We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in town and ideal location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pension Bonifaz Hotel
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Quetzaltenango
London, UK
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Best in town and ideal location”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Stayed for 2 nights while touring Central America and Mexico. Hotel has perfect location overlooking the Central Plaza of this attractive colonial town. Rooms are fairly basic but there is a good sized en suite bathroom with a good working shower. Note that there is no in-room safe. The restaurant serves good local food at reasonable prices and there is a well stocked inexpensive bar.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnthonyIG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    48
    73
    23
    4
See reviews for
32
47
8
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Years ago I stayed at this hotel. It has been around since 1935.
Place was clean , staff was friendly room and bathroom ok, until you step into the shower.... thats when you really appreciate having control of the water temperature because here it is non-existent, sometimes you cant stand the heat and at other times water comes out almost freezing.
Other than the water issue, pleasant experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alejandro I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

The service and location was great but the room was mediocre. For such a large hotel and having heard about more modern rooms, we felt like we got one of the worst rooms. We stayed in an old, dingy looking room that was very cold. The windows in the bathroom never closed all the way, so we had a draft the whole time. The water in the bathroom barely got to a warm temperature and actually got colder the more you turn the hot water handle so we had a cold shower under a slow trickle. We wouldn't stay here again unless we got a really good deal.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chijsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Excellent service, the food is ok, something great about the hotel is the place is so close to the central park 1 min walk, people are very helpful, is a good place to rest, only the food of her restaurant not is bad but not is the best

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

The hotel is clean and nice but not worth the price they are charging, we went to xela for one night and found a great city, I'm sure there are better options to stay. The mattress was really hard and uncomfortable and there is no safe in the room.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Eladraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Quetzaltenango hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

Great location, amazing food and service, I like how hotel seems really old but neat, definitely a must visit while you are in Xela, then you can walk to the park and buy some Shecas (delicious bread) in Xelapan just 1 block away. To get there is a bit complicated if you don't know the place but everybody is very friendly so you can just ask. Great Visit!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Eduardo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Would have rated 4/5 if the rooms weren't so sterile.

The location can't be beat - it's in the heart of all that Quetzaltenango has to offer. Everything seemed perfect upon arrival - from the quaint cobblestone street that literally leads to the entrance to the colorful interior "courtyard" like feel of the public areas and dining room full of natural light. Plants and flowers added a nice and refreshing touch as if bringing the outdoors indoor.

Entering the room was sort of a let-down as the atmosphere suddenly became sterile - not what was expected. Despite the lack of character, the room served its purpose for our stay. Although rather small, the room was clean with two double beds. The bathroom was small and basic but hot water was never an issue. We spent very little time in the room so the sacrifices in size and character weren't major setbacks.

Overall, the staff was friendly and attentive. I'd stay here again if and I'd recommend it for someone looking for a comfortable place to get a good night's rest in the middle of it all.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mattmc1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quetzaltenango hotels
1.6 mi away
Latam Hotel Plaza Pradera Quetzaltenango
Latam Hotel Plaza Pradera Quetza...
#2 of 16 in Quetzaltenango
22 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Modelo
Hotel Modelo
#1 of 16 in Quetzaltenango
189 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Real Plaza
Villa Real Plaza
#13 of 16 in Quetzaltenango
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Anna Inn Hotel
Anna Inn Hotel
#5 of 16 in Quetzaltenango
45 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Las Americas
Hotel Las Americas
#6 of 16 in Quetzaltenango
19 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel y Bungalows Santa Ana
Hotel y Bungalows Santa Ana
#12 of 16 in Quetzaltenango
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Bonifaz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Bonifaz Hotel

Property: Pension Bonifaz Hotel
Address: 4 St 10-50 | Zone 1, Quetzaltenango 09001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Quetzaltenango Department > Quetzaltenango
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Quetzaltenango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pension Bonifaz Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pension Bonifaz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing