We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A small, friendly haven in Livingston”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vecchia Toscana Resort
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Livingston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Saint Jeannet, France
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A small, friendly haven in Livingston”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

Vecchia Toscana is located on the water edge, facing the ocean on the outskirts of Livingston. The hotel grounds are tiny, but Daniela and Ivan, the italian owners, have managed to fit a lovely pool, a restaurant with the best pasta I have ever eaten, and decent rooms with a ventilator and air conditioning, in this Caribbean and Garifuna nest, on the eastern coast of Guatemala, all of it reasonably priced. The best about Vecchia Toscana, apart from the authentic, home-made, italian cuisine, is the personalized service Daniela provides to her guests, setting up visits the Sapodilla cays of Belize, directly from the hotel, and arranging all transport by sea. There were renovations under way in December 2013, with the restaurant and various rooms being rebuilt, so check the status of the works, as you book your room.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Malagueta1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    27
    7
    6
    4
See reviews for
16
56
9
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bruxelles
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

We want to thank the owners of Vecchia Toscana, Daniela and Ivan, for taking care of us during our stay in Livingston: thanks to them rainy days became a pleasurable and friendly stay in their resort, where we ate amazing food, from real Italian pasta to fish with tropical ingredients like mango!
The rooms are really beautiful and welcoming (with individual baths, rooms and cleaned every day and the decoration includes textiles from Guatemala hanging from the walls), some bungalows are right on the sea front, there is a swimming pool, activities to do in Livingston and around it, like the 7 Altars. So we really advice to go to Vecchia Toscana to enjoy the best of Livingston, including Daniela's friendliness and Ivan recipes !!! and ask Daniela to show her artefacts, they are really beautiful and are a perfect present !

Room Tip: Choose the bungalow right on the sea front
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BruxellesZzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

Really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. Probably the best room is the one right in front of the pool or just above it but I enjoyed the clean room, food and hospitality. The hotel is about 10mins walk from the water taxi point so worth getting a taxi if you have luggage. Try the home-cooked food, especially the bread.

Room Tip: The room right in front of the pool or just above that room are probably the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DuncDyason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Pros:
1. Pool is fantastic – big, deep and clean
2. Garden is excellent - huge, nice, well-maintained with hammocks, flocks of parrot’s, funny frogs, lizards
3. Very quiet and calm place, right on the beach.
4. Internet is rather fast and stable
Cons:
1. Room (we got a double) is small, gloomy and stuffy. AC is not a luxury here, but must.
2. Uncomfortable beds, shabby linens
3. Water electric heater gets broken twice a day.
Yes, it’s 15 minutes to walk to the center, but it’s perfect for me, even funny.
Nevertheless, I admit that Vecchia Toscana is one of the best accommodations in Livingston.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VKalmykov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
167 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Having stayed here for 3 nights I am now really surprised by the glowing reviews. I was treating myself over Xmas but it turns out it was the wrong decision. First, I was travelling alone, and it is a 15 minute walk along the beach to the town (past reviews say 5-20 minutes). I timed it. The issue with the walk is that it is not along a nice easy to walk on shore. It is up and down, across water, logs, people's front yards, restaurants etc. And when it rains, it is mucky and not fun. The whole time I was there it rained off and on which made it difficult. Plus, over Xmas there were few taxis so I was always stressed about how I was going to get back. Plus the owners have to let you in so you fell bad staying out late,.So, especially for a solo traveller, I wouldn't recommend it.

Because it was rainy I couldn't use the pool, which is clearly why it costs as much as it does. There was nobody else at the hotel while I was there so it was isolating and lonely. I didn't find the owners friendly, perhaps because I spent little time there. The restaurant had nobody in it and was expensive.

My room was super small, and for the price, disappointing. I also had to ask for them to turn on the internet all the time, again, likely as there was nobody there to use it.

I ended up moving to Casa Rosada and loved it there. Completely different environment and I wish I would have been there from the beginning as my stay in Livingston would have been so different.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crysee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

It´s a beautiful place. I had a great experience during my vacations in this place.The owners are very friendly. The room was very clean and cozy and the food was fantastic.
I really recommend It's an unforgettable paradise.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

The best place for relax and a enjoy of the beach or the swimming pool and the amazing italian food!
The position its strategic just on the beach and no too far from the city, just 10min by walk!
Room are impeccabily cleane,and the stuff its always available for do everything we want,they help us for organized the tour and see whats around!!
Another sweet thing its the atmosphere its frendly definitely different from all around.
We really enjoyed the food special the lobster and the pasta!!
I waw esitant at the beginning becose it wasn't in town, but than we really appreciated of our italian choice!!! Thank you for give us a lovely time!

Room Tip: Front beach bungalow!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReginaDIDI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingston
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Caribe
Hotel Villa Caribe
#1 of 9 in Livingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Finca Tatin
Hotel Finca Tatin
#2 of 9 in Livingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
0.9 mi away
Posada El Delfin
Posada El Delfin
#4 of 9 in Livingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
#7 of 9 in Livingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
13.0 mi away
Amatique Bay Resort & Marina
Amatique Bay Resort & Marina
#1 of 3 in Puerto Barrios
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
14.7 mi away
Hotel Puerto Libre
Hotel Puerto Libre
#2 of 3 in Puerto Barrios
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vecchia Toscana Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vecchia Toscana Resort

Property: Vecchia Toscana Resort
Address: Barrio Paris, Livingston, Rio Dulce 18002, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Izabal Department > Rio Dulce > Livingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Livingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lovely resort on the sea has it's own dock where you can take a private boat or you can walk along the shore to town. We have beautiful gardens, a large pool, and clean rooms with air-conditioning. Our chef creates a unique menu each night with a fusion of Mayan, Garifuna, and Italian influences. Breakfast is always free! We can arrange tours for you during the day to kayak on the Rio Dulce, soak in hot springs, explore the waterfalls of Siete Alteres, or snorkel in the coral reefs of Belize all within less than an hour of our resort. Come see the natural wonders of the Caribbean and begin your next adventure! Or just relax in a hammock at our pool bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Vecchia Toscana Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing