We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tarzan rope..;)”
Review of Hotel Finca Tatin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Finca Tatin
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Livingston
Certificate of Excellence
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tarzan rope..;)”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

The place is very unique and interesting. The hotel is located by the Rio Dulce river hidden in the jungle, so approaching it by the river you can see the dock (quay) only. Stepping into the place you can discover the hamak relaxing zone, charmy little houses in the jungle (be carrefull of bugs, it is real jungle) and even gym hidden in the forrest;). The biggest social attraction is Tarzan Rope hanging above the quay, so brave travellers try to jump to the Rio Dulce using the rope and the spectators have a great fun by scoring the jumps;). Good food and drinks, however you need to remember you have to pay for everything there, so better be praperded. Very trustful way of recording who used what as you record in the book everything you have used by yourself only. Warm and friendly staff speaking Spanish and English (not all of them). Dog, rabbit and cat live there in a peace and harmony so you can enjoy really peaceful time. I have experienced the storm there and must say it's something I have never experienced before;) such a strong rain, and thunders in the dark are really impressive but the place remains safe and quiet. The opportunity to rent a kayaks and go to the Livingstone is strongly recommended as well as jump from Tarzan Rope;). We have been there together with my daughter and myself and strongly recommend to visit Finca Tatin by all travellers who want to experience real hostel in the jungle;)

Room Tip: Private rooms are good and restrooms are good quality too, Tucan house is great, however stay under...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    49
    14
    16
    7
See reviews for
38
91
48
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingscliff, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

The most enjoyable part of my stay was the river. Sitting next to it swimming and Kayaking . Its a great place to chill out in a hammock and read a book. I feel the staff are a little disinterested and not overly welcoming but are helpful and accommodating when asking for information . They also responded very promptly to all emails .

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sizzlingwillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Great place to stay right on the river with friendly staff. The area along the rivers tatin and dulce is gorgeous. The bungalows are very simple (we stayed at Mariposa - river view). If you arrange your arrival beforehand, they'll pick you up from Livingston. They also have kayaks that you can rent, and a rope swing to jump from the deck into the river. Something that we found very interesting and we liked a lot is their communal dinning system. If you want to have dinner at finca tatin, they have a fixed menu and everyone sits down at the two long tables they have at 7PM. Their portions are big and it is a great opportunity to meet other guests. In my opinion, it is completely worth it to stay along the river rather than in Livingston town.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeandroG_526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Finca tatin hotel was my favourite place in Guatemala. It's based on the rio dulce river which is great for swimming and kayaking. The family style dinner was amazing, lots of beautiful food. This hotel is a great place to relax, with friendly staff and a chilled out atmosphere. We also seen lots of cool native animals. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gemma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Finca Tatin. In fact, it was one of the more enjoyable and memorable parts of our latest trip to Guatemala. Although it is a little harder to get to, it is well worth the extra effort. Hiking, kayaking, visiting waterfalls, swimming in cave pools, going to Livingston, and more. There is plenty to do, but it is also very peaceful and relaxing. Our kids loved the rope swing, swimming in the river, and hanging out with the other kids (both the owners kids from Nebraska down for the summer and the children of other tourists passing through). It is an interesting mix of international tourists and the owners are delightful people. The private cabins, while appropriately rustic for what you would expect from a jungle lodge, are quite comfortable and the mosquito nets kept the critters away making for restful sleep every night.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K-Bob2051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed there for a week and could have easily spent another one. I don't think I ever saw a hotel with so much heart, it almost leaves nothing to complain about. They got great food, excellent services and incredibly nice personnel. What I also enjoyed was the variety of animals living in and around the Finca. The atmosphaire of the beautiful common area an the lovely housings can barely put into words. If you like it quiet and homely, that's the place.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doofnix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martinez, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We stayed here for four nights in the Pelicano bungalow. What a fantastic time we had- definitely a highlight on our month long trip in Guatemala. The location is so special with much of the site built over the river on wooden planks. This allowed us to see crabs, turtles and birds going about their usual day. We spent a lot of time swimming in the river, jumping off the rope swing, and kayaking. Besides the location, the family who owns and manages the Finca really make it what is is. They are friendly and accommodating and really foster a great sense of community. We hope to be able to return someday soon!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingston
4.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Caribe
Hotel Villa Caribe
#2 of 9 in Livingston
257 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
#7 of 9 in Livingston
42 reviews
4.0 mi away
Posada El Delfin
Posada El Delfin
#4 of 9 in Livingston
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Hotel Mansion del Rio
15.6 mi away
Hotel Puerto Libre
Hotel Puerto Libre
#2 of 3 in Puerto Barrios
38 reviews
14.9 mi away
Amatique Bay Resort & Marina
Amatique Bay Resort & Marina
#1 of 3 in Puerto Barrios
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Finca Tatin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Finca Tatin

Property: Hotel Finca Tatin
Address: Rio Tatin, Barra de Lampara | Puerto Barrios, Livingston, Rio Dulce 18002, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Izabal Department > Rio Dulce > Livingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Livingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finca Tatin is a hotel in the jungle, unique for it`s surroundings, and the simple and friendly atmosphere within.Owned by argentinian-italian globber trotter Carlos Simonini.Our place is special because we live in harmony with Nature; respect and protect the biodiversity while we work and live in the Rain Forest.How do we respect nature?If you look for a simple, relaxed time, good food, excellent company, wonderful places to explore, “FINCA TATIN IS YOUR DESTINATION”!Where is the Finca Tatin?Finca Tatin is on the Rio Tatin, a branch of the Rio Dulce. We are 20minutos boat from Livingston, the Caribbean Garifuna people, and 45 minutes by boat from Fronteras (Rio Dulce) .. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Finca Tatin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finca Tatin Livingston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing