We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We are in the jungle...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Finca Tatin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Finca Tatin
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Livingston
Certificate of Excellence
Switzerland (Europe)
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We are in the jungle...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2011

I stayed at the Finca Tatin for two nights in a beautiful bungalow by the river (160 Quetzals per night. Bungalows in the forest cost 125, for single occupancy). The bungalow is very well protected against mosquitoes with nets everywhere and one also on the bed. The furniture is basic and one more table, or chair, or a small wardrobe would be very useful. In the bathroom you won’t find any soap and only upon my arrival I discovered that the shower in the bathroom had no hot water, which was pretty annoying. There is a generator working from 5pm to 10pm so I don’t see why they can’t heat up some water. Dinner is great with good, healthy food, although I can’t say the same for breakfast and lunch, which I think could enjoy some improvement. If it rains while you’re there, life could be a little difficult and wet. Take raincoats and a torch along with you.
Iguanetta

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iguanetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    48
    14
    16
    7
See reviews for
38
90
47
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Atitlan
Level Contributor
224 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2011

My group of 12 kayakers paddled into the lagoon of Finca Tatin just as the last rays of the sun were fading. With only the vaguest of directions collected by children playing along the banks of the Rio Dulce, we found the entrance to the back channel where we stored our kayaks for the night. The staff of the hotel had the steam sauna ready for us, and less than 10 minutes after stowing our boats we were relaxing with a cold beer and a hot steam. Dinner was served family style with huge heaping plates of delicious foods. The conversations ranged from English, Spanish, Portugese, Dutch, German, and Mayan.
Some of our rooms were literally on the edge of the river, while others were on nice pathways up in the jungle. Every aspect of this jungle lodge is professional and first rate. One of the staff is also a massage therapist, and we were happy to keep him busy for the time we were guest of the hotel.
They have a huge book of activities that would keep anyone busy for at least a week. Take the time to explore the waterfalls, hike the jungle into Livingston, or visit the hot springs.
I can not wait for my next return to the Rio Dulce and my new friends at the Finca.

Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kayak-atitlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights, and would have probably stayed a lot longer if the food was better and not made from the previous nights left overs!
We also found some of the staff very miserable, unhelpful and extremely sarcastic. In the end i gave up on asking questions and information as to not recieve a stupid response.
I cannot knock the location though, the lake is great, as is the sauna. Just do not go for the atmosphere, there is non!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clarejoy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2011

Finca Tatin has been lovingly created by Carlos and it is clear his design has taken priority of the environment and the forest. There are loads of activities (the majority coming with a fee). If you're not the active type you can kick back on a hammock, enjoy the sounds of forest and catch a glimpse of a humming bird if you are lucky.

The rooms are very basic. They are as clean as they can be for wooden rooms in the jungle. My only complaint would be the bin for toilet tissue wasn't emptied during our 4 night stay.

The sauna is great. The food was fantastic. They even made a wonderful chocolate birthday cake for my husband on request. Eating all together family style is a lovely opportunity to meet and chat to fellow guests. Paulo is knowledgeable about the local area and great at advising on transportation to your next location.

Overall the place is great. It has a definite backpacker feel, so if that's not your thing don't let it stop you going. Just maybe stay 1 night. Make sure you have enough cash to pay for your stay, activities, food and drinks as they don't take credit cards.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SnraSimmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaSalle, Illinois
Level Contributor
157 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2011

Staff was very eager to make sure you enjoyed your stay. Always tried to plan out activities for you or let you sit and vegatate if you wanted. I would have rated it higher in cleanliness, but for god's sake, it's in the middle of a frikin jungle. Spiders, scorpions, and crabs visit you often. If your squeamish, avoid the jungle. Food was great. Never left the table hungry. This is the kind of place you plan on to stay at for 2 or three days, and end up there for a week.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank narimasu70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2010

Finca tatin is located at a small river arm from the main river. The surrounding area makes for a great day of expploring authentic life along the river. To bad you have to pay for the canoo's.
They do communal meals which are nice. there is always enough food and they do fresh fish locally caught. vegetarian options tend to look a lot alike but they really put effort in their meals.
They have a nice sauna and rooms are no frills but will do.

want to get away from all the hustle and bustle? Finca tatin is your place!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daanvanderelsken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2010

For those who love nature, wild life, having good times and meet people from everywhere in the world its the best place in Central America. Your in the jungle so you need to know that your living with wild life...that's a beautiful and safe place to be !

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JungleJim26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingston
4.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Caribe
Hotel Villa Caribe
#1 of 9 in Livingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
4.0 mi away
Posada El Delfin
Posada El Delfin
#4 of 9 in Livingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
#7 of 9 in Livingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Amatique Bay Resort & Marina
Amatique Bay Resort & Marina
#1 of 3 in Puerto Barrios
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
17.0 mi away
Hotel Mansion del Rio
15.1 mi away
Catamaran Island Hotel
Catamaran Island Hotel
#6 of 9 in Livingston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Finca Tatin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Finca Tatin

Property: Hotel Finca Tatin
Address: Rio Tatin, Barra de Lampara | Puerto Barrios, Livingston, Rio Dulce 18002, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Izabal Department > Rio Dulce > Livingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Livingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finca Tatin is a hotel in the jungle, unique for it`s surroundings, and the simple and friendly atmosphere within.Owned by argentinian-italian globber trotter Carlos Simonini.Our place is special because we live in harmony with Nature; respect and protect the biodiversity while we work and live in the Rain Forest.How do we respect nature?If you look for a simple, relaxed time, good food, excellent company, wonderful places to explore, “FINCA TATIN IS YOUR DESTINATION”!Where is the Finca Tatin?Finca Tatin is on the Rio Tatin, a branch of the Rio Dulce. We are 20minutos boat from Livingston, the Caribbean Garifuna people, and 45 minutes by boat from Fronteras (Rio Dulce) .. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Finca Tatin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finca Tatin Livingston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing