We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely a place to stay and I really mean stay”
Review of Hotel Casa Rosada

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Livingston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Casa Rosada
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Livingston
Certificate of Excellence
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Definitely a place to stay and I really mean stay”
Reviewed 29 December 2010

I was planning to stay a few days in Livingston, but then I found this place. I'm loving it! Anna and An are so nice and helpfull. I didn't know there was so much to do here: hiking to maya villages, kayaking, dancing,... So I'm already here for a few weeks! My stay is coming at an end next week, so I definitely wanted to write a good review. The food here is amazing. Every day something different on the menu. The sunrises I've seen this past weeks, so beautiful. Oh yes, and free WIFI, so easy to write a review on the spot. So Anna and An, thanx for a great couple of weeks!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiAr0undTheW0rld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    60
    6
    3
    6
See reviews for
22
81
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2010

We stayed at casa rosada longer then i intended. due to me getting dengue we were sort of stuck here. But this was the perfect place for it. With good food aand fantastic service. they really went out of their way to make us comfortable. I really owe a big thank you to Ann for all her help.
It was too bad that i was to sick to fully enjoy this place.
They have very good fresh food. The location is (one of) the best in Livingston.
I would definetelly recommend people to stay here when in Livingston.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daanvanderelsken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2010

My girlfriend and me stayed for two nights at Casa Rosada. We both loved the atmosphere, location, service and food (!!) at this place. Even though our caban had a leak so that we ended up in the owner's house the second night, we would recommend Casa Rosada to everyone! They have by far the best food in town! A number of other couples we spoke didn't really like Livingston town as the hotels they stayed in were a bit dodgy. We have nothing but great memories of Livingston because at Casa Rosada you can still enjoy every moment here! (also see my review of a kayaking tour through the jungle).

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WillemBierensdeHaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2010

It is a great experience to arrive by boat at the pier of Casa Rosada. First impression is right! Very nice house with lovely garden direct at the water.
The small huts/bungalows in the garden are simple but very clean and charming! We had no problem sharing the bathroom here, so we normally prefer to have our own.
Unfortunately we had no reservation and so we only could stay one night, but we came back for dinner. This was really really good!! Sandra is a great cook! Also a beautiful atmosphere with candles close to the water!
Javier the owner was very very nice and helpful!
If you stay in Livingston stay here!! Best atmosphere, it is a gem!
Livingston itself was a bit disappointing for me. I didn't like the atmosphere in town, a bit rude and strange! But the boat journey and the Casa Rosada is worth the stay!
Thank you Javier and Sandra and have a good time in Belgium!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidaysandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, CA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2010

Yes, THE place to stay in Livingston is here!! As previously noted, the charming thatch huts are somewhat on the simple side, however Casa Rosada is spiffy clean and in a great location. Grounds are well manicured and there are two fantastic communal areas - one inside and one outside (with cover) where you can sit in comfortable chairs and enjoy a drink or research the next leg of your trip.

Javier and his wife are very warm and hospitible hosts, going the extra step to provide great service. The kitchen staff are efficient and greet you with giant smiles. Restaurant serves solid regional fare at reasonable prices. Casa Rosada is 5 stars in my mind. The only major disappointment was that we were not able to stay longer!!! We loved the quaint seaside village of Livingston and hope to return some day. When we do, we'll be contacting our friend Javier.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kateinoakland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2010

We enjoyed our stay here thoroughly. The service, the coffee, the FOOD...brilliant! Rooms are basic but spotless and the single beds aren't the best for couples but for a few nights it's not an issue. The owners - Javier and Sandra, as well as the staff are so helpful and friendly. All in all, La Casa Rosada is a joy - we could not recommend it highly enough!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juzzy1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2010

As long as you don't mind more of a camping feel, this is the place to stay in Livingston. $20/night got us a private thatched bungalow with beds and bug nets. Javier and his wife are very personable, and provide great service, knowledge of the local area, and delicious meals.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edgetroop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingston
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Caribe
Hotel Villa Caribe
#1 of 9 in Livingston
262 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Finca Tatin
Hotel Finca Tatin
#2 of 9 in Livingston
346 reviews
0.0 mi away
Catamaran Island Hotel
Catamaran Island Hotel
#5 of 9 in Livingston
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mansion del Rio
0.0 mi away
Hotel Marina & Yacht Club Nana Juana
0.0 mi away
Amatique Bay Resort & Marina
Amatique Bay Resort & Marina
#1 of 3 in Puerto Barrios
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Rosada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Rosada

Property: Hotel Casa Rosada
Address: Livingston, Rio Dulce 01800, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Izabal Department > Rio Dulce > Livingston
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Livingston
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel La Casa Rosada in rustic Livingston, Guatemala, is located in the rain forest at the mouth of the Rio Dulce and the Amatique Bay of the Caribbean Sea. The old banana port of Livingston is located where the Rio Dulce spills into the Bay of Amatique on the Caribbean Sea. Overlooking the sea from a low hill, Livingston is still an isolated settlement and is only accessible by boat. Livingston has mixed cultures: Q'eqchi (maya), Garifuna, Chinese, Hindu, ... The Rio Dulce, sourced by vast Lake Izabal, is known for its plunging 300 ft canyons, hot water springs, and lush tropical green. Livingston is located 45 minutes by boat from Belize -- famous for its beautiful reef keys. Nearby is Honduras, also known for its spectacular diving, snorkeling and magnificent art-filled ruins of Copán. From Livingston you are within hours of the ruins at Quiriguá and the sensational Tikal. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Casa Rosada Livingston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing