We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There are better choices, but OK if in room 12 or 13.”
Review of Hostal don Diego

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal don Diego
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The hostel itself is nothing special. Rooms are generaly dark and small. People have to leave the door open to the corridor to have some air and feel of openess. There are shared bathrooms in an inner-yard with so-so privacy, but clean with hot water.

Big difference are rooms upstairs with a small window (yeah!) - same price as those cells downstairs. Ask for room 12 or 13. The walls between the rooms are very thin, but still especially if you come from some dirty hole, you will get a flashback of cosiness.

Comparing Don Diego (130Q for private room / 2 persons) with Casa Argentina (80Q), I would definatelly recommand Casa Argentina. Price, privacy, room size and brightness ... Uncomperable.

An imprtant advantage of Don Diego are very pleasant and helpful owners. Also, just next to this hostel is a great family-style restaurant Cafe Canela with cheap and delicious meals (18Q!! for excellent lunch).

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Zdekal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

I wrote a review about two years ago, when the hostel was part of the Adrenalina Tours empire. As of May 1, they are under new ownership. Coincidentally, I stayed there that night without realizing it at first. The new owners are friendly and eager to serve guests. The following day, I moved next door to a monthly room at Cafe Canela, mostly for financial reasons. Hostal Don Diego would certainly be my second option if things don't work out where I am now.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip_Wilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

The location is close to Centro Historico, with ample restaurants and shops. The rooms are basic with shared toilets and showers. There is a communal kitchen, and WiFi signal is strong in rooms. The staff can help with tour and travel arrangements.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Purvis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

The location is nice,room is ok,internet works ok. There is nice kitchen. Shower is not really hot but it's ok. Price is nice for 2people is 130Q one night. It's cheap so you can save money. People work here are not so friendly,but it doesn't matter.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Risaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

The place has a good location near the town square but that is about as good as it gets. The prices are fair but the place is dark and dingy and will suffice but certainly nothing to brag about. I stayed for a few nights until the not so friendly staff informed me that I could not renew my stay because they were all booked up. So I walked a few blocks on the other side of the square and found a much better place with an incredible balcony and friendly staff that cost the same price.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Uriah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

The staff is nice, the place looks fine, other guests were quiet and respectful and the price is pretty good for those on a budget but our overall experience was disappointing. Paper thin walls so you could hear everything -- and I mean EVERYTHING -- from the next room (like sorting through luggage! turning pages in a book!) Although ads in local mags say they provide breakfast, there wasn't so much as coffee, though you do have use of their kitchen. (The hostel might consider updating their information!) The internet only works in certain areas and the shower remained too cold so I eventually gave up. One night was plenty for us. Xela has many options -- I'd look elsewhere.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank NomadTanuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights. The location is only 2 blocks from the main square and there are a lot of good places to eat nearby. I had a single room which was cheap and clean. The internet didn't really work well in my room and the shower wasn't really warm, but those were the only downsides. The staff was nice enough to let me check out late because I climbed Santa Maria the day I was supposed to leave.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quetzaltenango hotels
2.7 mi away
Villa Real Plaza
Villa Real Plaza
#13 of 16 in Quetzaltenango
42 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel y Bungalows Santa Ana
Hotel y Bungalows Santa Ana
#15 of 16 in Quetzaltenango
4 reviews
2.3 mi away
El Colibri Hostal
El Colibri Hostal
#9 of 27 in Quetzaltenango
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Casa Seibel
Casa Seibel
#1 of 27 in Quetzaltenango
142 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Hamilton
Hotel Hamilton
#12 of 35 in Quetzaltenango
5 reviews
2.3 mi away
Pension Bonifaz Hotel
Pension Bonifaz Hotel
#3 of 16 in Quetzaltenango
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal don Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal don Diego

Address: 6 Street, 15-12 Zone 1, Quetzaltenango 09001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Quetzaltenango Department > Quetzaltenango
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Quetzaltenango
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open since 2002, Hostal Don Diego has set the standard for Bed & Breakfasts in the city of Quetzaltenango (Xela). Our hostel is clean and comfortable, recommended by Lonely Planet, Rough Guide and many tour guides, focusing on Guatemala. Our rates are very cheap and include use of kitchen, Tv cable and Wi-Fi. Clean and pleasant facilities provide our guests experience a unique stay. The hostel also has a tour operator with many options and extensive information on tourist spots in Guatemala.Hostal Don Diego has many services, some are and some are not included in the daily, weekly or monthly rate, please ask for it upon arrival.Don DiegoHostal Don Diego has many services, some are and some are not included in the daily, weekly or monthly rate, please ask for it upon arrival.The weekly rate and monthly include ALWAYS the use of the kitchen, which is fully equipped (refrigerator, stoves, toaster oven, microwave, coffee machine, blender, utensils, etc.) please ask for our rates.Tour operator are within the hotel for advice and to answer all of your questions Adrenalina ToursHot and cold water always and clean showers!Cable television in the living room, for news, a movie, sports, talk show etc….feel welcome!If you have a laptop you can use our wi-fi service.Guest living per month includes cleaning service twice weekly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal don Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing