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank Hulivili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Stayed in Panajachel in November 2013 with a grown up family of six.

At short notice Julio agreed to collect us from Antigua which was absolutely worthwhile. Arrived to find it perfectly located close to the waterfront and its restaurants and on the shopping street which kept our retail tragics very happy.

Staff were fantastic, arranged our private lake tour with a wonderful English speaking guide and a private transfer to the obligatory ChiChi Markets and even early breakfast so we could meet out transfer times and get that great photo shot on the road in the early morning.

Rooms are rustic & clean with a small shared balcony area on every level for a late afternoon drink.

With all the restaurants no more than five minutes walk, would not think of changing when we return and we will return because Panajchel & Lake Atitlan are one of the surprise locations that can only be understood when you stay here. Don't ever change !

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

My friend and I stayed here for 4 nights in November 2013. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. The hotel is in a great location, close to many restaurants, as well as a short walk to the lake and the boat launches. They offer several choices for breakfast, all of which was delicious! My only complaint would be the noise - I was woken up by a rooster in the morning....but that wasn't anything the hotel could control, and I imagine there would be the same problem in many other places! On the bright side, I didn't have to set my alarm clock!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Octobergal78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We stayed here in November 2012 for my husband's first time to Pana and Atitlan. The location can't be beat. It is easy to take a public boat and explore the lake from here.

The rooms are clean and cozy with private bathrooms. The staff is excellent! They were so friendly and helpful. Every time we came back from an excursion, they greeted us or asked if we needed anything. The hotel also has internet with a desktop computer that you can use. This was helpful for making our reservation in the next town. If you are looking for a good home base while at Lake Atitlan, this is a great choice.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hfesha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I spend one night here at the beginning of my trip to Guatemala. They picked me up at the airport right on time and drove out to Lake Aititlan. The rooms are small, but for one person, it was more than adequate. They have a lovely staff and they answered every possible question that I had about the area and tips on places to eat and the boats to other parts of the Lake. The WiFi was mostly reliable and the breakfast was perfect. Super great place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NCGatorGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panajachel hotels
0.2 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#3 of 29 in Panajachel
509 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Hotel Regis Panajachel
#5 of 29 in Panajachel
269 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel San Buenaventura de Atitlan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Jardines del Lago
Jardines del Lago
#6 of 29 in Panajachel
225 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Utz Jay
Hotel Utz Jay
#10 of 29 in Panajachel
251 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 29 in Panajachel
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada de los Volcanes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada de los Volcanes

Address: Calle Santander 5-51 | Zona 2, Panajachel 07010, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Panajachel
Price Range: £52 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small hotel with 12 luxurious rooms. and the rooms at the top you can see the Volcanoes and a few of the lake. The Posada de los Volcanes is a hotel and tour operator with transportation to all the turistic places It is a charming, quiet little motel just a block from the lake. The manager and staff are very customer oriented and make every effort to accommodate. A special addition is the motel taxi service to Chichicastenango, Antigua and Guatemala City. (Patt Hofmaster) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Posada de los Volcanes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada De Los Volcanes Panajachel, Lake Atitlan, Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing