We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel and Restaurant Bambu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel and Restaurant Bambu
Certificate of Excellence
Bosron
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013

We thought we had arrived in Paradise when we stayed at the Bambu. Though it is a few minute tuk tuk ride from the heart of town, it is utterly gorgeous, located at the mouth of the harbor in an exquisite setting that is made for R&R. The rooms are large and clean and offer private outdoor balconies. Lunch on the balcony of the restaurant is better than dinner. The location can either be a plus or a minus, depending on your preference for being close to the center of town or a bit outside in your own paradise.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Summer.Rain.Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    40
    14
    4
    0
See reviews for
30
35
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hermosa Beach, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

We arrived at Bambu after a terrible experience at Posada, where the inhospitable owner refused to serve us for no reason at all. It only took a few minutes at Bambu for that to feel like ancient history. The staff were so friendly, and the food was delicious. We spent a couple of wonderful hours enjoying our lunch by the lake, and I hope to return many times in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TAMooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

I didnt stay at the Bambu but I stayed near by and went to the Bambu for breakfast once and dinner twice. Their breakfast menu had a lot of variation and was really nice. I had the fruit filled crepes and they were perfect! The dinner menu was the same, from hamburgers to pasta dishes to steak. I had the bruschetta appetizer and it was very simple but delicious, andI had the hamburger with cheese and it was amazing and I also had the steak dinner the following night. Their mashed potatoes were GREAT! I Beautiful place with gorgeous views and lovely gardens and relaxing pool. Definitely would go back!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank masxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brogue, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

The people were really nice. The food was good, the menu was a bit limited and only opened at7:30 am.

Rooms were nice & the grounds were beautiful!

You can get there in a tuk- tuk for 75 cents, so it does not seem so far away from town.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bushnell, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

The owners of this hotel are fantastic. The rooms are nice and clean. The hotel staff is helpful. The dining options are limited and the resturaunt menu needs some help. There are boats available that will take you to other parts of the lake and again the owners will help you organize any kind of tour or activity that you need. The grounds are beautiful and well kept. The pool can be a bit cold as it is shaded for part of the day, but it is big and nice and secluded. Great place to stay at the lake!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank attridge57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

There is not a lot of budget hotel in Santiago (that are well situated OR that are listed on the internet) so I reserved at the Eco Bambu Hotel which costed us 99$ US for a room quadruple, continental breakfast included....Not too expensive but still not a budget hotel.

The price was not expensive if we look at the hotel...the site is amazing, with beautiful gardens, swimming pool and a nice terrasse with a view on the lake. Our room was very clean and very big and so was the bathroom!!! The bed was very comfy. I was scared to see big MONSTRUOUS spiders.... but I haven't (ok my friend did but they told me once we were gone).

We arrived at the hotel by boat from Panajachel... but be careful, we paid an extra 30Q to the boat drive for him to stop at the hotel dock instead of the public one. You don't need to do this...you can easily take a Tuk Tuk at the docks that will cost you 15Q instead of 30Q per person. I know it's not a lot but when you're on a tight budget is great to know =)

We decided to do an happy hour at the hotel bar but honestly, if you want to do this... drink somewhere else. There was a lot of think on the drink card but what I wanted wasn't available. I finished with a sangria...made form smashed pinapple and wine...ewww... NNNNOOOO good! And it was expensive!!

The drinks were not great but the food was. We had great plates and it was delicious. The only thing is for the breakfast. We had continental breakfast included in our price and the honestly it didn't include many things. For mw it was fine, but not for my husband so we asked if we could pay the difference between the continental and another item on the menu but we couldn't so we had to pay the full price for the breakfast (which was not the continental one).

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoanyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

If anyone has had the privilege of meeting the owner of the Bambú they would know that he cares much more about accommodating his guests than money. I recently stayed at the Bambú and personally enjoyed the food, but to inform all of the serious food critics, the staff told me that they are in the process of changing the menu completely because they have heard that the food is one of the hotels weaker points. They just finished an amazing wood burning stove and in addition to the new menu they will offer an array of pizzas, home made bread, and many different dinner specials. I was completely blown away by the amazing views and gardens and although the rooms are kinda simple, they are very spacious and clean with reliable long hot showers. During my stay I became quite familiar with the staff (I'm a very social person) and I overheard them talking about a threatening email sent by the person who wrote the review below mine. Apparently the Bambú was told that if they didn't re-emberse these people for their stay they would write terrible reviews about the Bambú on every website they could find. They had stayed during Semana Santa which is the biggest party week of the year and expected a peaceful couple of nights when everyone who comes to Santiago this specific week comes to party and celebrate. Hopefully people wont miss out on this wonderful escape because of one out of place revengeful review. I would recommend this hotel to anyone; travelers and families alike!!

Room Tip: The bungalows were right by the lake and the upstairs rooms had amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank knubie53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santiago Atitlan
6.2 mi away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 30 in Panajachel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
6.7 mi away
Lomas de Tzununa
Lomas de Tzununa
#4 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature...
#3 of 6 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
7.8 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#4 of 30 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Hotel Regis Panajachel
#5 of 30 in Panajachel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel and Restaurant Bambu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel and Restaurant Bambu

Property: Hotel and Restaurant Bambu
Address: Tzanchicham 7, Santiago Atitlan 07019, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Region: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Santiago Atitlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Santiago Atitlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel and Restaurant Bambu 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel and Restaurant Bambu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bambu Santiago Atitlan
Bambu Hotel Santiago Atitlan
Hotel And Restaurant Bambu Santiago Atitlan, Guatemala - Lake Atitlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing