We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modest but charming hotel”
Review of Hotel K'amol B'ey

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Panajachel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel K'amol B'ey
Ranked #22 of 29 Hotels in Panajachel
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Modest but charming hotel”
Reviewed 1 February 2012

I stayed here for three nights in January as part of a group. Out of the four places we stayed, this was my favorite. The rooms are modest and clean, the garden is absolutely beautiful, there are plastic chairs outside every room (the second floor rooms share a long balcony), the rooftop of the main building is accessible with a few tables to sit at and a nice view, and if you have your meals there (like we did) you're in for a treat. The best food of our whole trip was at this hotel. They've got free wi-fi, and they are an easy walk from the main drag in Panajachel. The staff was very helpful. It seems to be near a school and a couple of other things that were occasionally noisy, so if you're a sensitive sleeper, bring ear plugs. I'm not super-sure about the value because I didn't pay for my room, but I'm guessing it's a pretty good bargain.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brasilicana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    20
    18
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
10
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

Compared to some of the budget places we stayed in Guatemala this was one of the best. Rooms are comfy with good bathrooms and nice terrace at the top with a lovely view. The outside is also very pretty with a lovely garden to sit in during the evenings. We were with a large group so they offered breakfast for us which was average but I'm not sure if they offer it to everyone.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobzmoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
1,161 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 559 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

I stayed in the Kámol Bey as part of a GAP tour and found this to be the cleanest hotel I stayed in of the whole trip. The rooms are small as one reviewer says butt hey are immaculately kept with a decent bathroom and TV. It was a really nice place to relax in too with a nice garden and roof top terrace.
It is about 3 mind walk from the shore of Lake Atitlan. It is a good 15 minute walk from the centre of Panajachel where most of the restaurants and bars are but as I said, it is righ ton th elake and there are plent yof places to eat nearby.
The hotel does not have things like room service or a bar or restaurant but it doesnt matter as there is plenty of life by the lake shore... at least by day.
Well worth a stay, it is such a nice, homely place. It is so quiet at night too, a great pace to get a good nights sleep. Cheap and cherful too which helps!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Bozeman-Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
125 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2010

bathroom clean, warm water, a few ants but i advice the hotel. 27 usd in april 2010.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guduains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sacramento
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2007

We wanted to stay at one of the highly recommended hotels in Panajachel but had no luck in
getting a room without reservations on June 22, 2007. We were referred to the Hotel K'amol
B'ey by another hotel. It is a very pleasant place located in a somewhat out of the way
location. The hotel is close to the boat docks where you can pick up the round-the-lake
boat tour but is down a back lane.

The room was small with two twin beds, a TV and a nice bathroom. Although the room was
small, it was very clean and cheerful with Mayan textiles on the beds and window. The room
was $25.00 per night, tax included.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank green_stripes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panajachel hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Utz Jay
Hotel Utz Jay
#11 of 29 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Colonial & Pana Surf
Casa Colonial & Pana Surf
#10 of 29 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Playa Linda
Hotel Playa Linda
#13 of 29 in Panajachel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#15 of 29 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jardines del Lago
Jardines del Lago
#6 of 29 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Hotel Regis Panajachel
#5 of 29 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel K'amol B'ey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel K'amol B'ey

Property: Hotel K'amol B'ey
Address: Final Calle Ramos, Playa Publica, Panajachel 07010, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 29 Hotels in Panajachel
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Hotel K'Amol B'Ey Panajachel, Lake Atitlan, Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing