We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place With Good Food”
Review of Casa Nostra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Nostra
Ranked #1 of 11 Livingston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Casa Nostra is a small place with no dorms but private rooms. The owner Stuart is such a nice person and helpful in every single moment and occasion. He gave us good advises for the town, schedule to go to other places for better prices then all other places charge! the food is also delicious. we had the local dish Tapado and it was excelente.
they have also a home parrot.
the rooms are very basic, but clean and at night was it so hot, even with the fan and open door it didn't cool down.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaraBana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2014

I went to Livingston with a friend and we chose Casa Nostra based on tripadvisor reviews. I emailed Stuart for a reservation and even though I did not pay anything up front, the last available room was saved just for us when we arrived.

The room is basic but clean. I was very pleased that the hotel rooms do not have thatch roof and had very secure window screens. The backyard/restaurant area has a couple of hammocks and beautiful views of the river outlet. Visiting birds make it spectacular.

What really sets this hotel apart is Stuart. He is very friendly and helpful. We had many questions and he happily sat with us to explain everything to us. The food is also very good.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heidi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Stuart, the owner, will help you to get the best from Livingston, always in a very kind way. An exemple : We took a tour in kayak, he brought us up the river and came for us twice with his boat to check if we were fine. The second time we were so tired, he brought us back. And, of course, his restaurant is know to be the best in town. The house is very simple but clean and pleasant. An advise : be careful with Erika, the parrot, she's too smart to be trusted ! We were very happy to stay there.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Franchis-GM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Stuart is one of the most amazing and kind people I have ever met! Even after our stay, he did everything he could to help us with our journey and that is priceless! Food is also amazing and the stay was perfect!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Alireza T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Stuart was really nice and we had a great time here! The food here was truly great... we had amazing hash browns and stuffed french toast for breakfast. We barely ate anywhere else. The room was basic but comfortable and we felt at home.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank Quakermaid99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

Arriving in Livingston is like leaving Guatemala and arriving somewhere else, and Casa Nostra reflects that change perfectly.

A tiny place right on the water with incredibly friendly owners Stuart and Soledad, this place is like living with family.

Relaxed, comfortable, excellent food (Stuart claims it to be the best in town.. we were left with little doubt about that!), and a great dining area right on the waters edge (with visiting bird life), this place is one of those that you remember for years after.

It's no mistake that nearly all of the reviews are 5 star.. if you want to stay in a place that is as friendly as Livingston itself, stay here!

nb.. best to book ahead.. English & Spanish spoken

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank BigglesGoesBananas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Stuart is the owner of this hostel/hotel/ B&B. He and his wife are friendly and AMAZING cooks. Stuart takes a lot of pride in Livingston, in general, and is more than happy to help any passerby. If you are hungry, their ceviche is life-changing and their pizza is a great break for your intestinal tract while traveling in Central America. Also, ask for a smoothie but allow him creative freedom- you will NOT be disappointed. If you are able to stay there, do- it is a slice of home while still allowing you to experience all Livingston has to offer.

If you go, tell Stuart that a couple from Montana says hello. And don't pet the parrot unless you are SURE she is in a good mood!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Livingston hotels
4.2 mi away
Hotel Finca Tatin
Hotel Finca Tatin
#1 of 8 in Livingston
366 reviews
0.2 mi away
Posada El Delfin
Posada El Delfin
#4 of 8 in Livingston
100 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Caribe
Hotel Villa Caribe
#2 of 8 in Livingston
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Dos Arboles
Dos Arboles
#8 of 8 in Livingston
128 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
#7 of 8 in Livingston
44 reviews
19.3 mi away
Catamaran Island Hotel
Catamaran Island Hotel
#5 of 8 in Livingston
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Nostra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Nostra

Address: About 500 Yards From the Municipal Dock | Calle Marcos Sanchez Diaz, Livingston, Rio Dulce 18002, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Region: Guatemala > Izabal Department > Rio Dulce > Livingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Livingston
Price Range: £20 - £46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a boutique Inn offering the best food in Livingston from Seafood, Vegetarian dishes, incredible Pizzas and curries, pastas. We have 3 private rooms and 2 suites with air conditioning. All rooms have 2nd floor balconies overlooking the bay, river and mountains, we are located on the river at the mouth of the Rio Dulce where it meets the Caribbean. Our back yard is the river, we offer outdoor hammocks a new 2 story dock, outdoor riverside dining. We make every thing fresh from scratch, buy our seafood, Calamari, Shrimp and fish daily off our back dock and always have fresh fruit and vegetables for our liquados, vegetarian and vwegan dishes, salads and freshly prepared dishes. You will feel special here and enjoy the tranquil setting, peace and quiet and still be within a 4 minute walk from the center of everything. I can help arrange jungle walking tours, fishing trips, Cooking classes, snorkeling trips to Southern Belize. Enjoy the local waterfalls or White Sandy beaches. We also offer Kayaking and fishing in the Bay or river. Anything you want, just ask. I will make sure you get the most out of Livingston and enjoy your time here. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing