We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis....”
Review of Hotel Villa Caribe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Villa Caribe
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Livingston
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“An Oasis....”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We arrived here after a long day of travel from Omoa, Honduras and were thrilled to enter this oasis of peace and tranquility. The room was lovely - light and bright with a great balcony. We could not have been happier with our room. The view we had was amazing and the price for what we got was completely reasonable. This is definitely the nicest hotel that you are going to find in Livingston by a long shot. The location is also great, right on the main street of the town and close to the main dock. We ate in the restaurant and thought the service, atmosphere, cocktails, and the food were great. The pool and the property were also lovely. This place was a splurge on our Central American adventure and was well worth it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Indigocat12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    120
    32
    10
    7
See reviews for
53
103
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
232 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Nice setting in pretty gardens by the water, with its own dock.Simple clean room, imaginatively decorated with shell lamps, and with outlook over the water. Close to all the restaurants in town. we did not have dinner here, but breakfast was poor, could have been a lot better. Probably the best place to stay in Livingstone.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank llewellynroger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medellín, Antioquia, Colombia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

After a long travel day, including getting soaked on the boat ride into Livingston, I decided to splurge. I'm glad I did.

I had room 414 for two nights, which gave me sea/river views and a bit of town too. The pool is huge, and I used it several times. There's even a waterfall.

The hammocks by the water are perfect for watching the pelicans.

Breakfast was fine, fruit, eggs, banana bread. The usual, but the sea view made it nicer. I also clocked the internet in the restaurant at a very fast 8MB download. Wifi in my room near reception was much slower.

My one suggestion is for them to buy real beds for the rooms like mine that have two single beds pushed together. They're on a metal base with wood supports. It's comfortable enough but it looks cheap in an otherwise nice room and hotel.

Service has been friendly, and offseason rates are a bargain. I'm paying just $65/night, including breakfast.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Villa Caribe twice during our trip to Belize and Guatemala. This is an excellent hotel for the money. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom very nice, with a cool shower. My partner really liked the bamboo towel racks. We spent some time in the pool which was also very large and beautiful, surrounded by lovely gardens. The hotel is just up the street from the docks, so that makes it very convenient. We wanted to go to a particular restaurant that had been recommended to us, and one of the interns of the hotel staff actually walked us directly to the restaurant. Awesome service. In the morning, from our balcony, we watched as the shrimp boats came in from a night of fishing. A really wonderful experience at this hotel, will definitely stay there again on our next trip to Guatemala.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I found Hotel Villa Caribe during my search for "reasonably luxury"" living. I wondered into a hotel situated about a five minute walk from the docks of livingston upon arrival from pto barrios.

The room was located on the second floor with a nice view of the property. The hotel included a nice, large pool with wooden lounge chairs around the perimeter. I did not see any lounge chair pillows or coverings for the chairs during my stay. Sitting/laying on wood be uncomfortable if you were lounging or taking in the sun.

The restaurant was pretty big and the staff were helpful with various questions regarding the drink menu. I walked the grounds and I was able to see pelicans/birds sitting/flying in and out of the trees. The hotel also offers these tree house cabanas which looked very nice and are situated closer to the water than the rest of the rooms in the hotel.

On some occasions, i would leave my key in a basket at the front desk and when i returned it would still be in the basket. I found this unsettling since staff or other hotel guests had the opportunity to access to my room while I was out.

The room came with two single beds that were pushed together to make a double bed. The beds were not built for comfort and after further inspection, I noticed a metal frame, with about 12 to 14 wood planks which supported the mattress. The room had an air conditioner, a patio for about three people and a small flat screen television. No microwave or small refrigerator were available.

I selected the hotel after Casa Nostra, Casa de Iguana, Casa Posada were unable to accommodate my needs and wants.

Room Tip: Rooms 414 to 418 all have a decent view of the hotel grounds, part of livingston and the rio dulce.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bryant p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
467 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Our tour guide liked to prepare us for what came next on the hotel fronts and had told us not to expect too much at this one as not much had been done to it since it had been built.. However on arrival (after hauling our cases up a steep brae from the main harbour jetty) we were very surprised to find we had been upgraded to "bungalows" outside in the garden of the main hotel .
Each "bungalow" had a name and looked like a wooden garage from the outside. On entering what a surprise! The room wwas so bright and airy as it had a complete glass wall with patio doors leading to a balcony overlooking the Carribean Sea through coconut trees and the pool below. The two beds were draped overhead with drapes of white calico/cotton material and there were 3 lamps suspended at each side of the beds and the shades were conch shells which gave the lights a lovely glow. The room had really good quiet A/C and a roof fan also a T.V.
The bed linen was crisp and fresh and the room very clean. The bathroom had some toiletries and fluffy towels and the shower window (which also had mesh on it)had the same view as the balcony.
We ate in the hotel restaurant and had a nice meal. Breakfast was buffet style witha fair choice .
When we left we went down steps to the hotels own jetty. (The guide had taken us to the towns jetty on arrival as it is easier to ascend the 200 yards upthe steep brae than the steps. She also said it was the first time that an "upgrade" had happened so we thought we were very lucky!)Absolutely loved being here!

Room Tip: Choose a bungalow- they are more modern than the main hotel as they were added in recent years.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brandylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
376 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 666 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

A path leads up from the jetty to the Reception area. The view on approach from Rio Bravo along a "canyon" to the Caribbean Sea is impressive. Sea birds abound. All rooms in the hotel and the restaurant have sea views. It has a large swimming pool. The seafood in the restaurant is very good- a dish of King Prawns, Pork Tenderloin and Chicken was very tasty. The main street of Livingston is just off the hotel, and the shops and stores are surprisingly good value considering the isolated position of the town. Because of heavy rain disembarkation at Rio Bravo was tricky- choice of very big step or foot full of water!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malholme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingston
0.4 mi away
Posada El Delfin
Posada El Delfin
#4 of 9 in Livingston
95 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Finca Tatin
Hotel Finca Tatin
#2 of 9 in Livingston
340 reviews
12.4 mi away
Amatique Bay Resort & Marina
Amatique Bay Resort & Marina
#1 of 3 in Puerto Barrios
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Hotel Mansion del Rio
2.1 mi away
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
#7 of 9 in Livingston
42 reviews
14.1 mi away
Hotel Puerto Libre
Hotel Puerto Libre
#3 of 3 in Puerto Barrios
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Caribe

Property: Hotel Villa Caribe
Address: Calle Principal, Barrio el Centro, Livingston, Rio Dulce 01001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Izabal Department > Rio Dulce > Livingston
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Livingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Villa Caribe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing