We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasantly surprised!”
Review of Hotel Villa Caribe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Villa Caribe
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Livingston
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
467 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Very pleasantly surprised!”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Our tour guide liked to prepare us for what came next on the hotel fronts and had told us not to expect too much at this one as not much had been done to it since it had been built.. However on arrival (after hauling our cases up a steep brae from the main harbour jetty) we were very surprised to find we had been upgraded to "bungalows" outside in the garden of the main hotel .
Each "bungalow" had a name and looked like a wooden garage from the outside. On entering what a surprise! The room wwas so bright and airy as it had a complete glass wall with patio doors leading to a balcony overlooking the Carribean Sea through coconut trees and the pool below. The two beds were draped overhead with drapes of white calico/cotton material and there were 3 lamps suspended at each side of the beds and the shades were conch shells which gave the lights a lovely glow. The room had really good quiet A/C and a roof fan also a T.V.
The bed linen was crisp and fresh and the room very clean. The bathroom had some toiletries and fluffy towels and the shower window (which also had mesh on it)had the same view as the balcony.
We ate in the hotel restaurant and had a nice meal. Breakfast was buffet style witha fair choice .
When we left we went down steps to the hotels own jetty. (The guide had taken us to the towns jetty on arrival as it is easier to ascend the 200 yards upthe steep brae than the steps. She also said it was the first time that an "upgrade" had happened so we thought we were very lucky!)Absolutely loved being here!

Room Tip: Choose a bungalow- they are more modern than the main hotel as they were added in recent years.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brandylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    120
    32
    10
    7
See reviews for
53
103
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
376 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 666 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

A path leads up from the jetty to the Reception area. The view on approach from Rio Bravo along a "canyon" to the Caribbean Sea is impressive. Sea birds abound. All rooms in the hotel and the restaurant have sea views. It has a large swimming pool. The seafood in the restaurant is very good- a dish of King Prawns, Pork Tenderloin and Chicken was very tasty. The main street of Livingston is just off the hotel, and the shops and stores are surprisingly good value considering the isolated position of the town. Because of heavy rain disembarkation at Rio Bravo was tricky- choice of very big step or foot full of water!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malholme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
771 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

You can see this hotel from the water taxi dock and it is close enough to walk to. I walked right in without a reservation and the guy behind the desk, who also speaks good English, showed me a room. This is the best hotel room that I have seen in Guatemala so far. The room is big with air conditioning and a balcony. The worst thing about this room is that it has two single beds pushed together instead of one double bed. Another guy helped me with my bags. The view of the water is amazing. I went to the restaurant and ate the chicken fajitas, which were good as well. The view from my table is beautiful as well. This will be my base of operations for some site seeing tours over the next few days.

Room Tip: Pick a room high up with a view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kyle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Stayed a night at this hotel, my first time to Guatemala. I was pleasantly surprised. the room was clean and spacious with a great view of the inlet overlooking the pool. I loved waking up to the sound of the tropical birds and looking at the inlet through the coconut trees. The food was fantastic. The Garifuna performance was the icing on the cake. Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I think this might be the best hotel in Livingstone
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Estate555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antigua, Guatemala
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

I'm just back home from a short trip to Livingstone, Guatemala traveling with two friends. We arrived in Livingstone, went straight to Hotel Villa Caribe, negotiated rates and checked in for two nights. Our rooms were very good; spacious, clean and judging by their appearance they have recently been refurbished. Airconditioning plus ceiling fans were standard in the rooms we booked. The views were terrific, stretching out across the bay and the atmosphere in the hotel was relaxed, courteous and friendly. My only moan is that breakfast was average at best but still better than most in Livingstone.
If you're going to Livingstone this is the place to stay. Forget the rest, stay at the best and remember to negotiate the rate, they are happy to be flexible.

Room Tip: The rooms we looked at were excellent; the cabanas are a little more expensive ( +$20 per night) but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peckhamgypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

I have never seen a ‘hotel’ room as dire as this one. It did not have a bed providing instead two children’s cribs which were totally unsuitable for adults. The curtains only covered half of the window which would have woken us at first light had we been able to sleep. The sheets and towels were old and torn. Cleanliness, don’t ask, my skin creeps just thinking about it. The air con was ineffective and kept cutting out. The hotel refused to move us to another room saying they were all the same. If they are going to lie like that they should ensure that they keep the room doors closed.

Room Tip: if they had good rooms they were well hidden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scotworldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013 via mobile

Large rooms, decent food, comfortable beds.
However the main attraction for this hotel is the location, right on the waters edge. We stayed in 4 hotels in Guatemala, and the staff were were the least friendly of all, I don' t know if this was a language issue or not. The restaurant had a nice position overlooking the Rio Dulce, as did all the rooms



Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Visaman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingston
0.4 mi away
Posada El Delfin
Posada El Delfin
#4 of 9 in Livingston
95 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Finca Tatin
Hotel Finca Tatin
#2 of 9 in Livingston
340 reviews
12.4 mi away
Amatique Bay Resort & Marina
Amatique Bay Resort & Marina
#1 of 3 in Puerto Barrios
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Hotel Mansion del Rio
2.1 mi away
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
#7 of 9 in Livingston
42 reviews
14.1 mi away
Hotel Puerto Libre
Hotel Puerto Libre
#3 of 3 in Puerto Barrios
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Caribe

Property: Hotel Villa Caribe
Address: Calle Principal, Barrio el Centro, Livingston, Rio Dulce 01001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Izabal Department > Rio Dulce > Livingston
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Livingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Villa Caribe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing