We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean sheets, thoughtful architecture, interested owners in residence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel and Restaurant Bambu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2014

No Air conditioning (but was very cool when i was there)
No Heat (but that was not a big deal)
Internet was spotty and only available in the dining room.
Room was very clean.
Soap was really nice--which is just a thoughtful thing to do.
Despite the cool weather mosquitos flourished--and the room had no screen so it made it tough to sleep with the windows open.
There was not much water pressure.
But it seems that most of the stuff around here was not very nice at all (though i am sure there are many exceptions) The lake was surprisingly warm and i had a nice swim. The view to the little town over the lake was exceptional--like living in Italy.

Room Tip: I guess get there during daylight--i am sure the views from the rooms vary widely.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maxwell P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie H, Owner at Hotel and Restaurant Bambu, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate the time you spent with us and any type of feedback is great. The Hotel Bambú is dedicated to offering the best experience possible for our customers, and we will take your comments into consideration. We hope to see you again someday. Take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
There are newer reviews for Hotel and Restaurant Bambu
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

I have not yet had the opportunity to stay at this quiet, peaceful hotel on Lake Atitlan in Guatemala, however I discovered it when we landed our boat at their dock to eat in their restaurant. The food was wonderful (OUTSTANDING chips and guacamole) and the atmosphere was great. The grounds of the hotel are absolutely beautiful and a joy just to walk the trails through all the flowers. I plan to go back and spend time at the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie H, Owner at Hotel and Restaurant Bambu, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2014

It is wonderful to hear about your experience in our restaurant! Our goal here at he Hotel Bambu is for everyone to enjoy their time with us as much as you have. We will await your return to stay at the hotel with plenty of guacamole and lush colorful gardens. Take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

The hotel is about a 15 minute walk from the main town, but this is an easy one and gives a great sense of being in an oasis after a day's exploring. I loved the hotel, the staff and the food. We stayed in a bungalow which was very nice indeed. Excellent value for money. The views from the hotel are great and I would highly recommend a stay in Santiago Atitlan, which was my favourite spot on the lake and certainly you won't do wrong by choosing this hotel.

Room Tip: Book one of the bungalows, no. 1 or 2
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shaun C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTsantiago, Owner at Hotel and Restaurant Bambu, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We are glad you enjoyed your time in Santiago and appreciate you taking the time to write this review. We hope to see you again in the future, take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I have been to the Bambu three times and I shall return. The hotel setting, like a garden paradise, communes with you. Views of Santiago and its bay (especially in the evening), and three volcanoes are inspiring. Deep blue skies and beautiful cloud formations add to the grandeur. Simple yet elegant rooms and bungalows are comfortable and clean with good, hot showers. And there is a very inviting swimming pool. The restaurant food (try the pizza and bread made in their wood-fired oven) and drink is very good and the service is excellent. The staff is friendly and will always accommodate your requests. And they can recommend and put you in contact with services providing sightseeing and exploring of Santiago and the Lake Atitlan area. You can get to the main town area of Santiago quickly and inexpensively in a tuk tuk, a covered rickshaw. And the Bambu has its own small dock so boats can come directly to the grounds. The Bambu is family owned and the staff is like family. All in all, an excellent value. You will enjoy your visit and want to return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTsantiago, Owner at Hotel and Restaurant Bambu, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Thank you for such a wonderful review about our hotel! We appreciate you taking the time to write about us and hope to see you here again in the near future. Take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We loved the Hotel Bambu and the restaurant. It is a beautiful, quiet setting, just a short walk or tuk tuk ride from town. The food was very good and the service was excellent. We would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Penny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie H, Owner at Hotel and Restaurant Bambu, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2014

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we hope you will visit us again some day. Take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

I stayed in a nearby rental house and ate many meals at Bambu. You can't beat their Lake-side perch overlooking Santiago lagoon. The water tends to be calmer and more reflective here, and a drink at sunset is heaven. With basic but good-tasting food, Bambu is always popular and sometimes service is slow (but friendly). They don't mind if you take your time, and there is always someone around to get a conversation going (great if traveling solo). The family that owns the property are very nice, and there are children and dogs around, making things easy-going. They can arrange boat trips for you, directly off their dock.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank huntphd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie H, Owner at Hotel and Restaurant Bambu, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2014

We are very glad that you enjoyed our restaurant! Thank you for writing a review and we hope to have you back for a sunset beverage soon. Take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We just spent a very relaxing weekend at Hotel Bambu and really enjoyed it. It is set in wonderful and extensive gardens with loads of hummingbirds, birds and butterflies. The children loved the pool and had plenty of space to run around playing. The rooms were clean and tidy, with good bathrooms and powerful showers. The food was really good too - we were a bit worried having read a couple of other reviews from a few years ago that it wansnt very good, but we ate and drank very well. the menu is not extensive, but we had the steak, chicken, home made burgers and pizzas and they were all delicious. A lovely and well priced get away, thank you Miguel and crew!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gcpc2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie H, Owner at Hotel and Restaurant Bambu, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2014

We are happy to hear that your family enjoyed their experience here at the Hotel Bambú! Thank you for writing a review and we would love to have you stay with us again sometime. Take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santiago Atitlan
6.2 mi away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
670 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Toliman
Hotel Toliman
#1 of 1 in San Lucas Toliman
288 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 29 in Panajachel
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Jardines del Lago
Jardines del Lago
#6 of 29 in Panajachel
217 reviews
7.8 mi away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#4 of 29 in Panajachel
470 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Hotel Regis Panajachel
#5 of 29 in Panajachel
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel and Restaurant Bambu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel and Restaurant Bambu

Address: Tzanchicham 7, Santiago Atitlan 07019, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Region: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Santiago Atitlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Santiago Atitlan
Price Range: £57 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel and Restaurant Bambu 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel and Restaurant Bambu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bambu Santiago Atitlan
Bambu Hotel Santiago Atitlan
Hotel And Restaurant Bambu Santiago Atitlan, Guatemala - Lake Atitlan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing