We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing property!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Catamaran Island Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Livingston
Vancouver
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“amazing property!”
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Run by an American, I think, had TVs going in lobby of election stuff and Yankees perched around talking. Rio Dulce is weird: like some mysterious river out of a James Bond movie in Vietnam or something, you take a long river trip to the hotel. You can jump off the dock into the water which is bathwater warm but can't see the bottom. People in town are trippy, mix of latinos and black people speaking English or creole. Hotel property has big pool but didn't have time to go in, nice looking bar but not my style, pretty lights, neat individual cabins, lovely breakfast buffet, nice staff. Room quite large and big enough to go for a little walk around on nicely maintained paths. Wish I had another day at hotel, area very interesting. Bring bug spray!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liltravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    42
    34
    11
    5
See reviews for
28
45
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malibu, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Just returned from Guatemala, which we loved, and stayed at a few different places while traveling around this remarkable country. Unfortunately, Hotel Catamaran was one of them. From the start I had my concerns because the staff was not particularly helpful via email or phone while trying to set up our stay there. It was the holiday season though, so we didn't have too many choices. While it's a great setting on the Rio Dulce and there are some wonderful side trips you can take, we hated our stay at this hotel. With the exception of two front-desk staff, the rest of the staff was unhelpful and often even unfriendly, especially the dining room staff. The food was very average, though the waterfront cabanas were nice. I also disliked the fact that they refused to make recommendations for our trips, in terms of good guides. When traveling in a foreign country, it's helpful if a hotel recommends reliable, informative guides that they work with consistently. It's the policy of Hotel Catamaran not to do this. This was definitely not our experience elsewhere. We are not difficult to please but I would never recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Livingston hotels

Hamburg, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2012

Returning after about 25 years is always difficult as ones memories crystalize mainly around the good things. The Catamaran was since the sixties when Kevin Lucas started it and when I first visited in the late seventies a wonderful place and maybe one of a couple on the Rio Dulce. It has grown quite a bit and added a marina and is now one of many places to stay around the bridge. They still promptly pick you up by boat as it has no road when you call them. Friendly staff and Kevin and his wife still ever present after all those years being a wonderful host. The rooms/cabanas have little changed and are basic and the age of the resort shows at times. It is though clean and the drinks are great and it has one of the best locations on the river. Hopefully it will be not another 25 years before we can go there again.

Room Tip: For the best view "Buena Vista"
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RVoswinckel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pai sali thailand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

nicest marina/hotel on the rio that i have seen....was there doing a boat delivery and stayed aboard a boat for two weeks.....excellent staff......have knot seen the rooms so will only comment on general surroundings which are outstanding.....if you have a problem with the room see kevin and am sure he will take care of it.....great pool for short people and the landscaping is outstanding....jazz festival venue knot rock festival....this is rio dulce knot rio de janiero ......

Room Tip: when in doubt charlie out....always cavu
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nojoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

well what do i say about this place best thing about it boatride out of their the room i was allocated was supposed to be luxury ???? 4 beds crammed into a cabin over the lakesedge no a/c curtains that didnt close oh and no electric due to a heavy storm (5pm 0n the sunday -8am on the monday ) no help with luggage again though the buffet breakfast was good we even had BACON if this is the best well i say no more

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daveywavey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

I have been staying in rooms for about $40/50 a night, so splashing out $85 was a bit of a treat, which I'd been looking forward to. I arrived in Rio Dulce after a 9hr bus journey and there was no one from the hotel and no instructions other than those on the internet on how to get there. After wandering for 20 minutes, I paid someone to call the hotel and take me to the collection point. (Best bet is go to Sundog Cafe and ask the nice Swiss owner to call them). No hot water in the room (I only managed one hot shower out of four). The room was very dated and grubby and I shared it with several cockroaches. Although the view was beautiful from the balcony. The food was poor and the staff didn't seem overly concerned with ensuring you had a pleasant stay. I would have expected a shuttle service to Rio Dulce at regular times so that you can at least eat elsewhere, but I was told I could take the boat at 8am and return at 3pm for free (there isn't much to do in Rio Dulce) or I could pay $5 each way to be collected. I took the boat ride to Livingston and back for Q200 which you can book at the hotel for the same price as the boat dock. A very disappointing stay - I was glad to be on my way.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank louiseroach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

I frequent this hotel often and it's amazing! The grounds are consistently manicured beautifully, the pool has a bar in front of it for afternoon bevvies, the staff are friendly and if you have patience they'll even crack out their English. The boat is free for check in and check out! Breakfast was great, and we were tempted to just sit right from when it started till when it ended! The 'boaters' are a 'different' bunch but quite entertaining! Try for the rooms on the water and wake up to the water lapping and howler monkeys close by! When else can you say you stayed on your own private island for this price?!

Room Tip: The water rooms are beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank becn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingston
19.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Caribe
Hotel Villa Caribe
#1 of 9 in Livingston
262 reviews
15.1 mi away
Hotel Finca Tatin
Hotel Finca Tatin
#2 of 9 in Livingston
346 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Mansion del Rio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Marina & Yacht Club Nana Juana
2.8 mi away
Banana Palms Hotel Resort & Marina
1.6 mi away
Tortugal River Lodge
Tortugal River Lodge
#2 of 18 in Rio Dulce
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catamaran Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catamaran Island Hotel

Property: Catamaran Island Hotel
Address: On the Rio Dulce, Livingston, Rio Dulce, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Izabal Department > Rio Dulce > Livingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Livingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Catamaran Island Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Catamaran Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing