We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly clean and comfortable, great kitchen”
Review of Hostal don Diego

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal don Diego
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Stayed here with husband and 4 kids end of May 2012. Claudia and staff were very helpful and friendly. The beds are really comfortable and it is cosy. The rooms don't have windows but feel really cosy. There is a really good kitchen. The hostal is very well located. It was very reasonably priced. There is another hostal called Casa Argentina but I had a look and it was a similar price and it looked much much more dingey and not located so well. We rented 3 rooms and it felt safe at all times. I would stay here again. Maybe the only slight negative would be that our bottom sheet didnt quite fit the bed properly (seems to be quite common in Guatemala) so it kept coming away, which was a little awkward, but the actual bed was really comfortable. I would reccommend this place.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsten M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2012

I stayed in a humble single room with a bed and table, no windows. However, the kitchen is great and there's a nice courtyard where you can enjoy your breakfast (though any cooking you do yourself). There's agua pura provided and great wifi. Claudia is the owner and she's very helpful, fluent in Spanish and English. Two blocks or so from the parque central and very close to various great cafes as well. Overall, a nice stay, I enjoyed it immensely.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Stayed here for two nights while visiting Quetzaltenango. It was a good place for the value. We had a 2-bed-room in the main hallway with shared bathroom. As in probably most of the rooms, it was not really bright in it, but okay for the short stay. The shared bathroms and kitchen were kept really clean. Especially the kitchen is better equipped and cleaner than at a lot of other hostels we visited during our trip. The staff is really friendly and helpful - but when the internet is not working, don't expect a quick solution.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank diogou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Staff to busy watching tele-novelas to pay much attention to guests. Got stuck in a small dark room that smelled a bit off. Lumpy bed with ugly blankets. No furnishings, not that there was room for any ....

Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
1  Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickAdrenalina, Owner at Hostal don Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2011

This is the only negative of 04 reviews . I am very sorry for the customer and would apreciate more input on this , because our goal is to improve , to employ people ... to make customers happy . About the blankets and television looking employees we can do something , fast and efficient .. the spaces we have not a lot ...
Thanks to the customers for this critics , it makes it possible to evaluate ... without this , no way we could change .
If the customers is still in Guatemala i would like to invite him to call me (53085106) or skype : patrick.eric.vercoutere or write patrickvercoutere@gmail.com to see how we can compensate this !
Sincerely
Patrick E VERCOUTERE
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

I stayed in Hostal Don Diego for a few days in a single and it was, in a word, acceptable. The bathrooms were very clean, as was the room itself. I liked the open courtyard (although not sure how this would play out in the rainy season). The people working there were very helpful and friendly, and the location was fantastically close to the center.

The drawback was that the room I was in was very gloomy. I'm sure some of the other rooms have windows (in fact, I know at least two do), but mine didn't and I was pretty happy to move out and into an apartment after a few days.

The hostel was quiet at night, and so not much fun for partyers, but great for language students like me. Overall, I would definitely recommend this place, just maybe not for super long-term stays.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cakemonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2010

Spending two out of the three months I lived in Guatemala in 2009 at Hostal don Diego, I doubt there are many people who know this place as well as our group. This place is a charming, reasonably priced hostal with around 20 rooms ranging from singles (small and large bed options), doubles, triples and a dorm. Some of the rooms downstairs are quite dark but decent in size and the beds are comfortable and clean. If you are a light sleeper who likes to sleep in, make sure you pack ear plugs as Xela is known for blasting music once the sun comes up. I highly recommend the rooms upstairs for they have windows with a nice view of the city, lots of light and are cheerful with exposed brick.

Shared fully equipped kitchen available for use at a low cost. There is a lovely open courtyard, plenty of seating and a TV with cable all for your comfort. Don Diego has excellent, friendly staff, who will help you learn Spanish or help you get acquainted with Xela. Overall I would definitely recommend this hostal- and say hi to Amanda if you happen to stay a night!

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meghan285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

I stayed here several times over the last couple of years, it almost feelsmlike home away from home :) que cheesy....

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank patjanss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quetzaltenango hotels
2.6 mi away
Hotel y Bungalows Santa Ana
Hotel y Bungalows Santa Ana
#15 of 16 in Quetzaltenango
4 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel y Restaurante Villa Esmeralda
Hotel y Restaurante Villa Esmera...
#10 of 16 in Quetzaltenango
1 reviews
2.4 mi away
Casa Nativos
Casa Nativos
#3 of 33 in Quetzaltenango
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Villa Real Plaza
Villa Real Plaza
#13 of 16 in Quetzaltenango
40 reviews
2.5 mi away
Casa Seibel
Casa Seibel
#1 of 25 in Quetzaltenango
136 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Hamilton
Hotel Hamilton
#14 of 33 in Quetzaltenango
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal don Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal don Diego

Address: 6 Street, 15-12 Zone 1, Quetzaltenango, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Quetzaltenango Department > Quetzaltenango
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Quetzaltenango
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open since 2002, Hostal Don Diego has set the standard for Bed & Breakfasts in the city of Quetzaltenango (Xela). Our hostel is clean and comfortable, recommended by Lonely Planet, Rough Guide and many tour guides, focusing on Guatemala. Our rates are very cheap and include use of kitchen, Tv cable and Wi-Fi. Clean and pleasant facilities provide our guests experience a unique stay. The hostel also has a tour operator with many options and extensive information on tourist spots in Guatemala.Hostal Don Diego has many services, some are and some are not included in the daily, weekly or monthly rate, please ask for it upon arrival.Don DiegoHostal Don Diego has many services, some are and some are not included in the daily, weekly or monthly rate, please ask for it upon arrival.The weekly rate and monthly include ALWAYS the use of the kitchen, which is fully equipped (refrigerator, stoves, toaster oven, microwave, coffee machine, blender, utensils, etc.) please ask for our rates.Tour operator are within the hotel for advice and to answer all of your questions Adrenalina ToursHot and cold water always and clean showers!Cable television in the living room, for news, a movie, sports, talk show etc….feel welcome!If you have a laptop you can use our wi-fi service.Guest living per month includes cleaning service twice weekly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal don Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing