We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Finca Tatin
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Villa Caribe(Livingston)
US$122
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Posada El Delfin(Livingston)
US$83
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hotel Salvador Gaviota(Livingston)(Great Value!)
US$14
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$12
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Casa Rosada(Livingston)(Great Value!)
US$20
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$69
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$155
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dos Arboles(Livingston)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (372)
Filter reviews
372 results
Traveller rating
276
56
16
17
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
276
56
16
17
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstatinrope swingthe riverrio dulceeco lodgecommunal mealsjungle experienceenjoy natureevery nightmeet other guestsmosquito netmagical placejungle soundseasy paddlerestful sleepbring enoughhuge spider
Filter
Updating list...
122 - 127 of 372 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2013

I've gone back to Finca Tatin time and time again due to the phenomenal atmosphere, food, and personal attention from the staff. Kayaking to the surrounding sites or going on a trek through the jungle are just some of the activities that can fill up a two or three day escape.

Room Tip: Get a riverfront room. Can't go wrong!
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jguatemala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

While staying at Finca Tatin with my wife a couple days ago, (May 2013) we had a wonderful experience. The pick up was on time at Livingston, where Gaby greeted and took us on a delightful boat ride through the river.

On the ride we saw pelicans, white herons, seagulls and other birds; the landscape was breathtaking and made us feel very grateful, it was a mystical experience to awe on this beauty in silence, while the walls of the canyon were passing by.

Our first impression upon arrival, was that of a cozy place, bookshelves, comfy sofas, hammocks and a small bar on the Casa Grande, the friendly staff showed us the facilities and lead us to our lodging, a beautiful cabana in front of the river... Romantic, clean, ample and comfortable.

The property is located in the middle of the jungle, the meals are served family style on long tables, where you share your travel experiences with other guests, the food is rich and abundant and they can cater for groups or special needs if you give them some notice.

The swing rope in to the river, kayak tours, trekking through the jungle, visits to the nearby Mayan villages, hot springs or simply relaxing atmosphere are some of the reasons to come back!!

Thanks to Wilmer, Jose, Martin, Gaby, Carlo and those that we didn't meat for making possible this wonderful place in the jungle!

Room Tip: The rooms up in the hill do not have the view of the river, but might be quieter in the morning.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alberto M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Perfect place to relax in the Rio Dulce with wonderful hosts Gabby and Carlos. The food is excellent and you don't want to miss the family style diner. Great open space to chill out on a hammock. Rooms are clean and limited access to Internet is an opportunity to disconnect and enjoys your fellow travelers. I met some great people there.
It is a total immersion in the atmosphere of the Rio, accessible by boat from Livingston or Rio Dulce. Plenty of kayak options to Agua Caliente, the mangrove, the Round House to get a drink or simply to enjoy the sunset.
A big thanks to Gabby for her smile and endless patience to my broken spanish!!

Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
Thank Alain972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Living and working in Ak' Tenamit, an NGO close to Finca Tatin, I've been here countless times and still keep on going back for more :)

The hotel itself is located on Rio Tatin which is a a small sidearm of the Rio Dulce. Any boat between Rio Dulce and Livingston will drop you off directly at their dock but if you call Finca Tatin a day before your arrival you can check with them as they have their own boats and can pick you up in Livingston and (depending on the group size) in Rio Dulce.

It is built directly into the jungle, all the bungalows (waterfront or deeper jungle) and communal buildings are connected by cemented or wooden dock-like walkways and all of them have moskito nets. As said in previous entries - it is actually as "in the jungle" as it can be so there might be a spider or a cockroach in the room once every while - don't freak out as they will help you get rid of them :)

My favorite thing about Finca Tatin is the ropeswing from the dock into the river, the perfect refreshment for the humid jungle climate. Don't worry, you won't find any weird animals or parasites hunting and biting you in the river - it is freshwater and perfectly safe to swim in.

Another highlight is their family style dinner they serve every night which is prepared by their cook, Wilmer. If you're staying there for longer than one night, challenge him for a tabletop football match and try to convince him to cook his eggplant parimigiano for the next dinner - it is amazing! Another special are the flower tortillas with the amazing herb-chimichurri sauce they serve as a starter before every dinner.

Tripwise there is plenty to do and discover around the finca, most people I met there ended up staying one or two days more than anticipated - so my recommendation is definitely to stay more than one night.


By foot you can:

- Walk to Livingston (nice jungle walk) - about 4-5h, from there you can take a Finca Tatin boat back

- Visit the nearby NGO Ak' Tenamit who run a rural health clinic and a secondary school, serving the rural communities in the surrounding area. On their school site they are prepared for visitors and have students taking turns showing them around the school and the surrounding jungle nature trail. Support them by stopping by their small Handicrafts store.

- Visit the Tigers Cave, a local community tourism project, walking through one of the mayan villages to a cave that, with the help of (safe!) ladders and ropes you can descend into the beautiful and fresh water in the cave.


By Kayak you can:

- Visit the Lampara Cascades, on the way enjoying kayaking on the picturesque Rio Lampara, exploring its small sidearms and responding the shouted "Hola's" and "Como te llama's" with the children living alongside the river.

- Visit the hot springs a little bit further up the Rio Dulce, another community tourism project, where you can bathe in the river and enjoy the hot water coming out of the rocks beside the river.

- Kayak downstream to Livingston through the most beautiful part of the river, the canyon. Its best to do this in the early morning when there is still some fog hanging on top of the canyion - majestic! The Finca Tatin boat will bring you and your kayak back upstream.


If you are travelling in between Rio Dulce and Livingston - don't miss out on staying in this amazing area, seeing how the Q'ecqchi Maya live along the river and hang out on the dock!

Room Tip: Best but also most expensive room is "Pelicano". It is the biggest one of the water-front bungalows and has 1 double and 3 single beds.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chodid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

I have been addicted to this place since the first time i went there, they have been always helpful, friendly, the cleaning of the rooms has been great, we have to understand this place is located in the tropical jungle and of course you might find a spider or a gecko hanging out in your room:) But remember we are the ones are invading their space... And also I love the fact is a river front place. Is a great place to relax, to meet new friends, to chill heard the sound the tropical rain forest in Guatemala, the location of the place also let you do easy connections to Honduras and Belize! Talk to Carlos or Gaby they are amazing friendly people! And is always a chance to volunteer there and get some more knowledge about Guatemala! I highly recommend this place for adventurer people, for people has open mind and also ready to leave your comfort zone...

Room Tip: River front cabins are lovely!
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wanako78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews