We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Makes you feel at home!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Posada Los Encuentros
Ranked #7 of 35 Panajachel B&B and Inns
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Makes you feel at home!”
Reviewed 5 December 2012

A very nice and quiet place, a 10 mn walk from Santander. Absolute pros: very friendly and helpful owner, Richard Morgan. Clean rooms. Spacious rooms, ask for room nr 9! Simple but good breakfast. And a beautiful garden. In case you like fitness: this place has all the equipment to stay in shape!
Cons: the nice and hot shower sometimes turns cold for no particular reason. For us not a problem at all, but we had no roomkeeping.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    26
    6
    5
    3
See reviews for
17
31
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

This little posada lies on a back street of Panajachel, just north of spectacular Lago Atitlan. We were driving a rental car and couldn't find the hotel, but a local taxi (tuk-tuk) driver led us right to it for seven quetzales. Our room turned out to be in a tower decorated with Mayan motifs. It overlooked the central garden, and there were stairs to the roof, where there were views of the lake and its towering volcanoes. The breakfast nook had tables cleverly constructed on top of old Singer sewing machines, looked out into the garden full of tropical flowers and fluttering birds. We heard parrots flying overhead one morning, but the primary bird sounds were of chickens in neighboring backyards. Overall it was a lovely place, and we'd definitely go there again.

Room Tip: The tower room is delightful, but the sounds of roosters crowing are a little louder.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ejschmahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We stayed at Posada Los Encuentros for a few nights in May. The room was very spacious with 3 beds and a large bathroom. The beds were comfortable and we slept quite well in spite of roosters that crowed around 3:30 a.m. (I had ear plugs.) The location was very convenient even though it was not on a main street. It rained a fair amount while we were in Panajachel, and we found the tuctucs to be a wonderful, inexpensive form of transportation. It was only a short walk from Posada Los Encuentros to get a tuctuc and the cost to locations on main streets was about $1.30 in US dollars. The staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was on a upper floor and getting the hot water to the room took awhile. But after we learned that we had to wait about 2 minutes before the water was hot, it was no problem. The breakfast was very basic, but was included in the cost, and we found it to be sufficient.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankieTheLion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

The room was quite nice with a small porch outside with a hammock and a garden area surrounding all the cabins. The pool was not exactly a pool – not quite sure what it was, an oversized bathtub with murky water but didn’t detract from the stay. Breakfast was a bit or a disappointment – some coffee, juice and toast but again not a massive issue as we weren’t really expecting anything anyway!! The location was just outside of town but tuktuks were a really cheap fixed cost to go anywhere. A nice place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesF_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

The proprietor of Los Encuentros, Richard, is an interesting man, very pleasant to interact with; and the place he has made here, having begun with the purchase of a large old house, is a perfectly secure, relatively quiet, thoroughly comfortable place to stay. The only noise came from the occasionally barking dogs, and where in Central America will you be free from those?

Though Los Encuentros is perhaps a little far from the primary pitch of shops and restaurants, it takes only fifteen minutes to walk; and the plentiful tuk-tuks have a very low, set fee for travel within the town/village, which is just 5 Quetzales, as I recall; or is it 10? Hardly anything, considering. Less than a buck. We were actually grateful to be a little ways away from the main commercial district.

Our room had a TV (not that we could find anything worth watching on it--no English language news, for example); a good-sized fridge; a comfortable bed; attractive, rustic furniture; and a nice bathroom. Had we chosen to, we could have sat out on our little porch, where there were a couple of chairs and a table with a candle.

Richard has a hot-tub of sorts, fed by a natural supply of thermal waters, changed every other day and perfectly clean and pleasant on the day that we decided to have our evening's rum, lime and limca there. Very nice!

I confess that the garden between the area of outlying rooms and the main building for me has no charm: it is filled by raised, heavily-constructed stone planting areas for indigenous plants and other things of intellectual interest, perhaps, though not much to look at. This is a minor thing and did not at all detract from our pleasure in our stay.

Getting potable water is always a concern, and you should know that Richard and his long-time helpers keep you well supplied with bottled drinking water (there's a five-gallon jug, for your exclusive use, on the porch of your room, if you have one laid out like ours).

Good luck to Richard and Los Encuentros!

P.S. The Circus Bar & Restaurant has live music every night, at least during the high season. This is really pleasant.
P.P.S. Make the effort to get to Santiago de Atitlan, across the lake, on market day. It is wonderful to see so many people, even the men, in native attire, and the market itself is as lively as can be.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EscapistNever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Lovely garden and well decorated guest lounge. Rooms OK and water hot.
Just a little bit in need of some tlc.
The room TV is just a blur for example. And WIFI doesnt work in the room.
It is a bit out of town so not noisy except for the dogs in the street that sleep by day and howl at night. You need to take a tuk tuk back after dark.
The owner and staff are a delight.

Room Tip: Great views from the higher rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewtLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Pana is a tourist Mecca! While the lake is beautiful you need to wade through countless tourist shops and other nonsense to see the beauty. The nice thing about this B and B is the location if you are looking for a quiet laid back place. That, combined with the price made it a great stay. If you are expecting white glove service you need to look elsewhere.

Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Drunkmuppet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panajachel hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Hotel Regis Panajachel
#5 of 29 in Panajachel
244 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Playa Linda
Hotel Playa Linda
#14 of 29 in Panajachel
84 reviews
0.6 mi away
Posada de los Volcanes
Posada de los Volcanes
#3 of 29 in Panajachel
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#4 of 29 in Panajachel
451 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jardines del Lago
Jardines del Lago
#6 of 29 in Panajachel
213 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Utz Jay
Hotel Utz Jay
#9 of 29 in Panajachel
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Los Encuentros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Los Encuentros

Property: Posada Los Encuentros
Address: Callejon Chotzar 0-41 | Bario Jucanya, Panajachel 07010, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Panajachel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our center is both: an intimate 7-room lodge (some suites) of first-world standards with relaxing lounge, wood-burning sauna, well-equipped fitness center, and the most complete medicinal plant garden in the Lake Atitlan basin; coupled with an eco-cultural oriented travel service that offers programs in physical and spiritual well-being and opportunities to interface directly with Mayan culture, to include visits to the homes of shaman, artists and artisans and workshops in art and weaving. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Posada Los Encuentros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Los Encuentros Panajachel, Lake Atitlan, Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing