We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whether you stay there or not, go and visit Stuart!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Nostra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Nostra
Ranked #1 of 13 Livingston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bozeman, Montana
1 review
“Whether you stay there or not, go and visit Stuart!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Stuart is the owner of this hostel/hotel/ B&B. He and his wife are friendly and AMAZING cooks. Stuart takes a lot of pride in Livingston, in general, and is more than happy to help any passerby. If you are hungry, their ceviche is life-changing and their pizza is a great break for your intestinal tract while traveling in Central America. Also, ask for a smoothie but allow him creative freedom- you will NOT be disappointed. If you are able to stay there, do- it is a slice of home while still allowing you to experience all Livingston has to offer.

If you go, tell Stuart that a couple from Montana says hello. And don't pet the parrot unless you are SURE she is in a good mood!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    12
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
47
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Livingston, Guatemala
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

I have just spent 6 days in Casa Nostra with the ever attentive owner/ chef, Stuart and his delightful wife, Soledad. The rooms are basic but SUCH good value. It is home from home. The breakfasts are to die for and it is hardly worth going anywhere else in the refreshing evenings as Stuart buys fresh produce every day to cook for his guests, the fish was marvellous. The ambience is one of relaxation as the sea laps at your feet and you gaze out across the estuary to the distant mountains. Stuart gives accurate, informative tips and guides one to the best places to visit. 24/7 WiFi is available and drinks, hot cold, alcoholic and none, are always available. I was very sorry to have to leave.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamelita66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

Already after 6 months I had to return to this amazing place. Stuart not only makes the best pizza in town, he is also so much fun to hang out with. The place is wonderful located with an amazing ocean-front view. The rooms are really nice and clean.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pellesjoqvist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

To start off i would like to thank Stuart for the great stay and to all his staff! upon first stepping into casa nostra we were immediately welcomed and given a room. We stayed for 3 nights and were showed where the best restaurants (although the food there is all local and handmade by Stuart and his team), swimming spots and scooter rentals were. The food made at the Casa was amazing from pizza to the famous soup, and unbeatable french toast stuffed with fresh fruit in the morning. If you have time ask Stuart to drive you in his boat up to the roundhouse to do the kayak rentals, where it took us about 4 hours to kayak back (current and wind against us mind you) was a really great time to kayak to the natural hot springs as well as enjoy the luscious scenery on the way back. All thumbs up for this review would recommend to any traveler!

Room Tip: Try the meals at the Casa Nostra prior to anything else in town you will not be disappointed and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tourism_gerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

My daughter and I stayed here and it was amazing from the hospitality of the hosts to the incredible dishes they serve out of their restaurant. The rooms were clean and the house had an intimate feel that we had not experienced before, it felt like home. The back of Casa Nostra is right on the water which means Stuart gets to pick out the fresh catch of the day directly off of the docks. I would definitely recommend Casa Nostra...

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

Casa Nostra was what made our stay in Livingston really amazing. The host/owner Stuart is probably the most welcoming person you will ever meet and on top of that his cooking is brilliant and the pizza the absolute best in Guatemala. The place is at a great location, very clean and you just feel relaxed and at home. In short, Casa Nostra is the place you definitely want to be when in Livingston.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Maya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed here over New Year's for three nights and had a fantastic time. The owners are incredibly welcoming, hospitable and helpful with information and services. Our room was very clean, comfortable and quiet. The place is on the water, and although the rooms don't have a view, you just walk out of the room and into a yard, where you can sit or hammock and enjoy the confluence of Rio Dulce into the Ocean, all this for an unbeatable price. Best of all Stuart is an amazing chef, and we ate almost all of our meals right at Casa Nostra! Best deal in town for sure!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zafirb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingston
4.1 mi away
Hotel Finca Tatin
Hotel Finca Tatin
#2 of 9 in Livingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Caribe
Hotel Villa Caribe
#1 of 9 in Livingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.0 mi away
Posada El Delfin
Posada El Delfin
#4 of 9 in Livingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
#7 of 9 in Livingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
12.6 mi away
Amatique Bay Resort & Marina
Amatique Bay Resort & Marina
#1 of 3 in Puerto Barrios
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Round House Hostel
The Round House Hostel
#2 of 13 in Livingston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Nostra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Nostra

Property: Casa Nostra
Address: About 500 Yards From the Municipal Dock | Calle Marcos Sanchez Diaz, Livingston, Rio Dulce 18002, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Region: Guatemala > Izabal Department > Rio Dulce > Livingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Livingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a boutique Inn offering the best food in Livingston from Seafood, Vegetarian dishes, incredible Pizzas and curries. We are a small clean 3 bedroom house located on the river at the mouth of the Rio Dulce where it meets the Caribbean. Our back yard is the river, we offer outdoor hammocks and dining under our palapa. We make every thing fresh from scratch, buy our seafood, Calamari, Shrimp and fish daily off our back dock and always have a abundant fruit and vegetables for our liquados and freshly prepared dishes. You will feel special here and enjoy the tranquil setting, peace and quiet and still be within a 4 minute walk from the center of everything. I can help arrange jungle walking tours, fishing trips, Cooking classes, snorkeling trips to Southern Belize. Enjoy the local waterfalls or White Sandy beaches. We also offer Kayaking and fishing in the Bay or river. Anything you want, just ask. I will make sure you get the most out of Livingston and enjoy your time here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Casa Nostra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing