We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Service”
Review of Hotel Modelo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Modelo
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Quetzaltenango
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2010

The food is very bad. The rooms are old and not clean, also very noisy for the bars around the hotel. My children got flea bites.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zulybran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2010

Nice location. Very friendly and helpfull staff. Good and clean rooms - the only problem is if you get a room facing the street you will get too much noise from the traffic and bars on the street, as we did - try to ask for other rooms not facing the main street.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alberto_eme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2009

Hotel Modelo is a clean and pleasant hotel with internet access and is well located in central Xela . There is nothing pretentious about this hotel which boasts a pleasant and flamboyant array of indigenous art in its foyer. A number of the hotels rooms open onto the reception foyer. Exhausted from our travels, we were unfortunate enough to book in to one such room failing to anticipate the likely noise level from the hum drum reception area in the early morning and afternoon, both times when the weary traveller may need to catch up on long awaited sleep. Our advice is ask for a room in a quieter part of the hotel, preferably the adjacent courtyard..

The accomodation and breakfast was acceptable for the tariff charged. Disappointing though, was the somewhat disturbing discovery that the only decent pair of leather shoes brought on holiday by my partner went “walkabout” at a time when we were out of the hotel and when the shoes had been, in our minds, safely secured in the closet of our locked bedroom. The Manager, whilst sympathetic to our position reported that his questioning of his staff proved fruitless and this left us somewhat disillusioned on the first day of our stay in Guatemala. We have no solutions for other travellers faced with like risk except to advise caution in relation to quality items that you may bring with you. Suffice to say that in the course of our stay in Xela we regularly noted armed guards outside shoe shops and also an active roadside market for second hand shoes. Its one of the ugly sisters rather than Cinderalla that is wearing this pair of size 10s!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BHayes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2009

I stayed in hotel modelo one year ago, and my experience its very cool cause its located in the zona viva!!!!! the price was considerable. I will never forget it...and the people are very educated. thanx xela for that experience. I recommend it for u new wild experience

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank londitabonita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2009

The price is definitely right, and the location is fine in the sense that the things you would want to see/do in Xela are readily accessible. There was a fair amount of street noise, however. The public areas of the hotel -- the lobby and restaurant -- are attractive, the rooms not so much. The rooms are clean and large enough, but don't have much other than that to recommend them. The parking is very secure. The proprietess is a lovely person who speaks excellent English. Perhaps reflecting my mixed feelings about the place, I was pleased and relieved - I won't go so far as to say surprised - to find in the morning ample hot water for my shower. I would stay here again, but not if I were traveling with my wife, who is more picky. I initially didn't check yes or no in response to "Would you recommend this hotel to a friend," but Trip Advisor requires a response, so I clicked "yes" -- but that would be with full disclosure including the negatives I've noted.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dennisfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2009

We stayed at the Hotel Modelo for one night (Feb 15, 2009). Our room was on the first floor. The room was clean and the water was hot for showers. A good breakfast is included.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UWGBProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2008

Hotel Modelo is one of the nicest in Xela. Unfortunately, it is often booked solid because of tour groups. This is what happened to me when I walked in without reservations. Luckily, the hotel has an annex just down the street and there was room there. The down side is that the annex is not as nice as the main building, although still good value for the money and the people at both sites are extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms are large and feature typical colonial furniture. A plus is that the hotel serves a free breakfast in the main building restaurant. The restaurant itself is one of the best in town and the local business crowd regularly eats there. The hotel is conveniently located only a few blocks from the main square. At under 30$ a night, this a pretty good deal.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RAPLongueuil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quetzaltenango hotels
1.4 mi away
Latam Hotel Plaza Pradera Quetzaltenango
Latam Hotel Plaza Pradera Quetza...
#1 of 16 in Quetzaltenango
71 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pension Bonifaz Hotel
Pension Bonifaz Hotel
#3 of 16 in Quetzaltenango
202 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Real Plaza
Villa Real Plaza
#13 of 16 in Quetzaltenango
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Las Americas
Hotel Las Americas
#7 of 16 in Quetzaltenango
20 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel y Bungalows Santa Ana
Hotel y Bungalows Santa Ana
#15 of 16 in Quetzaltenango
4 reviews
2.5 mi away
Anna Inn Hotel
Anna Inn Hotel
#5 of 16 in Quetzaltenango
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Modelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Modelo

Address: Avenida 14 A 2-31 | Zona 1, Quetzaltenango 09001, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Region: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Quetzaltenango Department > Quetzaltenango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Quetzaltenango
Price Range: £42 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Modelo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1892, set in the heart of Quetzaltenango, Hotel Modelo has proudly kept up with the needs of visitors to Quetzaltenango, conserving its beautiful building intact. All rooms have been decorated with original artwork and regional handicrafts. Hotel Modelo has been a family run establishment since the beginning and four generations of heart put into it have allowed us to understand our costumer's needs and meet them beyond their standards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Modelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Modelo Hotel Quetzaltenango

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing