We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved,loved, loved”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Catamaran Island Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Livingston
Givat Olga
Level Contributor
147 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Loved,loved, loved”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

It is situated in such a lovely place - on the banks of Rio Dulche, exactly on the water. The cabin has everything that I need, and the place and the view were unbelievable. Sitting on the deck, looking at the sun rising over the far away mountains , illuminating the waters of great quiet river or in the evening with the raindrops falling all around you .... It's fantastic. I wish I would spend there more time or come again

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    39
    30
    11
    5
See reviews for
27
40
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

This isn't the place you want to go if you are looking for some yuppy Cancun resort. This is where you go when you want to wake up with a cup of coffee and sit on the back porch over the water and enjoy the peace. It is wonderful. There is so much landscaping and plant life that you almost feel like you are alone and away from everyone else. The owner is VERY nice. I rented a kayak and rode all the way across the way. The weather was surprisingly beautiful and I got burned that day. We only had one night there but I would highly recommend it again.

Room Tip: Ask for one right on the the water and close to the pool and restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We always enjoy our stay at Hotel Catamaran. The entire complex is on its own island; however, Hotel Catamaran has what you need on the island so one has little reason to leave. Many of the units are over the water with a private, over the water, patio or porch. The units are rustic, but contain what you need. The units are also separated enough form each other that one feels they have an island to themselves. The different cabins are named after the International Radio Alphabet (Alpha, Bravo, Charlie, etc.). This is a tropical paradise setting (for Guatemala).
There strengths are beautifully kept and spacious grounds.
A very good and extensive breakfast buffet included with most room fees.
A restaurant open from 7 a.m. to 9 p.m., with quite good food for the price (suggest the steaks, a very pleasant surprise and fish dishes always good).
A pleasant shallow pool with well-stocked poolside bar.
The fun of water taxi transit to the little town of Rio Dulce.
And a marina if you need to park you yacht.

All the rooms are cottages and quite charming from the outside. I request a “river view,” which turns out to mean on stilts actually out in the river - very nice and quite. You can hear the water gently slapping under your house and you have a great views from your private balcony. While we were there (December and January), we had no bugs. The water shuttle is free for check-in and checkout, but charges for other excursions during the day.

The owner/proprietor is friendly, has been there for 40 years, and will help with whatever you need if you ask. (I believe he is a transplanted US citizen) The rest of the staff I encountered did speak some English and all had great attitude and big smiles.

Room Tip: Request a “river view,” which turns out to mean on stilts actually out in the river - very nice and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken-from-MO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibiza, Islas Baleares, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel because my mom and dad had told us great things about it. We got to Rio Dulce and the boat from the hotel came to pick us up across the river. We stayed in a bungalow and absolutely loved it. It was simple but nice and the fact that it was on top of the water made the nights very soothing. We met the owner of the hotel and he was actually from Long Island, just like us. Very friendly and funny. The food was good but nothing special and overpriced, considering you're paying over $10 for a burger and fries in Guatemala. We took a trip to Livingston one of the days there but we had to contact someone outside of the hotel to do this. Wish the hotel would set up day trips because it would make life much easier considering you cant exactly trust people in general. We also went kayaking two mornings and went across the river into these little canals and saw some monkeys in the tress but they were sleeping.

The one day we decided to just relax, I almost killed myself. ITS SO BORING! They dont have anything to do there! At least there should be music playing or a ping pong table or something. The pool is nothing special either. Perhaps it was our fault that we stayed there too long but on the same note, there should be some activities to do.

That's why the title is what is. If youre old and dont want to do anything besides chill next to the pool and read, this is perfect for you but if you need a bit more excitement, I suggest going to another resort. I couldnt give it less than 3 stars because I really did like the feel and look but this place needs some life added to it!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Bravo bungalow. It was two twin beds and a full bed in seperate areas along with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank V M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Catamaran is a three star Guatemalan Hotel, on a beautiful property.

The island has a very relaxed vibe, there are no wild parties going on, just relaxed chats.

Breakfast buffet was great, with lots of fresh fruit and bacon! Other meals are pretty standard fare, so you might want to go to other places for some variety.

The Hotel also has a marina, and the 'cruisers' will also be at the bar during the evenings. They tend to be expat's who have travelled long distances on their sailboats. You can get some good sailing yarns from them!

Many of the rooms are perched over the water with a balcony. It was great to relax and read, watching the birds and boats on this beautiful river.

Room Tip: Tip 1: The boat from Fronteras is free to check in and for leaving. Just phone the hotel, wait at S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karma1Columbia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
146 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Run by an American, I think, had TVs going in lobby of election stuff and Yankees perched around talking. Rio Dulce is weird: like some mysterious river out of a James Bond movie in Vietnam or something, you take a long river trip to the hotel. You can jump off the dock into the water which is bathwater warm but can't see the bottom. People in town are trippy, mix of latinos and black people speaking English or creole. Hotel property has big pool but didn't have time to go in, nice looking bar but not my style, pretty lights, neat individual cabins, lovely breakfast buffet, nice staff. Room quite large and big enough to go for a little walk around on nicely maintained paths. Wish I had another day at hotel, area very interesting. Bring bug spray!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liltravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malibu, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Just returned from Guatemala, which we loved, and stayed at a few different places while traveling around this remarkable country. Unfortunately, Hotel Catamaran was one of them. From the start I had my concerns because the staff was not particularly helpful via email or phone while trying to set up our stay there. It was the holiday season though, so we didn't have too many choices. While it's a great setting on the Rio Dulce and there are some wonderful side trips you can take, we hated our stay at this hotel. With the exception of two front-desk staff, the rest of the staff was unhelpful and often even unfriendly, especially the dining room staff. The food was very average, though the waterfront cabanas were nice. I also disliked the fact that they refused to make recommendations for our trips, in terms of good guides. When traveling in a foreign country, it's helpful if a hotel recommends reliable, informative guides that they work with consistently. It's the policy of Hotel Catamaran not to do this. This was definitely not our experience elsewhere. We are not difficult to please but I would never recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Livingston hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingston
15.1 mi away
Hotel Finca Tatin
Hotel Finca Tatin
#2 of 9 in Livingston
335 reviews
19.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Caribe
Hotel Villa Caribe
#1 of 9 in Livingston
255 reviews
19.1 mi away
Posada El Delfin
Posada El Delfin
#4 of 9 in Livingston
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Mansion del Rio
0.9 mi away
Hotel Marina & Yacht Club Nana Juana
18.9 mi away
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
#7 of 9 in Livingston
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catamaran Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catamaran Island Hotel

Property: Catamaran Island Hotel
Address: on the Rio Dulce, Livingston, Rio Dulce, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Izabal Department > Rio Dulce > Livingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Livingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Catamaran Island Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Catamaran Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing