We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet place just out of town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Posada Los Encuentros
Ranked #7 of 34 Panajachel B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
250 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Quiet place just out of town”
Reviewed 2 June 2012

The room was quite nice with a small porch outside with a hammock and a garden area surrounding all the cabins. The pool was not exactly a pool – not quite sure what it was, an oversized bathtub with murky water but didn’t detract from the stay. Breakfast was a bit or a disappointment – some coffee, juice and toast but again not a massive issue as we weren’t really expecting anything anyway!! The location was just outside of town but tuktuks were a really cheap fixed cost to go anywhere. A nice place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesF_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    26
    6
    5
    3
See reviews for
17
31
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

The proprietor of Los Encuentros, Richard, is an interesting man, very pleasant to interact with; and the place he has made here, having begun with the purchase of a large old house, is a perfectly secure, relatively quiet, thoroughly comfortable place to stay. The only noise came from the occasionally barking dogs, and where in Central America will you be free from those?

Though Los Encuentros is perhaps a little far from the primary pitch of shops and restaurants, it takes only fifteen minutes to walk; and the plentiful tuk-tuks have a very low, set fee for travel within the town/village, which is just 5 Quetzales, as I recall; or is it 10? Hardly anything, considering. Less than a buck. We were actually grateful to be a little ways away from the main commercial district.

Our room had a TV (not that we could find anything worth watching on it--no English language news, for example); a good-sized fridge; a comfortable bed; attractive, rustic furniture; and a nice bathroom. Had we chosen to, we could have sat out on our little porch, where there were a couple of chairs and a table with a candle.

Richard has a hot-tub of sorts, fed by a natural supply of thermal waters, changed every other day and perfectly clean and pleasant on the day that we decided to have our evening's rum, lime and limca there. Very nice!

I confess that the garden between the area of outlying rooms and the main building for me has no charm: it is filled by raised, heavily-constructed stone planting areas for indigenous plants and other things of intellectual interest, perhaps, though not much to look at. This is a minor thing and did not at all detract from our pleasure in our stay.

Getting potable water is always a concern, and you should know that Richard and his long-time helpers keep you well supplied with bottled drinking water (there's a five-gallon jug, for your exclusive use, on the porch of your room, if you have one laid out like ours).

Good luck to Richard and Los Encuentros!

P.S. The Circus Bar & Restaurant has live music every night, at least during the high season. This is really pleasant.
P.P.S. Make the effort to get to Santiago de Atitlan, across the lake, on market day. It is wonderful to see so many people, even the men, in native attire, and the market itself is as lively as can be.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EscapistNever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
129 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Lovely garden and well decorated guest lounge. Rooms OK and water hot.
Just a little bit in need of some tlc.
The room TV is just a blur for example. And WIFI doesnt work in the room.
It is a bit out of town so not noisy except for the dogs in the street that sleep by day and howl at night. You need to take a tuk tuk back after dark.
The owner and staff are a delight.

Room Tip: Great views from the higher rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewtLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Pana is a tourist Mecca! While the lake is beautiful you need to wade through countless tourist shops and other nonsense to see the beauty. The nice thing about this B and B is the location if you are looking for a quiet laid back place. That, combined with the price made it a great stay. If you are expecting white glove service you need to look elsewhere.

Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Drunkmuppet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We were welcomed very warmly by Richard and appreciated his advice and recommendations during the 3 days we spent there.
Our room was cozy, comfortable and clean. Breakfast was continental style which suited us fine as it gave us a bit of a break from the usual central American fare.
A great value budget stay overall.
The highlight for me was Richard's 2 adorable black Labradors. They are getting on a bit in age but are so much fun to play with and very friendly. Do make sure you make some time for them!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AandK111209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managua
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Posada los Encuentros is a marvelous location for a relaxed, low-key getaway from the city (for expats and Guatemaltecos alike) and for foreign travelers trekking through Guatemala. The Posada has a cozy, family feel and all the amenities necessary for a comfortable stay. Richard Morgan's expertise of the lake area is incomparable.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeoTeacherCentroAm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 November 2011

A "must stay" at this wonderful Bed & Breakfast. I spent three weeks and loved it every minute. Located in the Guatemalan highlands, with easy access to a "real" Mayan cultural experience and pristine natural sorroundings, Panajachel is a very friendly and colorful place to visit and enjoyed by singles and families. Their facilities are most comfortable. Richard (owner) and his friendly staff make of your stay a wonderful experience. And, if you need information about Mayan culture and great places to visit, Richard most definetely can provide that to you. I highly recommend you stay at Posada "Los Encuentros" when visiting Panajachel, Guatemala.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hugo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panajachel hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Hotel Regis Panajachel
#4 of 29 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.6 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#5 of 29 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Playa Linda
Hotel Playa Linda
#13 of 29 in Panajachel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Casa Colonial & Pana Surf
Casa Colonial & Pana Surf
#10 of 29 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.6 mi away
Posada de los Volcanes
Posada de los Volcanes
#3 of 29 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 29 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Los Encuentros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Los Encuentros

Property: Posada Los Encuentros
Address: Callejon Chotzar 0-41 | Bario Jucanya, Panajachel 07010, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Panajachel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our center is both: an intimate 7-room lodge (some suites) of first-world standards with relaxing lounge, wood-burning sauna, well-equipped fitness center, and the most complete medicinal plant garden in the Lake Atitlan basin; coupled with an eco-cultural oriented travel service that offers programs in physical and spiritual well-being and opportunities to interface directly with Mayan culture, to include visits to the homes of shaman, artists and artisans and workshops in art and weaving. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Posada Los Encuentros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Los Encuentros Panajachel, Lake Atitlan, Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing