We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay in Xela”
Review of Casa Dona Mercedes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Dona Mercedes
Ranked #13 of 36 Quetzaltenango B&B and Inns
Lindau, Germany
Level Contributor
66 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay in Xela”
Reviewed 23 June 2013

What a lovely place! We first went to Casa Argentina but the place was so awful we couldn't bring ourselves to stay there even though it was really cheap. And when we found Casa Doña Mercedes, we were so happy we didn't stay in the first place! Casa Doña Mercedes has a great location, close to the main square, there are many restaurants and cafes arouns. For Q175 we got a HUGE room with two single beds and a double bed, that was cleaned everyday with clean towels daily too. The shared bathrooms were always clean as well. It has a nice common area and book exchange. The staff was incredibly nice and friendly.
Wifi worked very well in the common area and a little bit in the room as well.
We were worried that being by the road in the center it'd get loud, but it was quiet and we got some good night sleep there, also because the bed was very comfy.
Great value and best place we stayed at in Guatemala!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CrossThatBridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    14
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
17
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights and were really glad that we did. It has a very communal feel to it - almost like a big house rather than a hotel/hostel. Many people had dinner together, and there were Spanish lessons going on. Staff were very friendly and helpful.
The room we were in was massive and the shared kitchen and bathrooms clean.

It is located in a great position - near a large supermarket, the central square and tour shops for planning trips to the local attractions.

I would definitely recommend staying here for both short and long stays.

Only downside was that the shower wasnt warm when we used it (just the once though, so could have been unlucky).

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoria, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Just one block from Celas Maya Spanish School, this place is also just one block from Parque Central, one block from Dispensar Familial, one block from Cafe Bavaria, one block from Salsa Parrada, and a block and a half from Pasaje Enrique. And a half block from Cafe Maya and Restaurant Gruen.

The room I had did not have much of a view, but was comfortable, cleaned daily, fresh towels daily, nice hot shower (that maxed out at a comfortable heat) and was so good that I extended my one week stay to two weeks.

The staff were friendly, and tried to be helpful. The cost for a one week stay works out to about $15 a night, which made it excellent value.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bopenyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013 via mobile

It is centrally located and very affordable. It is clean and the staff are helpful. If you are on a budget it is great to stay downstairs with a shared bath. Just make sure to have ear plugs. If you are upstairs it is a tad quieter and you get your own bathroom. The true value is downstairs, but it is a clean and well maintained overall. It he kitchen is also useful if you are on the cheap and want to prepare your own meals. The owner is a gem of a woman and there is also parking that is easier than the Modelo if you need it. It isn't a full service hotel, but the value can't be beaten. Like I said, earplugs do help with the noise.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wolftree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at HCDM for a couple of weeks while we were in Xelaju both studying and trekking. Overall we found the entire experience to be really good.

The location was perfect for us being so close to the Parque, Spanish schools and of course the markets and super market too.

The whole place was impeccably tidy throughout, with the rooms serviced daily and kitchen always kept neat and tidy by staff and other guests.

Overall it's a great spot. The staff were always very nice and up for a chat and of course leant an ear in helping out with learning Spanish. The place was really clean and tidy and it felt pretty homely.

I would recommend this place to all types of travellers. The cost is reasonable across all levels and what you get in return is far above average.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gothemoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

I was here in "Xela" a couple of weeks ago. Although not as obviously beautiful as Antigua, Xela feels much more like a typical Guatemalan city. There is much beauty here but you may have to dig around a bit more to find it. I love trekking and cycling so I decided to stay here for about 5 days to explore the surrounding area i.e. Santa Maria, Tujumulco and there are also some hot springs which I didn't have time to see.
I looked at about 5 different hostels but chose Dona Mercedes because it was the cleanest and just felt really peaceful and comfortable. I paid 90 Q's a night for a private room which is just over 10 dollars and kinda cheap although in Xela you can actually find much cheaper rooms elsewhere if you're on a tighter budget. The kitchen here is decent and well stocked plus there are markets and supermarkets close by so you therefore have all the tools/ingredients required to cook up a nice feast.
The WIFI was OK (not lightning fast) and there was cable TV in the room with fuzzy picture quality.
On the ground floor (which is where the cheaper rooms are) you share 2 bathrooms - one is for men the other for women. I didn't usually have to wait for the bathroom although it was low season so the hostel wasn't full.
This hostel is best suited to those who don't mind spending a bit extra for nicer digs although if you're looking for a long term deal, you're better off looking elsewhere as they didn't seem to offer much in the way of discounts for longer term stayers.
One slight negative was that there were no safes in the rooms and yet they always change the bedding each day. I think the people working here are nice and trustworthy but if you're very security conscious of your valuables, then this may not appeal.

Room Tip: The downstairs "shared bathroom" rooms are by far the cheapest, very clean and convenientl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank mister_dal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Casa Dona Mercedes has big bright comfy rooms - upstairs have private bathrooms - and is run by a wonderful helpful woman (Michelle). There is drinking water and a kitchen fully stocked with all everything you need for cooking, and a bright sitting area and dining area off the lobby. A single room with private bath was Q170 (US $22.00). The only problem with this hotel is the bar one block away. The music goes on till very late at night. However, the bathrooms have loud vent fans, and this helped drown out some of the noise.

Room Tip: Upstairs are bright with private bathrooms; downstairs are dark with shared baths
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tiadora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quetzaltenango hotels
0.0 mi away
Pension Bonifaz Hotel
Pension Bonifaz Hotel
#4 of 17 in Quetzaltenango
3.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Modelo
Hotel Modelo
#1 of 17 in Quetzaltenango
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Las Americas
Hotel Las Americas
#6 of 17 in Quetzaltenango
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Casa Seibel
Casa Seibel
#2 of 36 in Quetzaltenango
5.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Renaissance
Casa Renaissance
#1 of 36 in Quetzaltenango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.0 mi away
El Colibri Hostal
El Colibri Hostal
#1 of 19 in Quetzaltenango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Dona Mercedes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Dona Mercedes

Property: Casa Dona Mercedes
Address: Calle 13-42 6ta | Xela, Quetzaltenango 09001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Quetzaltenango Department > Quetzaltenango
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Quetzaltenango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Casa Dona Mercedes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Dona Mercedes Hotel Quetzaltenango

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing