We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place to call home when learning spanish” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa San Bartolome

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa San Bartolome
Ranked #3 of 35 Quetzaltenango B&B and Inns
Melbourne
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Perfect place to call home when learning spanish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

My girlfeind and I stayed at Casa Bartolome for a month while studying at Spanish School in Xela. We had the apartment up the back and it was honestly like a second home. Anabel was the perfect host and nothing was too much trouble.

The apartment is perfect with a little kitchen, large bedroom and AMAZING shower with real water pressure!! A real luxury in Xela. The housekeepers were really friendly and happy to stop and help practice our Spanish.

The upstairs courtyard with amazing garden is the perfect place to study and just watch the clouds roll past the nearby mountains.

I appreciate that the place was cold but we asked Anabel for a heater and she had plenty, after that the stay was perfect. That said, Xela is a cold place so if you get cold just go to one of the nearby Paca's And grab some warm clothes!

We loved Casa Bartolome and would recommend it to everyone!

Room Tip: If you are staying for a while the larger apartment is really good value for a couple. It also has h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    22
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
27
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

Beautiful B&B in Xela ...... a bit of a walk from the towns main square, but was very safe and I had no issues. The owner speaks very good english and could not have been more helpful. The rooms are very clean, nicely decorated and have hot water at all times.
Breakfast is included and the upstairs setting is very nice, with good views across the town.
Very good value, would definitely recommend as a place to stay in Xela.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DUBinNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
farnham common
Level Contributor
299 reviews
178 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

We agree all that has been said about Casa Bartolome and Annabella; and, if you want authentic Guatemalan then this is the place. Value for money could not be beaten. The nights in the mountain are now cold and if you have been caught unaware take a hot shower at night and jump into bed! Recommended. Annabella is wonderful - speaks great English and very helpful. Everyone else are helpful but no English.

Room Tip: Take warm clothes.There is no heating in the room and the sun does not get down to the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JandJFarnhamCommon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverton, Utah
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

We stayed for almost a week in Casa San Bartolome, and we found it charming. It's not a fancy American-style hotel, if that's what you're looking for. But it has beautiful plants throughout the outdoor areas, and we became good friends with the lady who cooked breakfast for us. (It probably helped that my wife and the other couple with us spoke Spanish well). We got the perfect amount of "authentic" feel while still being clean and comfortable. Plenty of hot water in the showers. Purified water available in the lobby. Wi-fi was fast enough to support free "FaceTime" video chatting to the U.S. An old computer is in the lobby and can be used in a pinch to surf the web.

One inconvenience was that they didn't accept credit cards, even to pay for the room, so we ended up having to make two extra trips to the ATM to get enough cash to pay. That seems like something they should correct.

We were able to park within their courtyard. It was a tight squeeze the first time, but we got good at it by the time we left. There's a tiny store a few steps away. A 15 minute walk gets you to central park, where you'll want to get cookies and pastries at "Xelapan". Central park also has ATMs (one is 24-hour, we found out), ice cream, and people selling stuff.

It is not close to any major traffic, so it was nice and quiet (well, except occasional fireworks, which happen anywhere in Guatemala, I hear).

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beoutside
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

We stayed at Casa San Bartolome for several days over the Dec holidays with our 2 boys age 10 & 12. Anabella was wonderful and helpful, and her staff was as well. We felt very comfortable there, the rooms and courtyard and upstairs garden area were nice. It was a little walk (5 minutes or so) from the main square but not too far, fine for us, nice & quiet. The only problem is that the sun didn't really reach the narrow courtyard so it was really too cold to hang out in the pretty outdoor spaces within the casa.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beoutside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

I stayed in Casa San Bartolome for six weeks--the first week in a room and the remaining five weeks in an apartment. Anabella and the entire staff were so welcoming, kind, and accomodating! The common areas are attractive and well-maintained, and the apartment is clean and comfortable. I never felt afraid walking in the neighborhood, whether early in the morning, during the middle of the day, or late in the evening. If I am able to return to Xela to improve my Spanish, visit friends, and learn the finer points of weaving, I will certainly contact Anabella first to see if there is a room available in Casa San Bartolome. I highly recommend this bed-and-breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

I stayed with Anabella and her gracious and friendly staff for 3 weeks. The room was comfortable, large and well appointed, breakfast ample, courtyard relaxing, position an easy 10-15 min walk from the Parque Central. I recommend this B and B for any independent travellers who are wanting comfort, a local experience and an opportunity to practice Spanish.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank monica r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quetzaltenango hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Modelo
Hotel Modelo
#1 of 16 in Quetzaltenango
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
2.8 mi away
Anna Inn Hotel
Anna Inn Hotel
#2 of 16 in Quetzaltenango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pension Bonifaz Hotel
Pension Bonifaz Hotel
#3 of 16 in Quetzaltenango
3.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel y Bungalows Santa Ana
Hotel y Bungalows Santa Ana
#12 of 16 in Quetzaltenango
3.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Seibel
Casa Seibel
#2 of 35 in Quetzaltenango
5.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Renaissance
Casa Renaissance
#1 of 35 in Quetzaltenango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa San Bartolome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa San Bartolome

Property: Casa San Bartolome
Address: 2a Avenida 7-17 | Zona 1, Quetzaltenango 09001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Quetzaltenango Department > Quetzaltenango
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Quetzaltenango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa San Bartolome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing