We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My second time at this magical place”
Review of Casa Nostra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Nostra
Ranked #1 of 11 Livingston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My second time at this magical place”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Already after 6 months I had to return to this amazing place. Stuart not only makes the best pizza in town, he is also so much fun to hang out with. The place is wonderful located with an amazing ocean-front view. The rooms are really nice and clean.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pellesjoqvist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    12
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
24
51
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

To start off i would like to thank Stuart for the great stay and to all his staff! upon first stepping into casa nostra we were immediately welcomed and given a room. We stayed for 3 nights and were showed where the best restaurants (although the food there is all local and handmade by Stuart and his team), swimming spots and scooter rentals were. The food made at the Casa was amazing from pizza to the famous soup, and unbeatable french toast stuffed with fresh fruit in the morning. If you have time ask Stuart to drive you in his boat up to the roundhouse to do the kayak rentals, where it took us about 4 hours to kayak back (current and wind against us mind you) was a really great time to kayak to the natural hot springs as well as enjoy the luscious scenery on the way back. All thumbs up for this review would recommend to any traveler!

Room Tip: Try the meals at the Casa Nostra prior to anything else in town you will not be disappointed and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tourism_gerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

My daughter and I stayed here and it was amazing from the hospitality of the hosts to the incredible dishes they serve out of their restaurant. The rooms were clean and the house had an intimate feel that we had not experienced before, it felt like home. The back of Casa Nostra is right on the water which means Stuart gets to pick out the fresh catch of the day directly off of the docks. I would definitely recommend Casa Nostra...

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Casa Nostra was what made our stay in Livingston really amazing. The host/owner Stuart is probably the most welcoming person you will ever meet and on top of that his cooking is brilliant and the pizza the absolute best in Guatemala. The place is at a great location, very clean and you just feel relaxed and at home. In short, Casa Nostra is the place you definitely want to be when in Livingston.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Maya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed here over New Year's for three nights and had a fantastic time. The owners are incredibly welcoming, hospitable and helpful with information and services. Our room was very clean, comfortable and quiet. The place is on the water, and although the rooms don't have a view, you just walk out of the room and into a yard, where you can sit or hammock and enjoy the confluence of Rio Dulce into the Ocean, all this for an unbeatable price. Best of all Stuart is an amazing chef, and we ate almost all of our meals right at Casa Nostra! Best deal in town for sure!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zafirb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 December 2013

It was like all of a sudden i had a brother that lived in Guatemala. Stuart and his wife were incredibly helpful, they planned our days for us. We got to see 'La Cuava Della Tiger'(amazing swimming in a cave) even though the tours were not running that week. Its a small place so book ahead if you want to guarantee a room, hopefully they acquire afew more soon. And yes the pizzas are truely the best...Stuart has to order days in advance in order to get the best ingredients. Livingstone(Guatemala) is a better place with people like Stuart there and i really hope that some of his ideas for the local community and wildlife are listened to and acted upon.... Thank you Stuart and Solidad

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stoff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 night and really enjoyed our time here. Stuart and his wife Solidad were excellent hosts making us feel very welcome. The pizzas were excellent, so even if you don't stay here, go for the food. The little restaurant at the back was right on the water and a great place to chill in a hammock and have a couple of beers. Being Livingston, the streets are noisy so be prepared to be woken up by dogs and roosters through the night- but you will find that wherever you choose to stay! Highly recommend this place especially for those who want to avoid noisier party hostels.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliBob86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingston
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Caribe
Hotel Villa Caribe
#1 of 9 in Livingston
262 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Finca Tatin
Hotel Finca Tatin
#2 of 9 in Livingston
346 reviews
12.4 mi away
Amatique Bay Resort & Marina
Amatique Bay Resort & Marina
#1 of 3 in Puerto Barrios
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Catamaran Island Hotel
Catamaran Island Hotel
#5 of 9 in Livingston
125 reviews
14.1 mi away
Hotel Puerto Libre
Hotel Puerto Libre
#2 of 3 in Puerto Barrios
38 reviews
21.3 mi away
Banana Palms Hotel Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Nostra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Nostra

Property: Casa Nostra
Address: About 500 Yards From the Municipal Dock | Calle Marcos Sanchez Diaz, Livingston, Rio Dulce 18002, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Region: Guatemala > Izabal Department > Rio Dulce > Livingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Livingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a boutique Inn offering the best food in Livingston from Seafood, Vegetarian dishes, incredible Pizzas and curries, pastas. We have 3 private rooms and 2 suites with air conditioning. All rooms have 2nd floor balconies overlooking the bay, river and mountains, we are located on the river at the mouth of the Rio Dulce where it meets the Caribbean. Our back yard is the river, we offer outdoor hammocks a new 2 story dock, outdoor riverside dining. We make every thing fresh from scratch, buy our seafood, Calamari, Shrimp and fish daily off our back dock and always have fresh fruit and vegetables for our liquados, vegetarian and vwegan dishes, salads and freshly prepared dishes. You will feel special here and enjoy the tranquil setting, peace and quiet and still be within a 4 minute walk from the center of everything. I can help arrange jungle walking tours, fishing trips, Cooking classes, snorkeling trips to Southern Belize. Enjoy the local waterfalls or White Sandy beaches. We also offer Kayaking and fishing in the Bay or river. Anything you want, just ask. I will make sure you get the most out of Livingston and enjoy your time here. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing