We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience”
Review of Posada de Santiago

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santiago Atitlan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Posada de Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent experience”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

This is the best kept secret at Lake Atitlan. You may have to cross the lake from Panachel to get there, but that in itself is part of the charm of going. You can also drive around the lake to Santiago. However, taking a boat is awesome as you cross the waters surrounded by three volcanos.
Once you get there, the hotel has excellent food. You might not be served fast… but you are not there to be in a hurry! Everything is worth the wait. Bring a book and slow down! The food is very healthy and delicious. The staff is very friendly and helpful. One of the best views of the volcano is in the hot tub by the swimming pool, with a cocktail. We go there every year for Christmas/New Years and love it. The rooms are rustic and surrounded by a magical tropical fauna that really makes you feel a million miles away from wherever you came from. There is a massage room too for additional relaxation. Private stone bungalows with fire places, or group housing available.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cuinhellbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    55
    15
    5
    4
See reviews for
82
102
24
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I love staying here. The cottages, food and drinks are consistently wonderful, but the best part is always the hospitality at the Posada.

They have recently added a lakeside bar to complement the jacuzzi & pool, which are already amazing by themselves.

I highly recommend crossing the lake to get away from the touristic scene.

On a cultural note, do remember that he community is low key and conservative so do dress and act respectfully when out and about town.

Room Tip: The website provides a very accurate description of what's what room-wise. It's in a quiet p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 100_NicS_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
84 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

A lot of time and care has gone into making every aspect of your experience staying at Posada de Santiago great. The grounds are lush, green, and full of flowers. Every direction you look is just beautiful, whether you're coming down the drive or sitting in the jacuzzi staring at Volcan San Pedro.

Our bedroom was clean and quaint, and we really enjoyed the fireplace and the wood provided for us when it got chilly one night! (Though half the fun was the novelty of using a real fireplace).

The restaurant was phenomenal--every meal we had was above par, and the prices weren't bad. We planned to eat only breakfast and dinner at the restaurant, but ended up eating all 3 meals there both days that we stayed. It was worth it.

The atmosphere is great too. Staff is friendly and willing to help, giving information about setting up hikes or hiring a boat to take you to another village on the lake. (Though something to note: we found that it would have been cheaper to hire our own guide for a hike not through the hotel. But the hotel's guide we ended up going with was fantastic--personable, knowledgeable, and he took care of us; even had tuk tuks waiting when we emerged from the forest to take us back to the hotel!)

My tip to you: if you stay, be sure to visit the restaurant's bathroom and read the information on the back of the stall door. The owner has typed up a list of all of the famous people who have stopped at the inn and included his commentary on their visits. It cracks me up! Perhaps my favorite: "Ashley Judd--I cannot lie. She did not stay here. She did not eat here. She used the bathroom and left." Hey, you could sit on the same toilet seat that Ashley Judd once used! Doesn't that make you want to visit?

Room Tip: Casa Rosa is right next to the restaurant, which makes for a short walk, as is the Junior Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShiningHalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

Food was awesome ! Different and healthy meal every night as well as breakfast! Staff was very friendly and helpful! Beautiful grounds as well. Will warn you that WIFI goes off from 630 to 830 every evening ! For some this can be frustrating , but I have to admit it was a breath of fresh air as you forced to just simply enjoy you meal and the company of others without distractions ! If you are in the area this one is recommended! The rooms are cottages and pretty different in a good way.... Well done!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

My husband and I spent three nights here as part of our honeymoon. We truly enjoyed our stay. I think it was an excellent choice for us. Food was excellent...we didn't even want to eat anywhere else. The grounds are gorgeous and our cabin was cozy. Unfortunately because of the time of year we were there it was a bit too rainy and cold to swim or enjoy being poolside too much but it's an incredible view from the pool and easy to get around town from.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S-Aq12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

I have traveled to Guatemala for several years doing mission work, nothing beats the feeling of the Posada. There are hotels with nice views, and poor food, or vice versa. But the Posada has managed to serve great food and provide really nice rooms with amazing views. Even if you DON'T get a lake view room, the gardens are beautiful and very well kept. The birds singing in the morning add to the special feel. The lounge area by the pool is great and sitting in the solar heated hot tub gives you probably one of the best views of your life - especially in the evening. We appreciate the owner and his staff - they consistently try to provide fun and friendly service. Thanks David for a maintaining a great property with wonderful character, and your very caring attitude!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mary s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Anyone traveling to Guatemala would be missing something spectacular if they didn't take the detour down to Lake Atitlan. A pretty quick ride from Antigua, the Lake is regarded as one of the most breathtaking places in the world...and rightly so. The towns that dot the coast of the lake are rich with culture, entertainment, and natural beauty.

Although we spent nearly a week on the lake--part of the time in a hostel in San Pedro (which was fine)--some of the most memorable moments of our stay were the lazy afternoons we sat by the pool at Posada de Santiago.

The Posada has maybe a dozen rooms, mostly cabins or cottages with working fireplaces and plenty of hot water. As soon as you arrive, you will be entranced by the local vegitation that decorates the grounds, the wildlife, the amazing views of a volcano directly across the lake, and some of the most personable service you will find in Central America.

I think the Posada is shooting for an atmosphere, even a philosophy. The philosophy is to slow down, take in what's around you, and enjoy the pleasures of life. My girlfriend and I bought into that philosophy real quick. One night my girlfriend and I just sat at the poolside bar and chatted with the bartender, Otto, for hours. It was an extremely pleasant evening, and you'll have lots of those if you stay here.

Now for the nitty gritty:
-Food service is exceptional. Quality dining and you can have food served wherever you like.
-The grounds are exceptionally beautiful. Extremely romantic.
-Easily accessible to other parts of the lake either by the public ferry leaving from Santiago (under a dollar to get there by tuk-tuk) or a private launcha (from Posada's private dock).
-The rooms are clean and full of amenities: hammock, fireplace, hot water, etc.

So, as you can see, this place deserves a 5.

The only reason I have to dock it (and I hate doing this), is because a rat got into our cottage one night. I'd like to say I kept some composure, but I screamed a little--and had trouble sleeping the remaining nights of my stay there. The upside is that this was great news for the staff--apparently some of the Mayan cultures eat rat as a delicacy!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 511PhilW511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DJGSant, Owner at Posada de Santiago, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
When I inquired about this, the night watchman, Ricardo, told me it was a squirrel that ran into a room. Some people actually the scrawny little squirrels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santiago Atitlan
1.2 mi away
Hotel and Restaurant Bambu
Hotel and Restaurant Bambu
#2 of 4 in Santiago Atitlan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
7.3 mi away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 29 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature...
#3 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
6.8 mi away
Lomas de Tzununa
Lomas de Tzununa
#4 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel Toliman
Hotel Toliman
#1 of 1 in San Lucas Toliman
5.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada de Santiago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada de Santiago

Property: Posada de Santiago
Address: Apto. 1, Santiago Atitlan 07019, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Region: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Santiago Atitlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Santiago Atitlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over seventeen years the Posada de Santiago has built a reputation for excellence among travel agencies, tour groups, and countless satisfied guests from across the globe. Nestled between the volcanoes that cradle the indigenous Tzutujil village of Santiago Atitlan, the Posada provides the perfect base from which to experience Guatemala's natural beauty and colorful cultures. With charming stone cottage lodgings, renowned cuisine and luxurious lake front amenities, the Posada is a place where happy guests want to return. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Posada De Santiago Hotel Santiago Atitlan
Posada De Santiago Atitlan
Posada De Santiago Hotel Atitlan
Posada De Santiago Santiago Atitlan, Guatemala - Lake Atitlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing