We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Casa Nostra, almost like home!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Nostra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Nostra
Ranked #1 of 13 Livingston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leuven
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Casa Nostra, almost like home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

Casa Nostra is a small house with just 3 rooms, so it feels like a home stay! Stuart does everything to make your stay as comfortable as possible! I also tried the pizza and it was wonderful! Great place to stay in Livingston!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Evelien I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuart w, Owner at Casa Nostra, responded to this review, 9 February 2013
Thank you. I love having a small place where I get to know everyone and can treat many like family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    12
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
47
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013

We spent 2 nights at Casa Nostra and liked it a lot.
It's a comfy place with a very personal touch. Rooms are nice and clean, and the pizza was excellent.
Stuart was very supportive getting us on the boat to Punta Gorda.
We would always stay there again. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SlykeR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2012

We stayed in Livingston for two nights in December 2012. We didnt stay at Casa Nostra, but we ate there both nights. The tapado was amazing and so is their pizza. Stuart, the owner is great. He makes ever person feel very at-home and important. He takes the quality of his food and service very seriously. Its a great little place to stop by so make sure you do!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2012

Stuart's place is just great for relaxing. The rooms are good and very clean. There's Wi-fi. You can get great pizzas made my Stuart's delightful wife. But what makes this place stand out is the time Stuart spends making sure that all your plans run smoothly. He is amazingly helpful and interesting. Stay here, it's a great place.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Polleur, Liege, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2012

We met Stuart in the street and he is very sympatic, so we decide to go to his hostel ! Place is great, Stuart is so friendly and could do a lot of things for you, like giving good tips, advices, and super good food :) !
Very quiet place, in front of the water, with super view on moutain, hot shower !!! So good conditions to chill and have fun.

We passed just one day here but we should had stay l Linvingston is small but nice, you could have fun here.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cartagena, Colombia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2012

Great location on the water. Very clean bathroom and bedrooms. Hot, hot showers, Juliana cleans from sunrise to sundown. Within a 4 minute walk from everything. Peaceful backyard, hammocks, outdoor dining. The best Pizza and fish I have ever had in my life. The coffee and homemade fruit filled donuts are incredible.I will tell everyone about this place. Stuart, the owner made sure that everything was perfect. Highly, highly recommended

Room Tip: all about the same. they have the sound of waves at night and very comfortable new beds and sheets
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donn185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

We stayed one night in Casa Nostra while travelling through Guatemala, but wished we could have stayed longer.
Stewart, the owner, made us feel really welcome and couldn't do enough to make sure we were happy. The kitten, dogs and parrot were playful and we truly felt at home.
The food and drinks are delicious - we tried the pizza and (very) fresh fish which were as good as promised and we have taken away the recipe for the lime juice to try to recreate at home.
The view from the dock out back where you can relax in a hammock is stunning, providing a wonderful setting for dinner. All in all Casa Nostra is truly an amazing place to stay and we would love to go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingston
4.1 mi away
Hotel Finca Tatin
Hotel Finca Tatin
#2 of 9 in Livingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Caribe
Hotel Villa Caribe
#1 of 9 in Livingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.0 mi away
Posada El Delfin
Posada El Delfin
#4 of 9 in Livingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
#7 of 9 in Livingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
12.6 mi away
Amatique Bay Resort & Marina
Amatique Bay Resort & Marina
#1 of 3 in Puerto Barrios
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Round House Hostel
The Round House Hostel
#2 of 13 in Livingston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Nostra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Nostra

Property: Casa Nostra
Address: About 500 Yards From the Municipal Dock | Calle Marcos Sanchez Diaz, Livingston, Rio Dulce 18002, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Region: Guatemala > Izabal Department > Rio Dulce > Livingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Livingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a boutique Inn offering the best food in Livingston from Seafood, Vegetarian dishes, incredible Pizzas and curries. We are a small clean 3 bedroom house located on the river at the mouth of the Rio Dulce where it meets the Caribbean. Our back yard is the river, we offer outdoor hammocks and dining under our palapa. We make every thing fresh from scratch, buy our seafood, Calamari, Shrimp and fish daily off our back dock and always have a abundant fruit and vegetables for our liquados and freshly prepared dishes. You will feel special here and enjoy the tranquil setting, peace and quiet and still be within a 4 minute walk from the center of everything. I can help arrange jungle walking tours, fishing trips, Cooking classes, snorkeling trips to Southern Belize. Enjoy the local waterfalls or White Sandy beaches. We also offer Kayaking and fishing in the Bay or river. Anything you want, just ask. I will make sure you get the most out of Livingston and enjoy your time here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Casa Nostra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing