We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wanna getaway?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Catamaran Island Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Livingston
pai sali thailand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“wanna getaway?”
Reviewed 18 August 2012

nicest marina/hotel on the rio that i have seen....was there doing a boat delivery and stayed aboard a boat for two weeks.....excellent staff......have knot seen the rooms so will only comment on general surroundings which are outstanding.....if you have a problem with the room see kevin and am sure he will take care of it.....great pool for short people and the landscaping is outstanding....jazz festival venue knot rock festival....this is rio dulce knot rio de janiero ......

Room Tip: when in doubt charlie out....always cavu
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nojoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    40
    31
    11
    5
See reviews for
27
42
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

well what do i say about this place best thing about it boatride out of their the room i was allocated was supposed to be luxury ???? 4 beds crammed into a cabin over the lakesedge no a/c curtains that didnt close oh and no electric due to a heavy storm (5pm 0n the sunday -8am on the monday ) no help with luggage again though the buffet breakfast was good we even had BACON if this is the best well i say no more

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daveywavey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Livingston hotels

London, England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

I have been staying in rooms for about $40/50 a night, so splashing out $85 was a bit of a treat, which I'd been looking forward to. I arrived in Rio Dulce after a 9hr bus journey and there was no one from the hotel and no instructions other than those on the internet on how to get there. After wandering for 20 minutes, I paid someone to call the hotel and take me to the collection point. (Best bet is go to Sundog Cafe and ask the nice Swiss owner to call them). No hot water in the room (I only managed one hot shower out of four). The room was very dated and grubby and I shared it with several cockroaches. Although the view was beautiful from the balcony. The food was poor and the staff didn't seem overly concerned with ensuring you had a pleasant stay. I would have expected a shuttle service to Rio Dulce at regular times so that you can at least eat elsewhere, but I was told I could take the boat at 8am and return at 3pm for free (there isn't much to do in Rio Dulce) or I could pay $5 each way to be collected. I took the boat ride to Livingston and back for Q200 which you can book at the hotel for the same price as the boat dock. A very disappointing stay - I was glad to be on my way.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank louiseroach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

I frequent this hotel often and it's amazing! The grounds are consistently manicured beautifully, the pool has a bar in front of it for afternoon bevvies, the staff are friendly and if you have patience they'll even crack out their English. The boat is free for check in and check out! Breakfast was great, and we were tempted to just sit right from when it started till when it ended! The 'boaters' are a 'different' bunch but quite entertaining! Try for the rooms on the water and wake up to the water lapping and howler monkeys close by! When else can you say you stayed on your own private island for this price?!

Room Tip: The water rooms are beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank becn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monument, Colorado
Level Contributor
206 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

I've never stayed at a place quite like this. You are on your own private island. I hope more people will come and visit. I would recommend hiring a boat to take you around the Rio Dulce, to the River Castle, Livingston, and also Siete Altares (cliff jumping).

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pedrothelion77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colorado
Level Contributor
109 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

This hotel is on an island and you have to get there by boat. The hotel has free pick up from the dock where you can park or get dropped off. The staff is very friendly and hard working and the cabins are spacious. We would love to stay there again if we ever went back to that area. Free breakfast buffet included with your room. Dinners were also great and very affordable. You can order your dinner and tell them what time you'll be there and it's ready when you arrive which is nice so you don't have to spend time waiting for your food to be cooked. Plenty of hot water and air conditioning worked well too. Full service bar right by the pool was great as well.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lzinsmaster11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunny California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2011

This is a tropical paradise resort and mostly what it seems. Its strengths are beautifully kept and spacious grounds; a delicious and extensive breakfast buffet included with most room fees, a restaurant open from 7 a.m. to 9 p.m. with quite good if not spectacularly good food for the price; very pleasant shallow pool, and the fun of water taxi transit to adjacent resorts, hotels and the little town of Rio Dulce. Kevin, the proprietor, has a marina and you can mix with the cruise crowd around the pool bar.

All the rooms are cottages and quite charming from the outside. Ours was a “river view,” which turns out to mean on stilts actually out in the river—very fun! You can hear the water gently slapping under your house and you have a fabulous view from your private balcony. While we were there—Feb 2011—we had cool weather and no bugs at all.

Some things to be aware of: our room had some mold and was rather ore dilapidated inside, possibly a factor of being in a tropical climate. Our windows were louvers with screens outside. You can open them to breezes but can’t really see a view from inside too easily. Catamaran offers garden view rooms that might have different features. The water shuttle is free for check-in and check-out, costs about $5 during the day, and to our great surprise was about $20 each way after 6 p.m. There was no literature about hotel policies and amenities in the room, hence we were unprepared.

I think Catamaran is a fair buy for the price; however, I haven’t seen other hotels in the area so can’t compare. Kevin, the owner/proprietor, is a friendly guy who has been there for 41 years and will help with whatever you need if you ask. His accent sounds American; the rest of the staff I encountered did not speak English but had wonderful smiles and great attitude.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkD241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingston
15.1 mi away
Hotel Finca Tatin
Hotel Finca Tatin
#2 of 9 in Livingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
19.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Caribe
Hotel Villa Caribe
#1 of 9 in Livingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
19.1 mi away
Posada El Delfin
Posada El Delfin
#4 of 9 in Livingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Mansion del Rio
0.9 mi away
Hotel Marina & Yacht Club Nana Juana
18.9 mi away
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
#7 of 9 in Livingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catamaran Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catamaran Island Hotel

Property: Catamaran Island Hotel
Address: On the Rio Dulce, Livingston, Rio Dulce, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Izabal Department > Rio Dulce > Livingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Livingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Catamaran Island Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Catamaran Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing