We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place in a not so great town”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Utz Jay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Utz Jay
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Panajachel
Sofia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“A great place in a not so great town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

The place is very comfortable, quiet, has a beautiful garden with lots of options to sit and enjoy a drink. They provide enough information, organize the usual tours for you, but well and reliable. It is a haven in the otherwise commercial and gray Panajachel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nocturne27p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    90
    27
    14
    7
See reviews for
33
94
42
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antigua, Guatemala
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

I have stayed in the Hotel Utz Jay during my trips to Atitlan. It has always been a comfortable stay. The people who owrk there are very nice and accommodating. The breakfast is served on premise in a nice patio....it's a good breakfast, coffee right outside your room....yes there is a charge, it's worth it. The also have a sauna you can reserve, very pleasurable, nice stay always.

Room Tip: I can only say, I never had a room that wasnt comfortable at Utz Jay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama
Level Contributor
102 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

We thought breakfast was included so we paid for a double, but we sleep in one bed and did not get any breakfast. So we felt cheated and fooled.

Hot water was in the reverse so it took us some time to figure it out.

Room (#10) was great with private bathroom. Nice terrace with no view . Internet and cable TV was the BEST.

We did not like the toilet paper dispenser. It was very inconvenient.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stanvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio Dulce, Guatemala
Level Contributor
134 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed here during our visit to Lake Atitlan. A great value with breakfast included. Several bungalow style rooms spread out on the property amongst the garden. Wi-Fi, & cable TV included. Just a block off the main street and short walk to the docks. A great location and a great price. Plenty of HOT water for showers, they provide a pitcher of drinking water in your room. Would recommended this place to any one stayin overnight in Panajachel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alice K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wake Forest, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Had a very nice time at this hotel. It is located off of the main drag in town. The staff were extremely friendly and courteous. The owner has 2 German Shepherd dogs that are very friendly and play well with children. Breakfast was included with the room and was very good.

Room Tip: Ooops. No pool to review and couldn't remove it from rating. The rooms at the back of the prop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 40LifeBeginsAt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

We spent 4 nights at Hotel Utz Jay while visiting Lake Atitlan. The hotel is in a very good location - close to the main street & the two ferry points in Panajachel.

We had a upstairs room with balcony, which was nice to come back to and relax. The room was of average size with a double & single bed and private bathroom. The water is not drinkable or usable for brushing teeth, so a large jug of filtered water is left in your room each day. Breakfast was included in our room rate and there is a vast selection on offer, freshly made to order.

Having visited other towns around Lake Atitlan, I would suggest only staying in Panajachel if you really have to. There are more interesting towns such as San Pedro to stay in. If you do stay in Pana, Hotel Utz Jay is a good option.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FushNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

Awesome hotel with helpful staff and lush, relaxing garden! Close to the market and lake shore, but very quiet and tranquil. The breakfast option in the morning was a definite plus. ///////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cnmhouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panajachel hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Hotel Regis Panajachel
#5 of 29 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Posada de los Volcanes
Posada de los Volcanes
#3 of 29 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Playa Linda
Hotel Playa Linda
#13 of 29 in Panajachel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#4 of 29 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Colonial & Pana Surf
Casa Colonial & Pana Surf
#10 of 29 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jardines del Lago
Jardines del Lago
#6 of 29 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Utz Jay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Utz Jay

Property: Hotel Utz Jay
Address: Calle 2-50 5, Panajachel 07010, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Panajachel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel located near the main shopping and businesses, but in a quiet street, perfect location. There are rooms spread out through a lush tropical garden, from which one can relax and enjoy watching the birds (over 25 varieties), exotic plants and beautiful trees. Each room is decorated with handcrafted native motif and has a private bathroom with plenty of hot water 24 hrs., TV with cable and free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Utz Jay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Utz Jay Hotel
Hotel Utz Jay Panajachel, Lake Atitlan, Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing