We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“between terrible to poor” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Kakchiquel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Panajachel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Kakchiquel
Ranked #26 of 30 Hotels in Panajachel
Cancun, Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“between terrible to poor”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

I slept there only 1 night: the room was noisy all night long, people coming and going at all hours of the night, slamming doors, the beds were absolutely a nightmare and the sheet of one bed were not clean. Wi-Fi not working even in the reception area (they told us it wont work in the room).The staff was accommodating though, and they even managed to serve breakfast at 6am before leaving.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank gotamcity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    18
    30
    20
    12
See reviews for
18
16
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palmdale, California
Level Contributor
115 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

First the positive--the staff was very responsive and super accommodating. The bed was comfortable.

Then there was the issue of noise. We were located in room 208 which overlooks a back street. On the first floor of the building across the street was a local tienda. On the third floor was a church. They held worship service until 12 midnight on a Saturday night. Thankfully I had earplugs, but it was a big much. I could also hear others from my group through my closed window. They had the room directly above mine.

The shower had a widowmaker (electrical line that goes straight to the shower head to heat the water there) that didn't work. Cold showers for me!

Room Tip: Some of the rooms don't have windows. Stay away from any of the rooms that overlook the back st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hek1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

I've stayed here twice because I have been with a group that was bringing supplies to a
local project. The odor in the room the last time was terrible--I'm talking some kinda
extra strength bug killer! Two of our group had to leave their room because of this and take a room that did not have hot water shower(so they used ours). the hotel furnished a fan to blow
the fumes out of their room but this did not work. The hotel said the odor was from
cleaning supplies but I've been exposed to DDT years ago and I think they used something
like that and it was NOT for cleaning. The rooms are very large, dingy & painted dark colors,& have windows that are very high up and not useful. I will stay elsewhere next time I'm in Pana!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JillieH66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Panajachel hotels

Colorado
Level Contributor
111 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

We staying here for one night, the view from our hotel was the next house with a bunch of trash on their ceiling, there was a lot of noise from the floor below where we could hear the phone ringing and the washing machines going.....There wasn´t hot water in our room and the room wasn´t in good shape, outside of our room all the couches had holes on it.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mgmpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virginia
Level Contributor
799 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

Since my 21 member group does not fit into my favorite Pana hotel, Hotel Utz Hay, we stayed at this larger place. All rooms were very clean and nicely appointed.

Pros: big clean rooms, nice towels, friendly staff

Cons: noisy hotel (you can the conversations of folks in other rooms). My side of the hall had great, hot water showers, while the other side of the hall had COLD showers.

The staff could not be nicer with excellent CUSTOMER SERVICE. They gave us a free room to store our luggage for the day. They even let a sick team member stay there for free.

A continental breakfast was included with the price of the room. It was good with excellent coffee.

We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luke47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
396 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2012

Stayed here after our reservation at the Posada de Don Rodrigo was bumped. This was part of a tour with Friendly Planet. We were supposed to stay at the Don Rodrigo both nights but were diverted to this hotel the first night......not a pleasant experience. The first room we went into hadn't been cleaned. Dog hair, cheetos, and dirty towels on the beds.....the girlfriend was very tired and not pleased in the slightest. The second room was apparently clean but not much better. We ended up going back to the original room after the cleaning crew (one of the night crew) went through it. The smell of the cleaner was a little strong and we spent a fitful night there. The rooms are big, with three beds. I've seen better bathrooms in a fraternity. If you're college kids looking for a cheap place to stay, this would be perfect. Otherwise, look elsewhere.

Room Tip: None of the rooms we saw were any better than the others
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Curtis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodcliff Lake, New Jersey
Level Contributor
105 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

I visited Pana a couple weeks ago on a dental mission. The hotel was very average and I don't mean this as a negative, rather for the price I was pleasantly surprised. The rooms were clean. No bugs and clean linens and towels. A pleasant experience.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panajachel hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Utz Jay
Hotel Utz Jay
#10 of 30 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.1 mi away
Posada de los Volcanes
Posada de los Volcanes
#3 of 30 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Real Santander
Hotel Real Santander
#21 of 30 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Casa Colonial & Pana Surf
Casa Colonial & Pana Surf
#11 of 30 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Dos Mundos
Hotel Dos Mundos
#13 of 30 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Playa Linda
Hotel Playa Linda
#16 of 30 in Panajachel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kakchiquel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kakchiquel

Property: Hotel Kakchiquel
Address: Calle Santander, Panajachel, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 30 Hotels in Panajachel
Number of rooms: 31
Also Known As:
Kakchiquel Hotel Panajachel
Hotel Kakchiquel Panajachel, Lake Atitlan, Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing