We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great eco lodge with a superstar host!”
Review of Hotel Finca Tatin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Finca Tatin
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Livingston
Certificate of Excellence
san francisco
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great eco lodge with a superstar host!”
Reviewed 9 February 2010

We loved our stay here, partly due to the place and partly due to Paulo, the engaging host. He's full of information on the area and makes you feel welcome - and is also a very good massuese. The large common area is comfortable if badly lit, and our bungalow was very cozy. Swimming off the dock is nice, and Tatin is located near Aktenamit, a Mayan center, an easy kayak trip away. Meals were delicious and included a huge shrimp platter one night. You're likely to run into travellers from all over the world here, and there's an easy communal spirit to the place. A highlight is the Mayan sauna, don't miss that, they can fire it up in 15 minutes and you can run out and jump into the river when you get too hot.

Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ladybeesf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    49
    14
    16
    7
See reviews for
38
90
48
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canadian
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2010

I came to finca Tatin expecting to stay 1 night and ended up staying over a week. This is the kind of place that takes tranquillo to the limits. When I wanted to feel like I was the only person in the world I could, when I wanted to feel as if I was among my best friends and family I could. By far the best run and setup hostel I have ever been to, way ahead of its time. On the forefront of hostel technology. Simply amazing.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mateus11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spain
1 review
Reviewed 4 October 2009

Finca Tatin. I remember strolling in with 9 other travellers. We loved it from the moment we stepped on the small dock that gives access to the hotel. Some of us stayed in the Dorm, others in a Private bungalow and other in shared rooms. The forest that surrounded us was such a breeze of fresh air. The food was delicious and everyone was so helpful. Some of us went on a kayak tour to a nearly mangrove area and came back tired but ever so pleased. Our initial plan was to stay one night but on the end some stayed two nights and other even three nights. Highly recommended everyone.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mpaulom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2008

I have stayed at Finca Tatin twice now. Once in April of 2006 and another time in July of 2008. I would recommend it for more adventurous types and people who enjoy spiders, mosquitos and other sorts of nasties. It's a great place to relax, sit in a hammock, read a book and spend some time swimming in the river. The cabanas and rooms are dark and abound with ants, spiders and mosquitos in the rainy season. In the dry season, that's less of an issue. The staff are friendly, if a little unorganized. I like staying at the Finca, but it's definitely not a place for someone who wants a little luxury. The mosquito nets aren't long enough to do much good and the pillows are old, lumpy and musty. The rooms are a little overpriced for the money spent.

  • Liked — Location in the jungle
  • Disliked — Spiders in my bed, low quality of accomodations
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Kassi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
76 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2008

We sailed on Las Sirenas to Finca Tatin on teh 7th day of our trip. We started at Punta Manibque, sailed across the bay back to Livingston, cleared customs, and sailed into El Golfete. We sailed up river to a compound called Fince Tatin, a cooperative with a very nice shop filled with local handicrafts. We walked around the grounds and found it to be a lovely stop after 7 days out in the ocean. It is only accessible by boat.

We then sailed to Casa Guatemala late that afternoon to see the facility. They do not accept visitors but we were lucky enough to meet the director whom I corresponded with earlier and she gave us a tour. It’s an amazing place filled with neat projects and the kids seemed very happy. Laughter filled the area and we left with a very good feeling.

Helpful?
Thank brownbeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingston
4.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Caribe
Hotel Villa Caribe
#1 of 9 in Livingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
4.0 mi away
Posada El Delfin
Posada El Delfin
#4 of 9 in Livingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
#7 of 9 in Livingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Amatique Bay Resort & Marina
Amatique Bay Resort & Marina
#1 of 3 in Puerto Barrios
3.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
16.9 mi away
Hotel Mansion del Rio
15.1 mi away
Catamaran Island Hotel
Catamaran Island Hotel
#5 of 9 in Livingston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Finca Tatin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Finca Tatin

Property: Hotel Finca Tatin
Address: Rio Tatin, Barra de Lampara | Puerto Barrios, Livingston, Rio Dulce 18002, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Izabal Department > Rio Dulce > Livingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Livingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finca Tatin is a hotel in the jungle, unique for it`s surroundings, and the simple and friendly atmosphere within.Owned by argentinian-italian globber trotter Carlos Simonini.Our place is special because we live in harmony with Nature; respect and protect the biodiversity while we work and live in the Rain Forest.How do we respect nature?If you look for a simple, relaxed time, good food, excellent company, wonderful places to explore, “FINCA TATIN IS YOUR DESTINATION”!Where is the Finca Tatin?Finca Tatin is on the Rio Tatin, a branch of the Rio Dulce. We are 20minutos boat from Livingston, the Caribbean Garifuna people, and 45 minutes by boat from Fronteras (Rio Dulce) .. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Finca Tatin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finca Tatin Livingston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing