We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The bestest in Guatemala”
Review of Hotel Finca Tatin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Finca Tatin
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Livingston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Definitely not a luxury bungalow resort if that is what you are looking for but if you want a decent stay in a friendly and affordable jungle retreat, this is your place.
kayaking to livingston is a must.
be aware of the scorpions!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gea-bud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (350)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Finca Tatin
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 350 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2012

Finca Tatin is a great place to stay whether you are traveling alone, as a couple, or with a family. It is located directly on a fresh river that is free to swim in without fear of any predators. It has a main area where you can charge your electronics and dining area that is great for the family dinners at night. The family dinners also allow for great conversation with the other people staying there. The food is great, and the opportunities to travel are even better.

We went to international waters in Belize for snorkeling on the coral reef for only $50 a person. That included transportation to and from there, lunch, and downtime on the white sand beaches of the islands. it was an incredible experience. We also had the chance to go on a 5 hour hike through the jungle, seeing the wildlife and plants in the wild with the help of a guide.

It is only a short 20 minute boat trip from Livingston, and for a short trip, it is well worth your while.

On the downside, it is very hot year round, as I was sweating the majority of the time I was there. It is also located in the jungle, so animals come out at night. There were multiple animals jumping around our bungalow, but once we figured out that they could not get in, we slept just fine. I would definitely recommend bringing some ear plugs or some music for the night. The bungalow was a very night commodity as it came with a private bathroom and shower.

It only has electricity to charge electronics between 5-10pm. But, they do have solar panels that allow for electricity during the other times, which come in handy during trips to the bathroom at night.

Room Tip: I would recommend to stay in one of the private bungalows for the most privacy. They have their own...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank captgingebeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We had made and got it confirmed, a reservation for a bungalow at medium price (about Qu 180). When we got there, we were asked if we wanted one overlooking the river, to which we agreed. Only later did we find out, that those cost Qu 240, we were not told. Of course it is our own fault for not asking.
On the sheets were small dead bugs, in the shower a crab run around and beside the bed on the wall sat a 4" spider. Of course we were surrounded by the jungle, so what do you expect? It was left as natural as possible, very few trees cut, which I usually find admirable, but it made for a very dark place, I missed the light. The only sun one could see was right at the river.
We stayed two nights and the rooms were not cleaned, I asked for fresh plastic bags for the bathroom garbage and took care of it myself. This was the most we ever paid in Guatemala and the only time the rooms were not cleaned every day!
The food was excellent, but for dessert we had to pay extra.
Check out your bungalow carefully. There are also dorms.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Purplecat8104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We found this place looking on the internet for the Spanish School. Soon we learned it is not a bed & breakfast and there are no Spanish classes. The surrounding of Finca Tatin looks beautiful, the river is great to swim but it is dark and dump inside the bungalows. Make sure your mosquito net is intact as there are definitely some bugs and scorpions. As soon as the generator goes off at night there is no light. We had to play cards with our headlamps on as the candles were not allowed. We felt somewhat uncomfortable with the attitude of the staf, a bit haughty for our liking.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alex v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

This gem was a 20 minute boat journey up the river. Our cabana was on the river bank. the room was spacious with an ensuite shower and toilet which was quite basic but adequate. Plenty of space between cabins. Walk ways over the swamp gave a feel of living outdoors. The river was safe to swim in and was a fabulous cool off at the end of the day. We ate together at night and it gave us an opportunity to meet other travellers and the food was delicious! We left for livingston in a canoe, hubby did most of the gentle paddle and I sat back with the camera Finca transferred our luggage to the hotel the staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mkkk64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Although I find value in most things and places, I am not easily impressed.
This might have to do with the fact that I grew up and live in New York City
and that Dominican Republic is also home.

There are -of course-, places that upon encountering them, manage to impress me,
but no other place has mesmerized me more than Finca Tatín as a destination.

For a few years now, I have made Finca Tatín my destination of choice,
I return to it as often as I can -once or twice a year, during different seasons-,
which is in itself a remarkable feast given my demand for excellence and self-fulfillment.

A "Hotel in the Jungle" as it is known, but to me personally, it is more than a hotel.
The glorious settings, the accommodations, it's exceptional service and the -by now- familiar and friendly staff, make Finca Tatín my favorite place to return to,
not just "scape" but to SIMPLY come alive.

(Disclosure: over the years, I have become friends with the staff: Carlos, Gaby, Paulo
and Carlo's Kids who vacation there every year)

-Carlos Reynoso

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank carlosrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

The common areas at this finca were great and the food was good. We were in what appeared to be an older bungalow and had not been cleaned (animal feces in the bed) the bathroom sink had termites, there were spiders everywhere and the bug net was full of holes. Some of the other bungalows looked like they were in better shape, so if you do choose to stay here I would recommend being very selective about where they place you.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank elriotravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingston
4.4 mi away
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
#7 of 8 in Livingston
43 reviews
4.0 mi away
Posada El Delfin
Posada El Delfin
#4 of 8 in Livingston
97 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Caribe
Hotel Villa Caribe
#2 of 8 in Livingston
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Catamaran Island Hotel
Catamaran Island Hotel
#5 of 8 in Livingston
125 reviews
16.9 mi away
Hotel Mansion del Rio
14.9 mi away
Amatique Bay Resort & Marina
Amatique Bay Resort & Marina
#1 of 3 in Puerto Barrios
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Finca Tatin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Finca Tatin

Address: Rio Tatin, Barra de Lampara | Puerto Barrios, Livingston, Rio Dulce 18002, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Izabal Department > Rio Dulce > Livingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Livingston
Price Range: £7 - £15 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finca Tatin is a hotel in the jungle, unique for it`s surroundings, and the simple and friendly atmosphere within.Owned by argentinian-italian globber trotter Carlos Simonini.Our place is special because we live in harmony with Nature; respect and protect the biodiversity while we work and live in the Rain Forest.How do we respect nature?If you look for a simple, relaxed time, good food, excellent company, wonderful places to explore, “FINCA TATIN IS YOUR DESTINATION”!Where is the Finca Tatin?Finca Tatin is on the Rio Tatin, a branch of the Rio Dulce. We are 20minutos boat from Livingston, the Caribbean Garifuna people, and 45 minutes by boat from Fronteras (Rio Dulce) .. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Finca Tatin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finca Tatin Livingston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing