We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”
Review of Casa Dona Mercedes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Dona Mercedes
Ranked #12 of 33 Quetzaltenango B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Just one block from Celas Maya Spanish School, this place is also just one block from Parque Central, one block from Dispensar Familial, one block from Cafe Bavaria, one block from Salsa Parrada, and a block and a half from Pasaje Enrique. And a half block from Cafe Maya and Restaurant Gruen.

The room I had did not have much of a view, but was comfortable, cleaned daily, fresh towels daily, nice hot shower (that maxed out at a comfortable heat) and was so good that I extended my one week stay to two weeks.

The staff were friendly, and tried to be helpful. The cost for a one week stay works out to about $15 a night, which made it excellent value.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bopenyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
There are newer reviews for Casa Dona Mercedes
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2013 via mobile

It is centrally located and very affordable. It is clean and the staff are helpful. If you are on a budget it is great to stay downstairs with a shared bath. Just make sure to have ear plugs. If you are upstairs it is a tad quieter and you get your own bathroom. The true value is downstairs, but it is a clean and well maintained overall. It he kitchen is also useful if you are on the cheap and want to prepare your own meals. The owner is a gem of a woman and there is also parking that is easier than the Modelo if you need it. It isn't a full service hotel, but the value can't be beaten. Like I said, earplugs do help with the noise.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wolftree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at HCDM for a couple of weeks while we were in Xelaju both studying and trekking. Overall we found the entire experience to be really good.

The location was perfect for us being so close to the Parque, Spanish schools and of course the markets and super market too.

The whole place was impeccably tidy throughout, with the rooms serviced daily and kitchen always kept neat and tidy by staff and other guests.

Overall it's a great spot. The staff were always very nice and up for a chat and of course leant an ear in helping out with learning Spanish. The place was really clean and tidy and it felt pretty homely.

I would recommend this place to all types of travellers. The cost is reasonable across all levels and what you get in return is far above average.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gothemoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

I was here in "Xela" a couple of weeks ago. Although not as obviously beautiful as Antigua, Xela feels much more like a typical Guatemalan city. There is much beauty here but you may have to dig around a bit more to find it. I love trekking and cycling so I decided to stay here for about 5 days to explore the surrounding area i.e. Santa Maria, Tujumulco and there are also some hot springs which I didn't have time to see.
I looked at about 5 different hostels but chose Dona Mercedes because it was the cleanest and just felt really peaceful and comfortable. I paid 90 Q's a night for a private room which is just over 10 dollars and kinda cheap although in Xela you can actually find much cheaper rooms elsewhere if you're on a tighter budget. The kitchen here is decent and well stocked plus there are markets and supermarkets close by so you therefore have all the tools/ingredients required to cook up a nice feast.
The WIFI was OK (not lightning fast) and there was cable TV in the room with fuzzy picture quality.
On the ground floor (which is where the cheaper rooms are) you share 2 bathrooms - one is for men the other for women. I didn't usually have to wait for the bathroom although it was low season so the hostel wasn't full.
This hostel is best suited to those who don't mind spending a bit extra for nicer digs although if you're looking for a long term deal, you're better off looking elsewhere as they didn't seem to offer much in the way of discounts for longer term stayers.
One slight negative was that there were no safes in the rooms and yet they always change the bedding each day. I think the people working here are nice and trustworthy but if you're very security conscious of your valuables, then this may not appeal.

Room Tip: The downstairs "shared bathroom" rooms are by far the cheapest, very clean and convenientl...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank mister_dal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Casa Dona Mercedes has big bright comfy rooms - upstairs have private bathrooms - and is run by a wonderful helpful woman (Michelle). There is drinking water and a kitchen fully stocked with all everything you need for cooking, and a bright sitting area and dining area off the lobby. A single room with private bath was Q170 (US $22.00). The only problem with this hotel is the bar one block away. The music goes on till very late at night. However, the bathrooms have loud vent fans, and this helped drown out some of the noise.

Room Tip: Upstairs are bright with private bathrooms; downstairs are dark with shared baths
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tiadora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Casa Dona Mercedes is a lovely and affordable place to stay in Xela. Although it is set up on the hostal model, with a large shared kitchen, Dona Mercedes has all private rooms. Some have private baths and some have shared baths. All are impeccably clean. The owner Michele and her son Rodrigo are delightul people. The only down side to this hotel is that it is right downtown and so it is somewhat noisy, especially at night. However, the central location means that everything is in walking distance.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back to avoid some of the street noise at night.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leila747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

I stayed with my couple only one night in this hostel... It was very comfortable, clean and neat, the rooms where very nice and big, it also had wifi... is located really near the main plaza..
I

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlierau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quetzaltenango hotels
0.0 mi away
Villa Real Plaza
Villa Real Plaza
#13 of 16 in Quetzaltenango
40 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Modelo
Hotel Modelo
#1 of 16 in Quetzaltenango
191 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pension Bonifaz Hotel
Pension Bonifaz Hotel
#3 of 16 in Quetzaltenango
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Casa Nativos
Casa Nativos
#3 of 33 in Quetzaltenango
29 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Hamilton
Hotel Hamilton
#14 of 33 in Quetzaltenango
5 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Seibel
Casa Seibel
#1 of 24 in Quetzaltenango
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Dona Mercedes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Dona Mercedes

Address: Calle 13-42 6ta | Xela, Quetzaltenango 09001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Quetzaltenango Department > Quetzaltenango
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Quetzaltenango
Price Range: £25 - £37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa Dona Mercedes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Dona Mercedes Hotel Quetzaltenango

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing