We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“6 star service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Modelo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Modelo
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Quetzaltenango
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
136 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“6 star service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

the modelo is an ideal choice for Xela. as a family of 4 we had enormous adjoining rooms with 4 beds and it included a wonderful breakfast at a very modest price. the hotel is the oldest continually operating hotel in Guatemala and has been in the same family for generations. it is perfectly located with numerous good dining options in the immediate area.
the only things preventing me from giving it 5 stars were that the building itself and beds were showing their age and it was quite chilly. however, the place was spotless and these factors simply add to the immense charm of the hotel.
what seperates the modelo from others it the management. we asked to depart a day early in order to visit Atitlan and there wasn't a hint of disappointment or dispute. the world around, it is these family run boutiques that top their respective TA domains that make independent travel so utterly enjoyable. a must stay while in Xela.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    61
    18
    8
    7
See reviews for
32
42
19
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Avalon, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

This hotel has been operated by a family for three generations, and is a great place to stay in Xela (also known as Quetzaltenango). The rooms are spacious and clean, and have recently added flat screen TV's and upgraded amenities. The included breakfasts are very good and made to order (eggs, bacon, sausage, omelets, fresh juices, fresh fruit, yogurt, etc.). The staff is exceptionally friendly, and make you feel at home. They have a nice room to hold meetings in, as we have done on a number of occasions. Our group stays here each year when we do community development work at a nearby Mayan village.

Room Tip: Ask for an inside room for Friday and Saturday nights, as the city can get a little loud on weekends...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cliff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

I would definitely recommend this to anyone who wants to stay in a top of the top hotel. The people that work there really make a you feel important, from the bellboy Jose(who by the way speaks very fluent English) to the family that has been running this nice hotel for years will make you feel very well at home.The architecture of the hotel itself is beautiful! It is very clean and well situated in the heart of beautiful Xela! If you´re going on vacations or business please do consider it as your first choice, I would definetly do so!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

I've been travelling for 5 months now and wanted a place to relax and regroup before getting back on the backpacker trail. Hotel Modelo was the perfect haven.
The staff are so friendly and attentive and are always smiling. The breakfast selection is extensive and very tasty and the rooms are spotlessly clean. If you're looking for modern, chic rooms then this isn't the place for you. Hostel Modelo is an elegant hotel with classical furniture, fixtures and fittings. It feels like you've been transported back to the 1950s, but with all the 21st century amenities you'd want from a good hotel.
I really enjoyed my stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel to avoid the noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U.S.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

Hotel Modelo is a simply gorgeous, elegant hotel (at a very reasonable price) - the artwork and furniture, the accommodations - spectacular. Breakfast is included in the price. The owners are something like 3rd generation and take great pride in their hotel. The sense of family while there is evident, though it's easy to keep a low profile and relax on their many common-area sofas and chairs scattered throughout.
Mention has been made of the "noise" which we found to be evident only on a Saturday when things everywhere seem to be hopping. Until about midnight you could hear a base from a bar down the street and some traffic, but every other night it was quiet.
This place is so special, the owners & staff so friendly and helpful, and the location prime - this hotel is definitely recommended by us. Without a doubt, I'd stay here again.
Karen Bonavita and friend, Roslyn Amaler

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenBonavita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013 via mobile

It is not the Holiday Inn, but if you want a centrally located old world charm of a hotel, here it is. I've known the place for 20 years now. It is not totally soundproof from the street or the staff talking in the morning, but I do love the place. It is more expensive than it was and the parking is a bit of a hassle, but most downtown hotels in Xela have this problem. I recognized staff from my previous stays and I respect their loyalty. I miss Don Julio who was the heart of the hotel, but I was pleased to see that his daughter and grandson are appearing to carry on the tradition. I've tried many places, but if I want a hotel and not a "pension" I I'll be returning to the Modelo. If you have never been to Xela and want to experience its classic charm, this is the place. Hot water, safe and friendly service is high on my list of hotel priorities. Breakfast is a bit thin, but when the extras only cost a buck or two, get whatever you need. Thank you Hotel Modelo. I will be back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wolftree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

Modelo was one of Xela's most elegant hotels at the beginning of the 20th century. Today, thanks to good management by family ownership it retains much of its classic charm and efficiency. Of course, today there is the noise of traffic to bear. Select a room if possible not facing the front of the hotel. The dining room serves just about the best hotel breakfast we've had on this trip and service is pleasant and efficient. The only glitch was on Saturday morning when everyone showed up at 7 a.m. and the lone waitress was overwhelmed.The hotel could make provision for that however. Most people want their coffee right away, so setting up a coffee station for self serve would have helped. Modelo's owners have a contemporary art collection of Guatemalan artists on exhibit that is worth seeing. The hotel is very well located near the central park, the municipal theatre and several good restaurants. We will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing side street or inner courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quetzaltenango hotels
2.5 mi away
Anna Inn Hotel
Anna Inn Hotel
#2 of 16 in Quetzaltenango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pension Bonifaz Hotel
Pension Bonifaz Hotel
#3 of 16 in Quetzaltenango
3.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Las Americas
Hotel Las Americas
#5 of 16 in Quetzaltenango
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Villa Real Plaza
Villa Real Plaza
#13 of 16 in Quetzaltenango
3.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel y Bungalows Santa Ana
Hotel y Bungalows Santa Ana
#12 of 16 in Quetzaltenango
3.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel & Restaurante Mayaland
Hotel & Restaurante Mayaland
#8 of 16 in Quetzaltenango
3.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Modelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Modelo

Property: Hotel Modelo
Address: Avenida 14 | Zona 1, Quetzaltenango 09001, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Region: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Quetzaltenango Department > Quetzaltenango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Quetzaltenango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Modelo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1892, set in the heart of Quetzaltenango, Hotel Modelo has proudly kept up with the needs of visitors to Quetzaltenango, conserving its beautiful building intact. All rooms have been decorated with original artwork and regional handicrafts. Hotel Modelo has been a family run establishment since the beginning and four generations of heart put into it have allowed us to understand our costumer's needs and meet them beyond their standards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Modelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Modelo Hotel Quetzaltenango

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing