We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“half day hike, from xela super experience to magic place”
Review of Laguna Chicabal

Laguna Chicabal
Experience for Yourself
More Info
US$75.00*
and up
Volcano and Lagoon of Chicabal Walking Tour
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Panajachel, Guatemala
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“half day hike, from xela super experience to magic place”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

is one hour from xela to the village san martin chile verde then take a pick up trukc el toro rojo to entrance ! super view

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank MayaLandTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    41
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“good out door hike”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

In city Xela there are many hiking places, this one is one of them, I went with a small group of Spanish school student. It was a nice day trip; the view is very beautiful and peaceful. I enjoyed the hike a lot!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lancao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A Must See”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

I hiked to la Laguna Chicobal with students and a teacher from my school, El Quetzal (which I HIGHLY recommend if you're looking for a school in Xela) on a beautiful Saturday morning. The hike wasn't too strenuous and talking with the students made it more enjoyable.

The Laguna itself was incredible. One note though: Be sure to start hiking early! We left around 7:00 AM and arrived at the Laguna about 10:00 AM. After 30 minutes though, a thick fog set in and we could not see the Laguna anymore. Apparently this happens very frequently, and so unless you want to see a laguna covered by thick fog, make sure to arrive by 10:00 AM at the latest! We got extremely lucky, and the view was well worth it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A nice hike and beautiful views.”
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Great place to see and get outdoors. I went with a small group and it was a lot of fun. Some considered the hike up challenging, but it wasn't bad at all. The views along the way were amazing. The lake is surrounded by Mayan shrines and the place is sacred to the locals. Be respectful. Definitely worth a visit.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank 0theories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very peaceful (before the other tour groups arrive)”
Reviewed 22 March 2013

A dusty, steep hike in the dry season, but a pretty crater lake with a tranquil atomsphere; better to get there early and avoid the tou groups.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Glyndwr1404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Laguna Chicabal also viewed

Quetzaltenango, Quetzaltenango Department
Quetzaltenango, Quetzaltenango Department
 
Quetzaltenango, Quetzaltenango Department
Quetzaltenango, Quetzaltenango Department
 

Been to Laguna Chicabal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing